We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Social living deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a lovely stay. Arrived at 13 00 and was able to check in before 15 00. Staff couldn't be more helpful. We had afternoon tea and it was lush. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and tidy and staff again were lovely. We rounded our day of with evening meal in Vardons. The food and service was impeccable. Couldn't fault it at all. The breakfast again was nice and fresh. We enjoyed our stay without fault.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrinaH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed overnight for a wedding. Staff quite welcoming. Room absolutely freezing. Rang reception no reply on first call. Tried to put heating on but not much luck. Rang reception and got reply and heating turned on room very small and basic considering the price. Tea and coffee making facilities in room. Short on milk and only one pack of 2 biscuits! Staff gave a jug of milk but by the morning it was sour so no morning cuppa. Disappointed with the food on offer at the bar. The bread for the sandwiches certainly wasn't a bloomer ordinary sliced bread.
Breakfast overlooked. Bacon like cardboard couldn't cut it. Disappointing as ready for good breakfast.
All staff pleasant and attentive.
Special rate of £98.00 because of wedding but could have booked on late rooms for a lot less. Not value for money. Place could do with a refurb. Used the leisure centre which was clean but again needs some work.

Room Tip: An old country house with lots of nooks and crannies. We got lost trying to find our way out. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 491helenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawHill, Front Office Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please could you email me on joanne@shaw-hill.co.uk, with the date you stayed and room number so that I can fully investigate. I will also be in a better position to understand and rectify this for future guests. Many thanks and I await your email.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I booked the Penina Suite at Shaw Hill for a surprise 60th birthday party for my husband on 16th March. Guy, the Events Planner, was very helpful with all the arrangements prior to the party and on the actual day, everything was wonderful. Staff had done an excellent job with table, bar area and putting cake and balloons out. We had a 3 course Sunday lunch and the food was delicious and well presented. All 50 guests praised the food and facilities. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saraje34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We went for afternoon tea with friends on Sunday. We went on a deal with Livingsocial . Was a little disappointed with the size of the cakes though. Scones were very small but saying that they tasted lovely. This is a beautiful Hotel and Restaurant not that expensive too. Worth checking it out

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrahowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawHill, Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. Our afternoon teas are traditionally delciate mouthfulls of home made cakes. Should you have required further cakes we would of happily provided extra servings upon request.

We do hope that you will return to Shaw hill in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at Shaw Hill 8th February overnight. We were attending a birthday celebration dinner at the hotel. We found everything to be first rate. We dined in the Stanley Suite (seated 30 guests comfortably) and had the exclusive use of the Gold Suite for the evening - wonderful. The food was extremely good and the service was excellent. A perfect evening in a lovely setting. As guests we also made us of the leisure facilities. The lady on reception was very helpful and friendly, showing around. The facilities were clean and the pool was a nice temperature. Our full English breakfast on Sunday was very satisfying, the restaurant has a lovely ambiance and we left the hotel having had a really pleasant weekend. We would certainly recommend it as a function venue as the staff couldn't do enough for us. Food first rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in January. We checked in as a very last minute requirement and the staff were very friendly.

The first downfall was we had a large suitcase as we were staying 5 nights and my husband had to carry it up the (beautiful) staircase and along various corridors to get to our room. As this is a listed building, there are no lifts.

We had a suite and it was very nice. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the best 5 nights sleep for a long time. The bath and shower needed a little maintenance. Looked a bit shabby.

It was very cold in our room. Every time we wanted to go to our room before the evening (when the heating was turned in), we had to ask the staff to put the heating on. This did get a little embarrassing and so when were where around, we spend our time in the bar or the lounge by the open fire, which was lovely.

The food in this hotel is, in word one, amazing. We had a wonderful three course meal and it was absolutely incredible.

We would stay again, but maybe only when it is warmer.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

OMG this place is filthy dirty and obviously could do with employing cleaners. The rooms are tired but that is no excuse for disgusting cleanliness. Electrics quite frankly are a hazard. I cannot believe this place charges as much as it does. Will not be staying here again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank nabsteruk_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawHill, Front Office Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest,
As you can image we are also very upset with what you have discribed as a disgusting room. We are currently revamping the rooms and it would hlep me greatly to ascertian which room you stayed in. For three reasons - 1 to ensure that it is on our revamp programme. 2- the electrics? 3- Cleanliness.
I can only apologise that you did not mention this on checking into your room as I am sure the hotel receptionsit would have gladly changed the room for you. It is very oftern difficult to react to your request after the fact. I do trusst that you do get in touch so that i can reslove this for future guests. My email is joanne@shaw-hill.co.uk. Thank you and I await your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.1 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
6.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
11.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
22.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range: £73 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel Country
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Chorley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing