We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding and reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wedding and reception”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here on Saturday 12th July. Everything was lovely the room was spotless and very comfortable (executive suite room 102) The wedding was fantastic everything went very smoothly and the meal was delicious and hot. I personally can't fault the place the grounds are lovely and the staff worked very hard and was so friendly. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinandjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review from your recent stay and wedding that you attended. I am delighted you would recommend us as a venue. I will share your feedback with the team. I look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    185
    102
    47
    32
See reviews for
139
178
28
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nutfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Having stayed at the Oaks many times over the last 30 years i was bitterly disappointed with the way it looked so sad and run down. The room I stayed in was fine and the staff were lovely but would someone please give it a good clean and bring it back to being a really lovely place to stay! The grounds needed tending and the whole place looked unkempt and unloved and needed a good deal of TLC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is however disappointing to hear such feedback. I have discussed your feedback with both the housekeeping team and our groundsman. It is vital that we keep the hotel looking as clean and sharp as possible at all times. My apologies if it wasn't on your last visit. I do hope you will come back in the future and see improvements.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Both reception and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Access to the rooms is somewhat of a well directed maze. Noise from the wedding reception room was a little intrusive til late but I could live with it. The room was spacious and clean. The restaurant was good quality with very helpful and friendly waiter. The reception staff even went out of her way to arrange us early breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It's lovely to hear such positive words about the team. I will be sure to pass on your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

On arrival at the Oaks for a weekend break/wedding, very impressed with the the original house which would have been grand in its day ( a gentlemens residence perhaps) and lovely grounds. On reaching our room along a maze of passages and stairs we were found to be at the end of a modern extention - which was ok - spotlessly clean - and everything we needed was supplied (Tea & Coffee, Biscuits,a good supply of toiletries, even a bottle of Lavender for pillows - to aid restful sleep it claimed) - unfortunately it was not to be, we found the room quite cold, and the beds were rather hard. We had booked Dinner, bed and breakfast for our first night - dinner was ok - nothing special - breakfast was very good - full English as you would expect. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble ( we forgot to take a comb - they supplied us with two). Will certainly return, but request a room where we don't have to take hiking boots to reach it.

Room Tip: Not suitable if you have walking difficulties- ask for disabled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to your recent stay. I was really pleased that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful and that on the whole you had a positive stay. It is also great to hear you thought breakfast was very good. All of our rooms do have radiators with thermostats so you can alter the temperature to suit. I will look at the mattress you mentioned. I look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley Lancashire
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

What can I say except please let me do it all again. Can't fault anything about our wedding day we held at The Oaks. Donna has been there for us throughout the planning of our wedding and the manager David made sure all our expectations of the day were met. Rooms were perfect the bridal suite was amazing, the food was fantastic, the staff were all helpful and I can't really express in words how good our day was from start to finish. Thank you to all the staff at The Oaks I would definately recommend anyone to have their wedding here you won't be disappointed thank you again x

Suzanne and Craig x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzcra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Suzanne & Craig,

Thank you for your lovely review. It's a pleasure to receive such feedback. I will be sharing your comments with team. I look forward to seeing you at The Oaks in the future.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We got married here 20th June 2014, and I have to say that they did a fantastic and faultless job on the day. Not once did I have to worry about anything, any issues we had were solved immediately without me even having to think about it! David and Donna were extremely helpful throughout the whole process of planning my wedding and also on the day, and their welcoming attitude meant that I was comfortable to ask questions when ever I needed to! The food was absolutely amazing, the rooms looked absolutely beautiful and every detail I asked for was there! The day went so smoothly from the ceremony right up until 1am when the DJ finished. I cannot praise the oaks enough for the most perfect day of our lives. Thank you.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaryWhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am delighted that you found all aspects of your day to be perfect. I will share your kind words with all the team. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Never again! Reception area and check in smooth. After walking up the grand staircase I opened the door to hell! Immediately the paintwork and carpets were tired and worn. With each step deeper through the maze of corridors it got worse! After eventually finding my room I entered a 1980's brown and depressing room tinged in yellow! I never could work out whether the bed linen was white, or stained yellow as it had strange marks on it and the pillow cases were translucent and most I discarded! A view of a brick wall and nothing else made my stay even more torturous! Toilet was dirty and paint peeling from the bathroom ceiling.

Couldn't work in my room, so opted for bar. Bar very dated and fusty smelling. Dinner was greasy and average.

Be prepared and ensure you've been weight training as there is a plethora of stairwells and no lifts - higgledy piggledy corridors surround you!

There must be better hotels in Burnley - surely?!

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel, or sleep in the car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to hear your stay did not meet with your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies. I will take your feedback on board and discuss with the team so we can make improvements.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
4.3 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
7.4 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Colne Road | Reedley, Burnley BB10 2LF, England (Formerly Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of a wealthy local tea merchant, The Oaks Hotel has been restored preserving the grand feel of a bygone era. The lounge area is dominated by a 25ft high stained glass window depicting the story of Abraham Althams life and work in the Burnley Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club Burnley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing