We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful venue for celebrations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chorley
Certificate of Excellence
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue for celebrations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at Shaw Hill 8th February overnight. We were attending a birthday celebration dinner at the hotel. We found everything to be first rate. We dined in the Stanley Suite (seated 30 guests comfortably) and had the exclusive use of the Gold Suite for the evening - wonderful. The food was extremely good and the service was excellent. A perfect evening in a lovely setting. As guests we also made us of the leisure facilities. The lady on reception was very helpful and friendly, showing around. The facilities were clean and the pool was a nice temperature. Our full English breakfast on Sunday was very satisfying, the restaurant has a lovely ambiance and we left the hotel having had a really pleasant weekend. We would certainly recommend it as a function venue as the staff couldn't do enough for us. Food first rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    109
    56
    36
    19
See reviews for
72
105
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in January. We checked in as a very last minute requirement and the staff were very friendly.

The first downfall was we had a large suitcase as we were staying 5 nights and my husband had to carry it up the (beautiful) staircase and along various corridors to get to our room. As this is a listed building, there are no lifts.

We had a suite and it was very nice. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the best 5 nights sleep for a long time. The bath and shower needed a little maintenance. Looked a bit shabby.

It was very cold in our room. Every time we wanted to go to our room before the evening (when the heating was turned in), we had to ask the staff to put the heating on. This did get a little embarrassing and so when were where around, we spend our time in the bar or the lounge by the open fire, which was lovely.

The food in this hotel is, in word one, amazing. We had a wonderful three course meal and it was absolutely incredible.

We would stay again, but maybe only when it is warmer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

OMG this place is filthy dirty and obviously could do with employing cleaners. The rooms are tired but that is no excuse for disgusting cleanliness. Electrics quite frankly are a hazard. I cannot believe this place charges as much as it does. Will not be staying here again

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank nabsteruk_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawHill, Front Office Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,
As you can image we are also very upset with what you have discribed as a disgusting room. We are currently revamping the rooms and it would hlep me greatly to ascertian which room you stayed in. For three reasons - 1 to ensure that it is on our revamp programme. 2- the electrics? 3- Cleanliness.
I can only apologise that you did not mention this on checking into your room as I am sure the hotel receptionsit would have gladly changed the room for you. It is very oftern difficult to react to your request after the fact. I do trusst that you do get in touch so that i can reslove this for future guests. My email is joanne@shaw-hill.co.uk. Thank you and I await your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My party of 6 booked the New Year Ball and Accommodation for December 2013. (The cheaper package). What a great event. Staff were Friendly, Helpful anf Caring throughout the Hotel. Food was lovely and served quickly with a welcome pause in between courses. Disco was well attended and well utilised. Found it easy to make friends. The Residents Bar was most accommodating after the New Year Celebrations, where we made more friends. Accommodation was very comfortable, clean and everything worked. Would definitely book again. Ideal venue for all types of functions. Give it a go.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to outline your requirements. The staff go out of their way to accommodate where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

just had a work reunion at the restaurant and the food was just average. Edible but definitely not memorable. The puddings were the best course. Don't think we will return even tho' the price was reasonable

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawHill, Front Office Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologise that we did not meet your expectations whilst dining here. For me to understand what was wrong with the 'average meal' please could you explain how we went wrong? Could you tell me the date you came and the name of the party and what was ordered?. Once I have more specific details I will be able to comment further. I am however pleased you enjoyed the pudding. My email is joanne@shaw-hill.co.uk. I wait your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family and I visited Shaw Hill, (where I am a Leisure Club member) We had been here before, and were not disappointed on this occasion. Excellent service. Friendly yet efficient. Portions good and pudds lovely Think Shaw Hill is probably better when not under pressure (eg Christmas) but this is not unusual in restaurants. Have never had a poor meal here, but then have never visited at a known busy period.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We really enjoyed our night here for the second time. We had the 4 course meal which for an event of this size was very good. Service quick and young staff clean and efficient. The disco was the best we have been to for some time, the floor was full all night. The party crackers and hats etc very good quality. Very good value for the money. We stayed overnight and thought maybe some updating of main hotel room needed and also mattress in annex room needs changing! However the breakfast room is so nice and breakfast choice excellent. Early morning breakfast staff very cheery.

Room Tip: Annex for us although only one couple slept in main hotel this year
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
6.7 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chorley North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
6.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
23.1 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Property: Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel Country
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Chorley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing