We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed at Shaw Hill last night (16th Feb 2013) and it was lovely. The receptionist was so helpful helping us find somewhere to eat for the evening and was very chatty and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for her. We were staying with our 7 year old son and the amenities were great. The leisure centre was so nice and had a pool, steam room, jacuzzi and sauna. The changing room were spotless and the staff were very friendly.
We stayed in room 5 (Turnbury) which was huge. We had a seating area and bedroom as well ! the room and bathroom was spotless and had everything you would need for your stay. My husband is a keen golfer so the views over the course were amazing.
If there was a small negative, it would be that the floorboards in the room very very creeky and I was concerned that the downstairs room would hear us walking around.
Breakfast was lovely with cereal, toast and a full english with 4 different juices and tea and coffee.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing stay with a leisure complex too.
Thank you very much for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

A Very Big Thank You , to all of the staff at Shaw Hill who together made a special day extra special for us. Our son Brian and our now new daughter in law Dawn's wedding day was on 30th January, everyone including Guy,Matt ,Oliver , our special friend Jan, and Andrea on reception were all so helpfull and nothing was too much trouble. We must include the ladies who looked after us at breakfast on the morning of the wedding, also everyone involved in the lovely meal we had after the wedding, and anyone else who contributed to making the day so special for us. Thank you all so much.We will never forget you.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room overlooking the golf course , the views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at Shaw Hill last weekend and attended a Fawlty Towers murder mystery event. The hotel was lovely if a little dated and although our bedroom was fairly 'bijou' friends staying the same evening did have much larger rooms. We paid a very reasonable price for bed & breakfast and for the evening entertainment too. The event was fantastic and the food was good too, the breakfast was even better and the receptionist and groundskeepers were more than helpful when we were all snowed in the car park in the morning ! I will be returning - probably for another murder mystery event and to try out the swimming pool next time when the weathers a bit better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bling63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Just had our wedding,reception and evening disco etc at Shaw Hill and it was perfect in every way. The service from all staff was very high,nothing too much trouble. A special mention to Guy & Matt for making our day run so smoothly. The food exceeded expectations and a fantastic location for photographs. Thank You for making our day a special ,one we will remember for years to come.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 / 5 are big and worth that bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have no doubt this was a grand property in it's day and indeed the golf course does look stunning, however this is where the positive comments end. The hotel layout is very confusing and the corridors and public areas all look a little scuffy and tired. The room itself was small and very dated, with a mixture of 1980's fabrics and furniture topped off with a suspended office style ceiling tiles complete with stains (on the ceiling?). The bathroom was OK in terms of size and underfloor heating but the fixtures and fittings were in a poor state of repair. I was attending an event being held here, and the food served was actually very good, as was the service, but I would not reccomend it as a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

As a group of friends we been going here for Sunday lunch for over thirty years. In the early days it was a very special place; a few years ago it was a sad experience with limited menu and average food. Now it's regained much of its charm and quality. Friendly and helpful staff, excellent cooking and wines that are modestly priced. All in a great location. A very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Went and had afternoon tea with all my family on Saturday 1st December. As there was 10 of us we were given the Gold Room to take afternoon tea in. We were very well looked after with wonderful tea cakes, crumpets, sandwiches, mince pies with cream, xmas cake and as much tea, coffee and hot chocolate we could drink. What a wonderful experience. Thank you Shaw Hill give us all a memorable day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Wingwalker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.1 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
6.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
11.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range: £76 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel Country
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Chorley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing