We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ridges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chorley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ridges
Ranked #6 of 11 Chorley B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Barbara and John are incredibly lovely hosts with a wonderful B&B. I had an amazing nights sleep; very comfortable bed, very quiet location - just the ticket after a 3/ & half hour drive.

Cannot recommend The Ridges highly enough; I hope to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: The Spinners pub is only a 2 minute walk from The Ridges...the food is great, the service is great a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CartersLE16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed with Barbara and John whilst visiting relatives near Accrington and it was such a good choice for what was an emotional time. We were welcomed from the moment of the first phone call when we were offered all we wished for. Barbara went out of her way to make life easy for us and for that alone we were grateful.
The bed was comfortable, the bathroom huge and the breakfast great. Lovely cups of tea too which is very important. The surroundings are pretty and in spite of a road close by, it was quiet.
There is much to recommend about The Ridges, definitely give it a try if you are staying in the area, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Let Barbara know what you want, she will advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborahski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Ridges proved to be a perfect sanctuary after a long journey on the blisteringly hot and slow moving M5/M6. I arrived to a friendly welcome and was allowed to wander through the calm sun filled acres of magnificent gardens which were filled with, not only a riot of plants but accompanied by classical music and competing birdsong.

My single room was comfortable and I was offered the exclusive use of a large bathroom with bath and separate shower facilities. I enjoyed blissful night’s sleep. The breakfast was generous and tasty and I left refreshed and ready for another long journey and a three day conference. The proprietors were delightful and I would recommend The Ridges to all, in fact, all foreign visitors should be shown directed there as it is so quintessentially English.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lescase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here with my wife and 2 young children. Both rooms were very comfortable and quiet, and the rate was good. Breakfast was excellent, and the hosts are extremely friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

We only stayed one night, arriving late and departing early but were made to feel very welcome. The Ridges sits amidst a glorious (and well-known) garden, regrettably inclement weather prevented further exploration.
The spacious rooms were individually and comfortably decorated. Would certainly recommend and hope to re-visit in the summer to properly explore the gardens.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chorley South Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chorley North Hotel
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
1.4 mi away
Inglewood Boutique B & B
1.0 mi away
The Old Mill House
The Old Mill House
#4 of 58 in Padstow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ridges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridges

Property: The Ridges
Address: The Ridges Weavers Brow | Limbrick, Heath Charnock, Chorley PR6 9EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chorley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BRITAIN'S FINEST - GARDEN DESCRIPTION WORDING The Ridges, a Georgian house, was built in the late 1700' s by local landowners the Standish-Langtree family and has had only a handful of owners since then. In the mid 1800's it was the home of a local mill owner and in 1880 was bought by John Haslem Gillett a wealthy cotton mill owner, with many mills around Lancashire. The walled garden was planted with fruit trees and much of the six acres of land was developed into landscaped gardens and lawns, including many different species of rhododendrons, with woodlands on three sides making the gardens very sheltered. Since 1994 the old walled kitchen garden and orchard, with trees still bearing fruit today, has been replanted with wide perennial borders, a herb garden, a natural looking stream with moisture loving plants and spectacular, highly scented rambling roses and clematis scrambling through the apple trees. A natural living arch leads from the orchard garden through a sturdy metal gate into the more formal area where a large, rectangular lawn has now been surrounded by new beds, planted with shrubs and brightly foliaged trees to contrast with the older and larger rhododendrons, hollies and copper beech. The centre of this lawn is now a mock pond with moisture loving plants and grasses surrounding a large stone urn overlooked by a Victorian style glass house. Undergrowth of the glades and woodland has been cleared to make way for ferns and shade loving plants and each year new features are created or areas that have been neglected are cleared and restored to provide interest for visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ridges Chorley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing