We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcrowded, pricey, small cold portions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overcrowded, pricey, small cold portions”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I have previously been to a party night at a lavender hotel and was left unimpressed so I didn't have much hopes for this. The same issues I had previously turned out to be the exact same for The Oaks.

The seating is very cramped with the table settings leaving barely any room for yourself to feel comfortable. The bar is very overpriced (£8.75 for one glass of wine and a pint of coke! This is Burnley not London!). As for the food you would expect at £25.00 a head a decent 3 course meal - the menu states 4 courses but the 4th course is your usual optional tea or coffee. The portions are ridiculously sized and everything was of a 'lightbulb temperature' i.e. had clearly been kept heated under a lightbulb for a long period of time.

No complaints about the actual service, this was all handled well given the amount of people squashed in. Any member of staff we spoke to was friendly and helpful enough. In fact the barman advised me to not get the drink I initially wanted due to its price!

After two disappointing experiences I will personally not be choosing a lavender hotel for an event of my own.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was disappointed to hear you encountered some problems. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies. I will review your concerns with the chef and his team to see what improvements we can make. While the bar prices within the hotel are in line with industry standard I will take this feedback on board.

I was happy to hear you found the service of a good standard.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    186
    108
    47
    32
See reviews for
141
181
28
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We had a 50th wedding Anniversary in The Prestbury Suite on Saturday night, March 29th for 59 guests and we were very pleased with Donna, the events organiser, David ,the manager and all the staff who were professional, pleasant and polite.The food was of a high standard and the tables attractively set in gold and cream table linen.
There was a wedding on the same day and the staff very busy yet nothing was too much trouble for them.
A big thank you to all at The Oaks who helped to make our special anniversary a memorable occasion.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with regards to your 50th anniversary celebrations. I was delighted to hear that the team could help make your special occasion a success. I will share your kind words with the team.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for business and it was saturday night, the hotel had a wedding on but we were not disturbed in any way. we had a meal in the restaurant and I must say it was first class. The staff were all very friendly and helpful in everything they did for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank 535neilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay and meal in our restaurant. I was very happy to hear that your enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that the team looked after you. I hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We purchased a voucher from Travelzoo for two people and it stated we had to use it at the same time. However we couldn't have treatments together and was told one had to sit and drink coffee and eat biscuits for an hour while the other had her treatments then the other one had treatments while the first person had coffee and biscuits...not a good idea for us as we are members at a slimming club! After this we visited the Spa which was included in the price. The whole Spa area was filthy with an empty bottle left in a locker that my friend had been given the key to use it and the locker room was also very dirty. The swimming pool area was littered with used Elastoplasts from someone’s digits! The pool needed a good clean also and the Jacuzzi needed cleaning. The steam room literally stunk but had a spray bottle in it, probably to disguise the smell but it was empty! The hair dryer had melted and taped up and only worked intermittently. The floors were very slippery too. There wasn't any staff available to bring these matters to their attention so we reported our findings to the general Manager. His comments were "It was the treatments that were sold and the hotel allowed the clients to use the hotel facilities so there was no way he could give us our money back" We assured him we weren't looking for recompense but anyone else shouldn't have to go through the "Spa Experience" that we had just been through. On the whole extremely disappointing and what amounted to a 'Spa Day' was an hour each with treatments (which was o k) and another hour we were on our way home...This wasn't a cheap voucher and we get better value for our money from our local Spa in Nelson. Very disappointed...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue71044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after using our leisure facilities. I was disappointed to hear that you encountered some problems. Please accept my apologies. Unfortunately guests do sometimes leave items in the locker room and around the pool. I spoke with the leisure club manager after you left to highlight all the issues you raised to ensure the team can make improvements moving forward.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. EACH morning at breakfast. Had to ask for
Milk to be refilled
Orange Juice to be refilled
glasses for OJ
Cups for tea

If i was on business I'd have been late or hungry!
Also they have a gym and pool, if you can get in it as they seem to have plenty of non residents paying a membership to use the facilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul6fx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. May I apologise that you encountered problems at breakfast. I will look into the issues that you have raised to rectify any problems.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Friendly welcome from the receptionist. Staff polite. Bright and very clean room. Surprisingly nice breakfast (alot of hotels these days seem to use very low quality meats for their breakfasts).

Very enjoyable stay, nothing seemed too much trouble at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeTeR_Rourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and will share your feedback with the team.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
4.3 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
324 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
253 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Burnley
Travelodge Burnley
#6 of 7 in Burnley
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Colne Road | Reedley, Burnley BB10 2LF, England (Formerly Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of a wealthy local tea merchant, The Oaks Hotel has been restored preserving the grand feel of a bygone era. The lounge area is dominated by a 25ft high stained glass window depicting the story of Abraham Althams life and work in the Burnley Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club Burnley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing