We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the charge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Reviewed 28 January 2014

OMG this place is filthy dirty and obviously could do with employing cleaners. The rooms are tired but that is no excuse for disgusting cleanliness. Electrics quite frankly are a hazard. I cannot believe this place charges as much as it does. Will not be staying here again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank nabsteruk_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawHill, Front Office Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,
As you can image we are also very upset with what you have discribed as a disgusting room. We are currently revamping the rooms and it would hlep me greatly to ascertian which room you stayed in. For three reasons - 1 to ensure that it is on our revamp programme. 2- the electrics? 3- Cleanliness.
I can only apologise that you did not mention this on checking into your room as I am sure the hotel receptionsit would have gladly changed the room for you. It is very oftern difficult to react to your request after the fact. I do trusst that you do get in touch so that i can reslove this for future guests. My email is joanne@shaw-hill.co.uk. Thank you and I await your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

My party of 6 booked the New Year Ball and Accommodation for December 2013. (The cheaper package). What a great event. Staff were Friendly, Helpful anf Caring throughout the Hotel. Food was lovely and served quickly with a welcome pause in between courses. Disco was well attended and well utilised. Found it easy to make friends. The Residents Bar was most accommodating after the New Year Celebrations, where we made more friends. Accommodation was very comfortable, clean and everything worked. Would definitely book again. Ideal venue for all types of functions. Give it a go.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to outline your requirements. The staff go out of their way to accommodate where...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

just had a work reunion at the restaurant and the food was just average. Edible but definitely not memorable. The puddings were the best course. Don't think we will return even tho' the price was reasonable

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawHill, Front Office Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,

I apologise that we did not meet your expectations whilst dining here. For me to understand what was wrong with the 'average meal' please could you explain how we went wrong? Could you tell me the date you came and the name of the party and what was ordered?. Once I have more specific details I will be able to comment further. I am however pleased you enjoyed the pudding. My email is joanne@shaw-hill.co.uk. I wait your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family and I visited Shaw Hill, (where I am a Leisure Club member) We had been here before, and were not disappointed on this occasion. Excellent service. Friendly yet efficient. Portions good and pudds lovely Think Shaw Hill is probably better when not under pressure (eg Christmas) but this is not unusual in restaurants. Have never had a poor meal here, but then have never visited at a known busy period.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We really enjoyed our night here for the second time. We had the 4 course meal which for an event of this size was very good. Service quick and young staff clean and efficient. The disco was the best we have been to for some time, the floor was full all night. The party crackers and hats etc very good quality. Very good value for the money. We stayed overnight and thought maybe some updating of main hotel room needed and also mattress in annex room needs changing! However the breakfast room is so nice and breakfast choice excellent. Early morning breakfast staff very cheery.

Room Tip: Annex for us although only one couple slept in main hotel this year
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

On Friday 20th Dec, I was taken by my daughter and grand daughter for afternoon tea.
We were the only people in the room, which was just off the reception area. The room was cold, and my feet were freezing the whole time we were there. We were seated at a small table, which had qiute a nice view of the gardens.
There were three of us for afternoon tea, we were given 3 triangle sandwiches each, which were tiny. The selection was, ham. cheese, prawns. That was it. The cakes were of poor quality. Three tiny scones, three sliices of sponge cake, and three tiny meringues. Cream and jam.
Tea selections were excellent.

In the room was a television, this was on all the time we were there. I do not want to listen to music from the television whilst trying to make conversation.

The staff were absolutely excellent.

Only for the fact that I had been taken to Shaw Hill as a Christmas treat with my family, I would have said something at the time, but of course I did not want to embarress my family.
I definately will not recommend this place to anyone .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwintonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Shaw Hill golf & country club is always worth a visit its nice to meet up with friends for a chat and afternoon tea,its great to have a meal in vardens restarant and even better have a couple of games of golf and stayover !The Sunday drivers are excellent value for money the course is lovely and the staff are always very nice.

Room Tip: Stayed in most of the rooms over the years all have been good
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.1 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
6.7 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
997 reviews
10.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range: £73 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel Country
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Chorley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing