We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISAPPOINTMENT”

Vardon's Restaurant Chorley
Ranked #28 of 203 Restaurants in Chorley
Price range: US$0 - US$48
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set within the idyllic surroundings of Shaw Hill Country Club, Vardons Restaurant at Shaw Hill Hotel serves classic European cuisine made using the finest locally sourced produce. Opulent yet relaxed, the Regency-style dining room features lavish drapes and elegant corniced ceilings. An array of rich and heady flavours includes venison carpaccio with roast beetroot, roast monkfish with Pernod sauce, or a succulent sirloin steak filled with creamy Roquefort.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTMENT”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Dined on a Friday evening which was quite busy. We regularly dined here some years ago, but it would now seem that their high standards have declined. Husband had one of the most inferior black pudding starters he has had for a long while and this was followed by a tasteless sirloin steak (verified by Chef) which consequently was not charged for. My fishcake starter could have been better and I followed this by roast pork loin. All in all, this was one of the most disappointing meals, when dining out, that we have recently ordered.
The dining room is, and always has been, magnificent and for such a beautiful setting it really is a pity that the Restaurant Manager no longer wears a dinner jacket, as a lounge suit does not quite look the part in this sumptuous setting.
Will definitely not be returning to Vardons, as the food standard falls far below that of Angels or Langs.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EWorden19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    33
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very pleasant dining experience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Part of Shaw Hill Golf and Spa Hotel, with rural views over the golf course, Vardon's restaurant is really quite elegant and has a rather upmarket ambience. We've visited several times and have yet to experience anything other than very good food and impeccable service, from obliging, courteous yet unobtrusive staff.

On this occasion, the Sunday lunch menu had a small selection of straightforward dishes for starters and main courses. Our starters ranged from a simple fan of melon, via a rich chicken liver parfait and a paupiette of black pudding, to a tian of smoked mackerel. Just enough in quantity and with sufficient thought given to the arrangement and dressings of each dish to leave us eagerly awaiting our main courses.

We weren't disappointed. Roast pork was succulent with a rich gravy, although some crackling might have left the purist amongst us even more satisfied. The Goosnargh chicken managed that feat which seems to elude many chicken dishes; it was both succulent and tasty, whilst the vegetarian option, a timbale of vegetables, was far more appetising than my bare description might suggest. Everything arrived perfectly cooked and attractively presented, well seasoned, very tasty and served with a small selection of simple cooked vegetables. Portions were ample, and were well complemented by a very easy to drink Soave, chosen from what seemed to be a thoughtfully assembled wine list.

Only two of our party had room for pudding, but that didn't stop the other two hovering expectantly with spoons at the ready to sample a velvety smooth mint chocolate mousse and the hot pudding of the day, a featherlight hot orange sponge in a small lagoon of crème anglaise. Both delicious.

Our time in the restaurant coincided with two large family parties, so we were particularly pleased that the staff made every effort to ensure we weren't neglected in the rush and bustle of what must have been a hectic service.

A lovely unhurried lunch was rounded off in the lounge area with coffee and petits fours.

All in all, exactly what we hoped for when we booked the table, and Vardon's delivered.

Sounds like it cost a small fortune? Well, no, actually.

Including pre-prandial drinks and wine, the bill came to a reasonable £106.00 for four people. That wouldn't be outrageous for a routine pub meal with drinks but. given the added value of the splendid setting and the quality of staff and service, we felt Vardon's gave real value for money.

We'll certainly be going again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We visited Vardon's restaurant last night and were treated to an evening of culinary delights. We were informed by the friendly bar tender that the menus were new this week.
After taking a drink in the bar/lounge area, we were shown to our table. Expecting our starters, we were each brought an 'amuse-bouche' to start off our meal! These were delicious and definitely tickled the taste buds!
The following 3 courses were beautifully presented, inparticular the dessert! All of our meals were so delicious, we'll be back again to try more. All the staff were friendly and welcoming, particularly our waitress.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda_byers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Lovely tasty food served by friendly fun people in very nice surroundings. Staff going out of their way to meet our requirements.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beaky44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“..a stroke of luck for the region..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Being a regular visitor to the area, (from the culinary hot spot of Germany - Baden Wuerttemburg)
I have sampled a number of restaurants in the area. Vardons restaurant is an outstanding exception. The freindly professional service, spacious layout and first class cuisine make this a regular venue with the family whenever the opportunity arises. If one had to be critical, then I'd say the colour scheme of the decor isn't what I'd choose - but that is a secondary issue and just a question of personal taste.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vardon's Restaurant Chorley also viewed

 
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to Vardon's Restaurant Chorley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing