We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Niece's Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“My Niece's Wedding”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Hotel Was Lovely! The Whole Family descended From various parts of the country for my niece's wedding. The Staff were lovely & friendly and very accommodating for our large party. We were there for 4 days in total. Every night we ate in the restaurant and the staff looked after us superbly, Even with extra friends and family who weren't staying in the hotel arriving too!
The bedrooms were clean, tidy and included various tea,coffee's and biscuits to please!And Housekeepers on hand each day to cover any requests and also very friendly. The reception staff did a great job of allocating our bedrooms and all the family commented on how great their rooms were too! They were also very helpful with all our requests.
The wedding was beautiful! And the hotel have recently re-decorated the Pendle Suite which looks great! The food was great on the day! The wedding coordinators did a fantastic job setting up the room, for both the day & evening!
I will defiantly be returning! And recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juejenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel and the wedding you attended. All feedback is very important to us and it is pleasing to read your positive comments about the staff, service and food. We hope you and your family will stay with us again soon,

Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    257
    85
    24
    12
See reviews for
182
339
19
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warkworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A two part review. Our party was booked into a function room for the celebration of a combined 70th birthday party and 50th wedding anniversary. The attention to the guests at this get together was great. the staff offered a warm and friendly service and our meal was delivered accurately and without problems. Plenty of time before and after dinner for winding down and socialising. A lovely evening made possible by the hotel staff.

One family with a baby were accommodated in a room directly over the function area. After we had finished eating, the tables and chairs were removed and stacked noisily making for a disrupted sleep. It might have been worth telling our party that they may be affected by necessary tidying up and attempts made to accommodate appropriately.

We booked in the night before and were given a double en suite room to the rear of the hotel unfortunately positioned over the main kitchen extractor with very noisy fans. The rooms were unfortunately dusty, perhaps due to their proximity to the roof below.

We were quickly offered another suite and it was pointed out that we may be able to hear the wedding disco music from the function room below. This did not turn out to be tha case however. very comfortable night.

Interestingly archaic TV! Whilst satellite channels were advertised, we could not find a viewing menu and there seemed to be only three or four entertainment options. Not sure how limiting TV in this way is accomplished, unless the older CRT models simply cannot cope! A small but valid point.

The 'Country House' title does indeed describe it accurately. However, the whole is patently close to needing refurbishment. Gaps between walls, panelling and fittings encouraging dustiness, bathroom taps liable to collapse and alarmingly, evidence of a forced lock on the bathroom door. There is a fine line between 'comfortable tiredness' and 'down at heel'. The Higher Trapp is heading for the latter. Our impression was of a hotel trying really hard to maintain a good standard but paddling up the financial stream a bit..

Our meals were fine. A mistake with our dinner Sea Bass dish meant a disappointing lack of prawns with no compensatory gesture and I personally dislike dining and breakfasting in a bar. Understandable but not ideal.

Breakfast on the day after the party was chaotic. If this was due to a higher than usual number of guests on a Sunday it would not really explain things. Individual tables were not offered tea and coffee on arrival. Meals arrived out of sequence and apologies abounded. There seemed to be a reduced staffing level to be fair and some excuses were offered. However, guests are not often in a position to help so...

The lovely lawn and wooded area, the eccentric faux classicism and it's isolation are big attractions but, behind that brochure draw appearance, not much to recommend. Warm, comfortable and welcoming. Just a little... Déshabillé ...

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tulpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel and the function you attended. I am delighted your enjoyed the function and found the service to be warm and friendly. We appreciate all your comments about your stay, all feedback is important so we can maintain standards for future guests. We are in the process of updating our CRT TVs as you have rightly pointed out they are dated.

Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This Country House hotel is located in the middle of lovely countryside. My bedroom was in a separate block, but was adequate - comfortable but not overly luxurious. The separation could put some people off.

In the main hotel, the bar/restaurant was very nice with great views. The food was delicious, really good real ale and very fireindly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
I would like to thank you for leaving a review on trip advisor. I am pleased to read your excellent comments about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed the cask ales and our staff were helpful and attentive. Please come back and see us again soon

Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

On 15th June 2013 my daughter Charlotte and her fiance Darren were married at your hotel, we arrived on Friday 14th and were made welcome straight away.All my family were treated with respect and kindness your staff went out of their way to please, my mother was struggling with the stairs so we asked if you could move her and there was no hesitation in moving her to the anexe. On the morning of the wedding we had a slight hitch with the flowers (not hotel florist) and the staff were there to help one lady in particular (unfortunately i didnt get her name) she got us numbers for local florists and we got sorted within the hour,our stay was perfect from start to finish and the wedding ceremony and celebrations were second to none and me and my family wish to thank all the staff at THE HIGHER TRAPP for all their hard work

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is lovely to read your comments about your daughters wedding. I am pleased our staff were able to assist with moving rooms and sorting out the issues with your florist. Please do come back and see us again.

Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Me and my wife got married at the Higher Trapp Saturday 15th June 2013. On visiting venues back in 2011, we instantly fell in love with this hotel, largely due to the warmth of the staff, the tranquility of the gardens, and the lovely traditional decor internally.

We absolutely made the correct decision. The hotel made our day perfect in every single way. The food was unbelievable, and in particular the hotel catered towards allergy suffers with vigour and quality expertise.

Our wedding planner was Jamie - on behalf of my wife and I, I would like to simply say thank you - you did a fantastic job, from the start of the day to the end I felt relaxed, comfortable, and knew every single stage that was about to come. You ran around and worked so hard, as did all of the staff in the hotel for our special day, everybodies attitudes were so positive.

The hotel was clean, and service was impeccable. The grounds are gorgeous, and we just cannot wait to see the pictures. Jamie and his team set the ceremony room, the wedding breakfast area, and the evening area so beautifully. We really could not have asked for better.

We fully booked the hotel with guests from our wedding, and I can honestly tell you that every single guest fed back to me how much they enjoyed their staff. How happy they were with the rooms, how comfortable the beds are, even how good the showers felt!

Higher Trapp, you did yourselves proud. Please pass on my sincerist regards to Jamie, and to the manager. You run a perfect wedding venue.

If anybody has any questions at all, please dont hestitate; get a message sent to me, and I will absolutely reply when I can.

Many Thanks

Darren and Charlotte

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramsden85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I am delighted that you had an amazing time. Jamie is a wonderful planner with loads of patience and this obviously was felt by yourselves.
We hope you will come and see us very soon.



Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have just returned from a family wedding at the weekend. We booked into the hotel for one night for Friday 7th June. My mother was also with us. We were going on to a wedding in another area the following day.
We were greeted at the Reception by a very friendly young lady who booked us in very efficiently.
Our rooms overlooked the beautiful gardens. It was idyllic especially with the lovely weather we had the whole weekend.
We had dinner that evening in Fitzys Bar and restaurant which was excellent. The staff were excellent - very attentive giving great service.
The nights sleep was very comfortable. Rooms are clean and airy and there was a hospitality tray which was most welcome.
Breakfast next morning was delicious! There was a great selection of food -fresh sliced fruits on a large platter, a bowl of mixed fresh fruits, pastries, fruit juices, etc. also hot options full English, various egg choices - all served freshly by our waitress. Excellent all round. Well done to all the staff and their attention to detail.
We would definitely stay here again if we visit the area again.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the gardens- so peaceful and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for a very kind review.
I am delighted that your visit met all expectations and we hope to see you again soon.


Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Took a family member for a quick lunch on a deal. We parked in the car park at the side of the hotel but did find it a little bit hard to find the actual entrance! We followed the line of the building and found a doorway up some steps. This led into a large room with a lovely view of the garden area. The food was OK but as we were on a lunch deal, I didn't expect much in the way of cordon bleu. You could tell it was deal time as there were 'pensioners who lunch' there in their droves!!

The service was fine and nothing arrived late or cold.

Probably would go back again for the same deal but wouldn't make a special trip out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
4.3 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.8 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
230 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Burnley
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
8.1 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel

Property: Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Address: Trapp Lane | Simonstone, Burnley BB12 7QW, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Burnley
Burnley Best Western
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel Burnley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing