We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views onto canal ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malthouse Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chorley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malthouse Farm
Ranked #5 of 11 Chorley B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
588 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Lovely views onto canal ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We went in after a long walk down by the canal the food was average pub food, the staff weren't as pleasant as they could of been however the atmosphere and surroundings made up for the negatives, drinks are reasonable and it's defo worth popping in

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ms B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    17
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed here about half a dozen times. A premier inn but the added bonus of a lovely position, you can walk along the waterdide to another pub. The attached pub is a lovely building which has a relaxed atmosphere. I have not had breakfast here but eaten evening meals which have been excellent.
Lookinh forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to sit out by the canal on a summers evening after cycling along the canal or early evening drink. Have visited a few times. Food is generally as expected for chain type pub. Staff really don't look happy to be there and need to smile and look more approachable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PurpleReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Been a couple of times. Always ok. Went in for a drink. The tiny bar area was full , the rest of the restaurant was 95,% empty. But as told by the man ,(who lacked serious charm) said we couldn't sit there as we hadn't booked. Who books for a drink for gods sake. I've been fine dining. Malt house is not one of those places. It's a place you pop in. Made me laugh as "regulars" came in and enough couldn't be done for them. Went and spent my money elsewhere. And with a lot better wine list.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank justjosmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Previously i thought it wasn't worth reviewing a premier inn because they are all the same, however i was really pleased with our huge room, spotlessly clean, very modern tv. But also very friendly, helpful reception staff, even offered an umbrella to use to go to the car, don't get that level of service at many 4 and 5 star places.
Also worth a mention is the lovely pub next door, much nicer and better standard than usual places attached to a premier inn, great food, nice location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynzick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Malthouse Farm is in a really nice location and a reasonable atmosphere most of the time. I feel the main things which let this pub/eatery down is the fact that the food has changed to smaller portions with a quite a hefty rise in price and the meat on the roast dinners is a poor quality. The menus have now become limited and on certain days you cannot order off the main menu. Most of the members of staff are really lovely however I'm not sure about the new Managers as they seem to create an atmosphere of stress and upsetting staff when they are about on the pub floor, rushing about and shouting at the staff. This atmosphere is not conducive to a relaxing meal out.
This is a pub and an eatery and is attached to a motel where they serve the motel's residents with breakfast. However at about 8-8.30 in the evening when the pub is in full swing and customers are trying to enjoy themselves part of the pub is set up for breakfast with cereal and bowls etc. I find this really out of order and very off putting to its customers the pub then seams to clear when this function is carried out. I think this should be stopped as you may as well be told to leave, this makes the pub practically empty and as there are a few hours left before closing this action should be carried out when the pub is closed, not in front of paying customers so early in the evening. There is also a lovely open fire which seems to be no longer lit, this is an added character to the pub/eatery and i feel should be used. Also the online booking system does not work properly if you do this you may find you have no table when you arrive safer to go in and book.

Room Tip: This is not a review about the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyBee024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Me and my family have always been fans of Malthouse, and since the recent changes even more so. The restaurant itself has a good atmosphere which is appropriate for most occasions, the food is always to a good standard looking and tasting delicious, and the staff are friendly and welcoming which is why we go there so often. Already recommended it to my friends and will most likely be there again next week.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chorley North Hotel
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chorley South Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
1.8 mi away
Inglewood Boutique B & B
2.2 mi away
The Old Mill House
The Old Mill House
#4 of 58 in Padstow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malthouse Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malthouse Farm

Property: Malthouse Farm
Address: Malt House Farm Moss Lane | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chorley
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Malthouse Farm Chorley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing