We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time.......”
Review of The Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Step back in time.......”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Excellent value for money. We enjoyed our 2 night stay here. The room was comfortable and clean, as was the bathroom, but the colour of the suite threw us back to the 70's.

Plenty of parking and motorbike friendly. We were able to park our bike round the back of the motel out of sight of the road. Good breakfast, fruit juice, cereals, toast, tea, coffee. Microwave available and as they don't serve evening meals, they didn't mind us ordering in a takeaway from the local Indian restaurant. There is a restaurant next door (Baku), this is open Tuesday to Sunday, hence the takeaway Monday.

Motel run by Dave and Marie, lovely people.

Not in the middle of a town, but easy routes to local attractions. A must, if you love very old buildings, is Salmesbury Hall. Dating back to the 14th century. Astley Park was a pleasure, they even have a pets corner with some amazing African tortoises. Unfortunately the Hall was closed, only opens at weekends and 3 days a week in school holidays.

Overall a brilliant stay and would definitely stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    23
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
27
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Excellent value for money. The service was excellent and the room spotlessly clean although things are a little tired. Nothing was too much trouble.

The motel is well placed for the M6 and there are a number of good places to eat within a short drive from the motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEW600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I would not choose to stay here for a break but as a stop over it offers excellent value. The place is dated and repairs seem to be an ongoing project. Beds may be renewed, are very soft...... Breakfast is included; don't expect too much.......... it's just serials, toast and jam.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVvO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The best nights sleep I've ever had no hassle booked payed on arrival the room was clean twin double bunk beds and a double bed all bedding provided shower bath again towels provided kettle all you need and at £35 per night perfect coil do with a make over out apart from that perfect

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I would not choose to stay here for a break but as a stop over it offers excellent value. I have stayed twice and would use the Motel again - based on value. The place is dated and repairs seem to be an ongoing project. The halls often have bits and pieces lying around but the couple that run the place seem like a good old fashioned hard working couple that keep the rooms clean and serviceable. As good if not better value than your average Travel Lodge and breakfast is included.

Room Tip: If you need wifi (which is free!) check that your room is near the router. Rooms all seem similar so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel was a ideal location .But we did find our room nothing like the pictures on the web site. it smelt like stale smoke . the hairdryer was so old or what and the bathroom look like out the 70's. we found clutter all over the place. we was told to help our selves to breakfast. it was very basic . We wont be staying at this place again

Room Tip: try to get the one shown on the web
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonlotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chorley hotels

cockermouth uk
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Picking almost at random as a stop off, a fortunate choice.
Arriving at about 9.00, we had a friendly welcome and were shown a pleasant room with all you could reasonably ask for.
Everything was clean and tidy.
Although, by the look of the car park in the morning they were at least moderately busy, we had a quiet nights sleep.
It is a buffet type breakfast that was enough to get you going.
After all those good things, and giving each element 5/5, why do i end up only giving the total 4/5? No real reason - there was nothing at all to complain about.. but nothing remarkably fantastic to rave about either - it seems a good general stop over place.
Pleased we chose it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
0.7 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chorley South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
3.2 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
3.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Motel

Property: The Lodge Motel
Address: The Lodge Preston Road | Charnock Richard, Chorley PR7 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Motel specializing in value for money overnight accomodation. All rooms en-suite/TV.Close to Camelot Theme Park. Located on the A49 between Jn 27/28 of M6 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Motel Chorley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing