We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Tea Room.”

Thru the Lookin Glass
Ranked #73 of 204 Restaurants in Chorley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Tea Room.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

What an absolutely charming place.
Of course, coffee and tea cakes were perfectly formed if a teensy bit small for my greedy tum.
However, perfection is achieved by a layout, decor and charm that presents your eyes with a feast of things to view while you enjoy the attentive service of staff who dress right into the spirit of the place.
Very well done, all.
Loved it!
:-D

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    15
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cute, homely and scummy”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

What a lovely few hours we spent yesterday eating cake, sipping tea, drinking lemonade and chatting in a delightful setting.

My Aunt always said tea tasted best from a china cup and saucer and thats exactly what we had.

The staff were friendly and helpful and we will definitely we visiting again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing afternoon tea, myself and 2 friends have just enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea for my birthday and would highly recommend this beautiful little tea room. Gluten free catered for with wonderful cakes and sandwiches as always . Thank you so much Lynne we'll be back once I've worked it off

Helpful?
1 Thank Pippy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I have been twice now and always glide away feeling thoroughly satisfied and uplifted. The first time we went we had the dogs with us, and the staff could not have been more accommodating. They helped us with chairs to take outside and, when the weather took a turn for the worse they happily wrapped up our order so we could take it away. On our visit Today we had coffee, carrot cake, and coffee and walnut cake, and it was divine! The cafe also offer non-dairy alternatives, which is really convenient for those a bit sensitive, or those who want to try a but of variety. The decor is classic vintage and everything is so well presented it is clear that obvious consideration has been taken. The setting is also so quiet and peaceful that you think you're in the lakes, only without the million tourists and inflated prices. Couldn't recommend this place more highly. It's simply wonderful, and the people who run it are friendly, helpful and completely on the ball.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucybr0wn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely place for afternoon tea”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We've been meaning to visit this tea shop for quite a while as we are fairly local and finally got around to it last weekend. What a treat! We received a warm welcome and the tea and cakes were delicious. Having read some of the recent comments on here I can't believe they visited the same place! We've visited many tea shops all over the country and this one is quite special. We'll definitely be back soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LandSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thru the Lookin Glass also viewed

 

Been to Thru the Lookin Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing