We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place for a girly getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top place for a girly getaway”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for my sister hen weekend. It was the Grease theme night to.
Check in was quick and easy with very polite staff. The room had a double and a single bed, the room was clean, the beds were comfy and it had all the facilities you would expect ie hairdryer, ironing board and iron, tea and coffee making facilities, tv and toiletries ect.

The meal and the theme night were both of a good standard and got everyone in the party mood and up dancing.

The spa was a lovely way to relax after a nights partying and the facilities were in a clean and relaxed environment.

Overall the hotel is a good hotel with excellent facilities and maintained to a high standard. The only slight problem I found was at breakfast time when the staff insisted on serving the hot food out when it would have been much quicker to serve yourself. However I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review hope that we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    290
    191
    125
    110
See reviews for
364
172
23
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English Riviera, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a family get away , read previous reviews and was a little worried but we had a fab time , pool brill and chalet family room so spacious with huge bathroom
Only downsize was blind broken on door of our room 27 so people could see in , but soon covered over with towel
Room lovely and clean , lads on desk at check out super friendly and fun
Will deffo come back
Thankyou

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holmessue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the hotel for a hen weekend and stayed in the seperate rooms from the main hotel. It slept 4 of us and was more than adequate and really good value for money. The room had a double bed and 2 singles and was perfect for our needs. Would definately stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fungirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to hold your Hen weekend with us hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I recently visited the hotel with my partner for a weekend getaway, we chose this particular hotel as it has been recommended by friends. The facilities were great and we made full use of the gym and pool area. We has a evening meal in the hotel which again was lovely. From the moment we checked in the staff were very friendly and helpful a young gentlemen on the reception desk was particularly well mannered, shame i didnt catch his name. Also another staff member we had a encounter with was a lady called Michaela who i think works in the events department was very pleasant and helpful and once again well mannered (so lovely to see) when we lost our way once or twice.I would defiantly recommend this hotel to any of my friends and we will be returning again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful ,I hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with our 8 month baby. We were put in the Village but the first night the room was so cold our baby woke up crying. Heater took a few hours to make any difference. The room was fairly clean but very cramped and shabby and the bed was so uncomfortable as the springs were all so worn . Light bulbs were missing too.

The second night the fire alarm went off at 2am as someone in the village was smoking and woke our baby up again!

We went for breakfast one morning but it was so busy due to a children's charity event they didn't have enough staff on so buffet was a mess with no glasses for juice and a long wait for a highchair, tea and toast.

The pool was ok but there were bits of loose tile all on the bottom and no family changing facilities! Staff at leisure centre nice though.

Would not stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review I will be looking into all matters that you have raised
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chorley hotels

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is an oddly located hotel, which is fine for a conference, but I cannot imagine that it would be a place to choose for a holiday. It is located right next to the M6 and accessible through the Charnock Richard services - which, by the way, is the place to go to get a decent cup of coffee, since the hotel coffee was not good. The hotel buildings form a small "campus" and enable everyone present for the conference to be on one site - but the mock-Mexican village look, combined with a hall that claims to be good for "mediaeval" banquets and the disused Camelot theme park next door, makes for a somewhat dislocating experience.

A disabled friend - also attending the conference - is dependent on an electric mobility scooter and had to be conducted some considerable distance around the buildings to get to the supposedly disability friendly accommodation in one of the chalets. There she found that the electric plugs were behind a wardrobe, which had an armchair in front of it. There was no stool in the shower, and no shelter for the overnight storage of her scooter, which is not weather-proof. She had to ask for help to access the plugs and to find a stool for the shower. She should not have had to do this!

My wife and I had a room in the main hotel block. The room was fine, comfortable and clean. The main lobby and circulating areas of the hotel were pleasant and spacious, but on two levels linked by stairs, so not accessible for those with mobility problems. The two floors of bedrooms were linked to the lower area of the lobby by a narrow (hardly wide enough for two people to pass each other) and steep staircase and by a small lift (which my dislike of enclosed spaces discouraged me from using).

The wifi was intermittent and could not be accessed everywhere in the building, despite claims to the contrary. The wifi in the conference hall went off part way through the weekend and I had to resort to using my BT wifi app to access a hotspot, which I assumed was located in the motorway service area next door to the hotel.

The staff, most of whom were young, were very friendly and helpful, but not skilled enough to make everything run as smoothly as it might.

The breakfasts were OK. The cooked breakfasts were reasonable, but the choice for vegetarians was very limited. The toaster was desperately slow, and tea and coffee were served by the cup rather than by giving each table or person a pot.

The dinners, which were part of our conference package, were fairly appalling. Badly cooked, carbohydrate heavy, no vegetables, no salad, no fruit. No chance of getting one's five-a-day! Of the lunches, which were provided at extra cost, the less said the better.

I would not choose this hotel if I were not staying there for a conference. It would certainly not be my choice for a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbarnabasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your comments I will be taking all these comments on board hope to see you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A slightly surreal experience, this one. As previous reviewers have noted, the Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club is located next to a closed theme park called Camelot (the castle is still there as of April 2014) and backing onto a small industrial estate, all within earshot of the M6. There is definitely a hint of death about the place, though admittedly I was staying there right at the start of the season. You should also note that, despite the name here, it is no longer a Best Western but run by Lavender Hotels.

The 'village' accommodation is reasonably spacious, in chalets done up to look like a Mexican village, or at least someone's take on it. No doubt much better in the hotel proper, though the 'village' was an absolute steal at £52/night for rooms that would easily accommodate a family, not including breakfast. The pool was a standard leisure club type, hotel breakfast equally bog standard, though buffet style and plenty of it. I did not eat there in the evening.

Be warned that (allegedly) the aggregator websites like Hotels.com and Booking.com do not tell the hotel the most basic extra details about your booking, so there is no guarantee that any particular request you make will be honoured. And don't let the photo lull you into thinking there are nice woodland walks to be had: there aren't.

Basically, this place is best as a base for families with small children who want a pool and space to run about in: there is really nothing to see for miles around in this odd little corner of Lancashire that is not quite Blackpool, Preston, Bolton, Wigan or anywhere else.

Room Tip: Main hotel better than village, but priced accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I am sorry that your stay wasn't to your satisfaction. I can assure that we are still part of Best Western as every Best Western Hotel is individually owned. I also apologise that you were disappointed with the location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
4.1 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
22.7 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
11.8 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Park Hall Road | Charnock Richard, Chorley PR7 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chorley Best Western
Best Western Chorley
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club Chorley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing