We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th birthday”
Review of Bertram's

Bertram's
Ranked #2 of 173 Restaurants in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bertram's Restaurant embraces a passion for exquisite freshly prepared food which is beautifully presented and served in the most unique of surroundings. The restaurant is located within The Woodland Spa at Crow Wood in Burnley. This unique elevated dining experience is open to everyone – you don’t have to be a member of Crow Wood or be visiting The Woodland Spa. It’s difficult to decide which is the most impressive – the sumptuous restaurant interior, the panoramic views courtesy of the floor to ceiling glass windows or the simply delicious food. Open for coffee, breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, bar snacks and of course dinner - whatever you choose from the menu it will not disappoint even the most discerning of customers. For your comfort and enjoyment, Bertram’s Restaurant is an adult-only facility (age 16 and over)
Burnley
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“50th birthday”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband booked a table online for my 50th birthday. The setting of the restaurant is lovely, the atmosphere was buzzy without being intrusive. The waiting staff were very attentive and friendly, and the food was very good. I had the oriental fish, my husband had lamb both dishes were very tasty. desserts we had a cheese board and sticky toffee pudding. The wine suggested by the staff complimented the food very well. Keep it up will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWoodlandSpa, Manager at Bertram's, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear BurnleyDawn
Thank you for your review and sharing your birthday celebrations with us.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Ian MItchell
Sales & Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    150
    64
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nelson england
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“no booking online”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

dont try booking online like it says. filled online booking form and nothing happened !!! tried using there "contact us " form and still no reply whatsoever? whats the point. booked elsewhere and had a very good meal, there loss.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyNelsonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWoodlandSpa, Manager at Bertram's, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear mickyNelsonEngland

I'm sorry to hear this. We have been receiving many online bookings and the contact us form has been working well.

I hope you will try this again or call 01282 471930 to book direct.

Kind regards
Ian Mitchell
Sales & Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have been here a couple of times now and always had positive experiences. We had booked the thermal experience and my partner when arranging it had originally booked the table for 8pm. He was told that if it needed to be changed it wouldn't be a problem with it being a Monday night. We arrived at reception and asked to change the meal time to 6.30, the girl told us that it was extremely busy so we could only change it to 7pm. This was one of the first times we had left our newborn baby so we didn't want to stay out too late.
We decided to come out of the spa and went up to the restaurant only to see that there were TWO tables occupied!!!!! I wouldn't describe this as being 'extremely busy'.
Luckily the staff in the restaurant were brilliant, so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. I had the salmon sandwich which it said came on granary bread-it came on white then I ordered fruit salad and I was brought chocolate brownie!!! Oh well mistakes happen and it wouldn't put me off going back.
I think the customer service on reception certainly needs looking at though, the girl who dealt with us was far from helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxHod1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWoodlandSpa, Manager at Bertram's, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear JaxHod1982
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us.

I'm sorry to hear your journey with us wasn't as smooth as we would have hoped. We are constantly striving to improve and feedback like this will be used to do so.

I hope this hasn't put you off returning to try our new meu coming out soon.

Kind regards
Ian Mitchell
Sales & Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Loved this place! The service was second to none, the food was utterly beautiful and the setting and atmosphere were superb!!
This was my first visit and will most certainly not be my last!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfiechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWoodlandSpa, Manager at Bertram's, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Alfiechops
Thank you for this great review!

We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Ian Mitchell
Sales & Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and service”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a lovely lunch recently. Simple egg mayo sandwich with a delicious pearl cous cous salad and a few lovely fries. Great service and delicious food. Have eaten a few times and the spa day menu is also great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWoodlandSpa, Manager at Bertram's, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Melanie C
Thank you for your review.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Ian Mitchell
Sales & Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bertram's also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to Bertram's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing