We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another superb meal!”
Review of Bistro 197

Bistro 197
Ranked #1 of 174 Restaurants in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bistro 197 is a family run business providing great food in a relaxed atmosphere ensuring the customer has the best experience.
burnley lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Yet another superb meal!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Well I suppose I am now running out of compliments for Bistro 197! Having dined here 4 times now the food is superb as always with great choice of wines & a lovely atmosphere , the private table at the back of the restaurant is now our regular haunt if you require a more private\ romantic setting , my favourite restaurant
By a mile ,well done to all concerned!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    39
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cliviger
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a lovely experience”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Sometimes you read reviews and you wonder if they are exaggerating. Well my wife and I truly enjoyed a most delightful experience.
The whole ambience at 197 is excellent.We went for a very special occasion and we hope to return after treatment is ended.
The meal was truly excellent. My wife said her pan seared cod fillet on a bed of spinach and chick peas with cauliflower purée,onion bhaji,buttered samphire, with caper and raisin vin was delicious. It was a lovely thick piece of fish cooked to perfection.
I had a very nice sirloin,med.rare with chunky chips,mushroom,tomato,3 crispy onion rings with a side dish of peppercorn sauce..
There is a lovely small selection of sweets. I chose a lovely honey with honeycomb panacotta served in a delightful glass jar. It was delicious. My wife chose to have a chocolate fondant with vanilla parfait and rhubarb jelly - again excellent
With drinks the meal cost under £60. Maybe slightly dearer than some restaurants but certainly worth every penny
The service,attention to detail, in fact the whole ambience of the place made a special evening.
We will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mushypeaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Tasty Visit”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Visited with my granddaughter
I had Spicy Chicken Kebabs....
Absolutely delicious ..
Generous helping...
She had Chorizo Pasta dish
We shared the homemade Garlic bread ..
Again absolutely delicious ..
So reasonably priced..
Can't wait for our next visit...Lovely atmosphere...Couldn't ask for a happier staff...sunny....obliging...Aimee you are such a caring person ...an asset to Bistro 197

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the jewel in Burnley's crown”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Visited on a Thursday night in June with my colleague. From the outside it looks like someone's house, but inside its a chilled out bistro, fantastically decorated, really welcoming. Food was excellent. Service was quick. Served by the owners beautiful daughter who was so welcoming and had a great smile.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine and fantastic service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant with friends on a Friday night. We all had a fantastic time and enjoyed some fantastic cuisine without breaking the bank.
I had scallops to start, which were served with a really nice salad and shell fish foam. Then for my main I was treated to a fantastic cut of venison cooked medium rare snd served with red wine jew. All I can say is WOW! Absolutely awesome!
To finish I had the sticky toffee pudding a real treat that brought back memories of childhood.
This was top dollar cuisine being served at very reasonable prices three courses worked out at just over 30 pounds and a bottle of wine starts at only 12 pounds.
I have paid twice as much and not received either the quality of food or service that we got here.
Will definitely return and highly recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro 197 also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to Bistro 197? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing