We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but has some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but has some issues”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed here with one of our free hotels.com rooms (buy 10 get 1 free) so wasn't too worried about the £80 original price. The exterior looks lovely with the original period mansion but the modern hotel extensions don't suit.

The main building is beautiful with high ceilings and all,original features. Stunning to loom around and of course their famous stained glass window above the main stairs. Beautiful place to sit and absorb into a bit of real life Downton Abbey.

The room itself was tidy and features a recent upgrade to flat screen TV, new curtains etc but there were several signs of age. Rot and cracks in the bathroom, the skirting board around the radiator had paint cracking and peeling off and there was a serious issue with a clicking 240v plug socket that kept my wife awake. Sounded like electrical wires touching and sparking within the wall! The fan in the bathroom was also awfully loud and irregular. We'd also had like the radiator to have been on before we arrived. We had to figure out it was a thermostat on the radiator that needed turning on to get the heating going.

The spa was lovely with two jacuzzis, large sauna, steam room, nice warm pool, with an overall relaxing feel. Very nice. Not so nice are the communal showers and changing rooms. I prefer some privacy when going to the spa! Still clean and good facilities though.

Breakfast was lovely. Good selection of full English plus black pudding on the buffet! My gauge of how good a hotel breakfast is by their kippers. Many nowerdays look at you blank when you ask! But they did have them, and indeed they were very tasty with a slice of lemon too.

Noise could be an issue as I think it was the gym that had blaring music heard from the corridoor to our room in the morning. Plus walls are thin and the room next door left their alarm going for several minutes. Thankfully my hearing isn't perfect so I miss these annoying sounds!

The stairs many people seem to complain about are indeed a little annoying but absolutely no issue for any able bodies. We were right at the end in room 141 so did travel up, down, up, down to get to the room but this meant we were clear of the Halloween party and wedding taking place that evening.

Free wifi was fast and reliable, service was good, and the bed very comfortable. Overall a nice hotel with a few issues with the ageing of the hotel but would still recommend if you can get a good deal.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bendyspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    185
    102
    47
    32
See reviews for
139
178
28
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

we are with a wedding party - the grandparents and must have been one of the first to book the hotel for 2 nights - so not exactly young and as they have our address they know it took at least 4 hours to get here (it actually took 5). AND where do they put us - in the room furthest away from reception - and tell us to go , with our luggage and parcels, UP the stairs and up and down and around the hotel to end up on the GROUND floor. This was no mean feat at our age and with syatica. Next to our room is a fire door so that is where I went to reception to ask if there was another way around this problem - no, and no chance of a better, easier, room (keep the oldies at bay) but we could continue to go outside in the wind and the rain and our wedding finery and use the fire door as long as we wait and ask for someone to open it (fair enough it is meant to be locked I was appalled at her suggestion that it be propped open during the day - security is also not high on their list here.. The blinds - I have a picture if anyone is interested - could grow mushrooms on them. Tried the feedback website and that was useless as well needed to put some number in that I dont have. Do yourselves a favour and stay at the Garth Hotel - its cheaper and the staff are friendlier.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissieche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I have stayed a few times at this hotel with family. On one occasion we booked 5 rooms.
Its is a really nice hotel with swimming pool, steam rooms etc and the grounds are well maintained.
The last time we stayed was for my sisters 40th birthday party which was held at the Oaks.
It was a great evening and the staff were superb. Everything went without a hitch and everyone had a good time.
I find the Oaks well priced for the hotel standard that it is. I have paid more for much less.
Will use again when staying in Burnley again.

Room Tip: As for the rooms with four poster beds. Just makes the stay a bit more romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petergeddes138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Very difficult to get cases from reception to room. No lift (elevator) many stairs and long and circuitous route to room.

Plumbing in urgent need of repair, slow drainage from wash-basin, toilet seat broken, rubbish bin in bathroom did not work, heated towel rail was cold.

Smell of smoking in many corridors, one evening after a wedding reception, small groups of people sitting around in corridors smoking and drinking.

Would not recomend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidcsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel looks fantastic from the outside, and the main entrance with magnificent staircase and huge stained glass windows is an impressive sight.
Unfortunately, the room we had didn't quite live up to this first impression. After walking up some stairs, along a corridor, round a corner, down some stairs, up some more stairs, round another corner and down another corridor we arrived at room 252.
Spacious, and with all the amenities you might needs, including nice extras such as a lavender mist for pillows we were quite happy. The bathroom was excellent, with large bath and shower.
Negatives, the double bed was 2 singles pushed together, and the mattress was pants. Our view was of a concrete wall. Wifi signal wasn't great in our room either.

We were part of a large wedding party, and they coped admirably when we arrived for midnight drinks in the 24hr bar. Breakfast also ran smoothly. They had plenty of cereal choices, brought lots of toast and the buffet cooked breakfast was pretty good (for a buffet cooked breakfast).

Staff were very friendly and welcoming throughout, ordering us a taxi and generally being polite and getting on with their work quietly and efficiently.

All in all, a pretty good hotel, especially for the low price!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Having stayed here a few times, I felt I had write and give my comments on such a great hotel, and cannot understand any negative comments made. Everytime we have stayed the standard of room has been excellent and the staff have always gone out of there way to be helpfull and friendly (big thank you to Jamie for geting us such a loveley room on our last visit!). Looking forward to staying again with you soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannine96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaksHotel, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your visits to BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club and that you enjoyed your room on your last visit.

Your comments will be passed on to the team members and Jamie.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stay at this hotel occasionally.. On my recent visit I left some items in the room. It was nice to see that they had recorded who had stayed in the room and put them to one side ready for my return.
I've left things at other hotels in the past and items seem to disappear!
Thanks The Oaks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_7Telford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaksHotel, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to hear that you have been satisfied with the service you have been receiving at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club and will continue to return.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
4.3 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
7.4 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Colne Road | Reedley, Burnley BB10 2LF, England (Formerly Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of a wealthy local tea merchant, The Oaks Hotel has been restored preserving the grand feel of a bygone era. The lounge area is dominated by a 25ft high stained glass window depicting the story of Abraham Althams life and work in the Burnley Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club Burnley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing