We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not one of the best hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    183
    100
    47
    31
See reviews for
137
174
28
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

If I'd written this half way through my visit, I'd have given a full 5 stars. The meal we had Friday evening was excellent and the service just right. We woke Saturday morning refreshed and very positive.
Lovely old building, clean and the facilities good. I note some reviews complain about the maze of corridors, but my children thought it added something to their visit. It would have been helpful, however, if we'd have been told of the closer door to the room we could have used to bring the luggage in, rather than traipse through all the corridors and up and down the stairs. Thankfully I discovered this door before putting luggage back in my car.
From their website it was obvious they host weddings, and I expected to have some issues related to this. There was not too much noise from the wedding, apart from when some of the guests kept trying to keep the fire doors open. The language from some of them when they passed through the restaurant where we were eating on Saturday was not suitable for my children to hear; but I can't blame the hotel for that. The dinner on Saturday, perhaps because of waitresses and chefs being busy with the wedding, was not up to Fridays high standards, but was still fine.
I would happily return for a similar family weekend break in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAEC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your informative and pleasant review. I was happy that on the whole you enjoyed your stay and would return again in the future. I will look to work on the points you raised with the team. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here on Saturday 12th July. Everything was lovely the room was spotless and very comfortable (executive suite room 102) The wedding was fantastic everything went very smoothly and the meal was delicious and hot. I personally can't fault the place the grounds are lovely and the staff worked very hard and was so friendly. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinandjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review from your recent stay and wedding that you attended. I am delighted you would recommend us as a venue. I will share your feedback with the team. I look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Having stayed at the Oaks many times over the last 30 years i was bitterly disappointed with the way it looked so sad and run down. The room I stayed in was fine and the staff were lovely but would someone please give it a good clean and bring it back to being a really lovely place to stay! The grounds needed tending and the whole place looked unkempt and unloved and needed a good deal of TLC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is however disappointing to hear such feedback. I have discussed your feedback with both the housekeeping team and our groundsman. It is vital that we keep the hotel looking as clean and sharp as possible at all times. My apologies if it wasn't on your last visit. I do hope you will come back in the future and see improvements.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Both reception and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful. Access to the rooms is somewhat of a well directed maze. Noise from the wedding reception room was a little intrusive til late but I could live with it. The room was spacious and clean. The restaurant was good quality with very helpful and friendly waiter. The reception staff even went out of her way to arrange us early breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It's lovely to hear such positive words about the team. I will be sure to pass on your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

On arrival at the Oaks for a weekend break/wedding, very impressed with the the original house which would have been grand in its day ( a gentlemens residence perhaps) and lovely grounds. On reaching our room along a maze of passages and stairs we were found to be at the end of a modern extention - which was ok - spotlessly clean - and everything we needed was supplied (Tea & Coffee, Biscuits,a good supply of toiletries, even a bottle of Lavender for pillows - to aid restful sleep it claimed) - unfortunately it was not to be, we found the room quite cold, and the beds were rather hard. We had booked Dinner, bed and breakfast for our first night - dinner was ok - nothing special - breakfast was very good - full English as you would expect. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble ( we forgot to take a comb - they supplied us with two). Will certainly return, but request a room where we don't have to take hiking boots to reach it.

Room Tip: Not suitable if you have walking difficulties- ask for disabled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOaks, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to your recent stay. I was really pleased that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful and that on the whole you had a positive stay. It is also great to hear you thought breakfast was very good. All of our rooms do have radiators with thermostats so you can alter the temperature to suit. I will look at the mattress you mentioned. I look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
7.4 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Colne Road | Reedley, Burnley BB10 2LF, England (Formerly Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of a wealthy local tea merchant, The Oaks Hotel has been restored preserving the grand feel of a bygone era. The lounge area is dominated by a 25ft high stained glass window depicting the story of Abraham Althams life and work in the Burnley Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club Burnley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing