We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people but....”
Review of The Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Reviewed 20 July 2013

the single room I was originally given was shabby to say the least, smelt awful and had a dirty carpet and view of the not particularly tidy 'car park' at the rear. I was given the choice of another room which I turned down and then another which was near the front of the hotel. This one was cleaner and smelt a lot fresher. Although the owners were very helpful in giving me a nicer room, the original one was so horrible, there was no way I could stay in it. I think the rooms further away from the front are smoking rooms which seems to be the cause of the staleness. The piles of laundry at the end of the corridor don't help and the whole place really is in a very poor state. I'm sorry but I wouldn't reccomend this hotel or stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the single room(s) which was awful and rooms towards the bottom of the corrodor where it seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Sorry, but this place is at best poor. It is scruffy and very unkept. On arrival we were directed down a corridor to a lady sitting on the step smoking a cigarette. Yes she got up and showed us the room, but we were followed by a dog that she shut in the room next to ours. Room was clean, but the bed was awful. Even two mattresses and a mattress topper didn't make in comfy. Cracked sink in the bathroom and odd taps. But it was clean.Woken at 5am by the lady who worker there who obviously lived in the room next to ours. Breakfast was dreadful. I was fine with cereal and toast, but you cannot imagine the setting! Everything set out on a dirty 'shelf', and the smell of cigarettes. Sorry, but its true.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times now and will definitely be staying again. It is so easy to get on & off the M6 so makes an ideal stopping off point on a journey. Don't be fooled by the unloved exterior as the rooms are very clean and beds really comfy and the owners are extremely helpful and friendly. Great selection of cereals, juice, teas and fresh coffee, as well as toast and fruit, although personally I would have liked some yoghurts available as I am unfortunately celiac so my personal choice was a little limited. Very dog friendly. The nearby village has a great selection of food places to eat and the owners even offered takeaway menus so we could order in and eat at the hotel. It's now a firm favourite on our route up and down the country.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jolilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Lovely friendly staff. Not the most up to date place but very good value for money. Rooms were clean showers and towels were clean. Breakfast was self serve. Mainly cerial and toast with a wide selection of jam honey marmalde etc. I would definately return we really enjoyed it. Great value for money and a very homely feeling. The bar man was lovely He gave us a selection of take away menus and not only allowed us to eat in the pub He provided us with plates knives and forks etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

On pulling into the car park the motel seems a bit drab but don't let that put you off as the owners are genuinely helpful and friendly and the room we stayed in was spotless with a very comfortable bed and crisp clean bedding with colours matching the clean décor.
The bathroom wasn't the loveliest colour wise i.e yellow sink, toilet and shower but to be fair it was spotlessly clean and fully tiled in new condition, the shower and running hot water were faultless with a very good supply of shampoo and shower gels and fresh soaps which many hotels nowadays scrimp on.
The tea and coffee supplies were more than generous and of good quality i.e Nescafe and Tetley Tea bags.
The carpets were well hovered, a nice flat screen small TV, Hairdryer supplied and a good sized wardrobe and full length mirror in the room.
The staff were very courteous and welcoming, Breakfast was simple, which I personally prefer to a full English consisting of Fresh coffee or a proper pot of tea with a fresh jug of milk, Fruit juice,Toast brown or white, and a good choice of quality cereals..such as Weetabix, crunchy nut corn flakes, rice krispies, special k and more...On your table is also a good selection of Jam's and Marmalade, Marmite and Honey...I had a good night sleep and would stay again.
There is a carvery within half a mile serving till 9 pm a good roast dinner for £4.19 and plenty on it. Don't expect the Waldorf or the Ritz and you will be ok as the cost for two people @£17.50 each it was good honest value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scholesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Booked Hunters Lodge Motel for a half way stopover from Scotland were we live to Kent to see relatives ,was a bit unsure at first only because of room was dated ,but soon discovered was clean and bed comfy .Owner was warm and welcoming and couldn't do enough for you good light breakfast with fresh hot coffee ,so before we left we booked it for the return journey .The only thing I found fault with was no plug sockets near the bed as my husband has sleep apnea a needs to plug in his c pap machine ,but in saying that I should have informed them of this .So all in all very good value for money would recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hebah12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

we stayed for 2 nights when visiting area for a funeral. Staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms were very spacious - my mother's single room had a double bed. Our double room had a super Kingsize. The bathrooms are a little dated but there is painting taking place. Rooms very clean and at a price taht cannot be beaten. only shame is no cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chorley hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chorley South Hotel
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chorley North Hotel
3.5 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2.8 mi away
Hartwood Hall Hotel
Hartwood Hall Hotel
#4 of 12 in Chorley
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Motel

Address: The Lodge Preston Road | Charnock Richard, Chorley PR7 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range: £38 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Motel specializing in value for money overnight accomodation. All rooms en-suite/TV.Close to Camelot Theme Park. Located on the A49 between Jn 27/28 of M6 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Motel Chorley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing