We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shaw Hill Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Preston Chorley(Clayton-le-Woods)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brook House Hotel(Clayton-le-Woods)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn M6 Preston(Bamber Bridge)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
211
130
70
44
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
211
130
70
44
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaeton messgold roomsnooker roomlovely buildingin great conditionleisure facilitiessouptoasted tea cakestaff were attentivemy mumdance floorcouldn't faultfood was lovelyfriends weddingevening mealwedding reception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My son, Chris and his now beautiful wife Gemma married at Shaw Hill in March. The wedding was held in the Pennina suite, a large room which can be split into two via a folding door. Once the ceremony had taken place guests moved out into the bar area, and conservatory. Great to have lots of space. Meals at weddings can ofter be a disappointing affair. Shaw Hill didn't let us down,silver service, attentive staff, well presented food. No complaints. After the meal guests again moved whilst the room was opened up for the evening. Very good buffet. Now to Guy who was the wedding co-ordinator. He is a true star! Always on hand, so helpful, cheery and constantly ensuring everything ran smoothly. He even acted as D.J. on the night. We could not have asked for more from him, truly amazing.

I loved the fact that there was so much space and different rooms which we could use. The grounds are amazing for photos.

We stayed overnight, clean, basic rooms which in my opinion need updating but we slept fine. Excellent breakfast in Vardons.

Staff can make or break an experience, all the staff at Shaw Hill deserve to be commended, from reception, serving staff, cleaner, Guy of course and the chefs. Well done and thank you from one delighted mother of the groom.

Room Tip: No lifts so check if you have mobility problems as lots of stairs. Room at front on first floor overlooks golf course and has lots of windows. Watch the step up to bathroom especially if tipsy!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiefrombolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had an amazing time at Shaw hill celebrating our wedding. We could not have asked more from the staff, they were so helpful and made our day run so smoothly. Thank you so much to everyone involved. I would definately recommend Shaw Hill as an excellent venue for a wedding:)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismckee2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a lovely stay. Arrived at 13 00 and was able to check in before 15 00. Staff couldn't be more helpful. We had afternoon tea and it was lush. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and tidy and staff again were lovely. We rounded our day of with evening meal in Vardons. The food and service was impeccable. Couldn't fault it at all. The breakfast again was nice and fresh. We enjoyed our stay without fault.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrinaH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed overnight for a wedding. Staff quite welcoming. Room absolutely freezing. Rang reception no reply on first call. Tried to put heating on but not much luck. Rang reception and got reply and heating turned on room very small and basic considering the price. Tea and coffee making facilities in room. Short on milk and only one pack of 2 biscuits! Staff gave a jug of milk but by the morning it was sour so no morning cuppa. Disappointed with the food on offer at the bar. The bread for the sandwiches certainly wasn't a bloomer ordinary sliced bread.
Breakfast overlooked. Bacon like cardboard couldn't cut it. Disappointing as ready for good breakfast.
All staff pleasant and attentive.
Special rate of £98.00 because of wedding but could have booked on late rooms for a lot less. Not value for money. Place could do with a refurb. Used the leisure centre which was clean but again needs some work.

Room Tip: An old country house with lots of nooks and crannies. We got lost trying to find our way out. If you have mobility problems you need to ask to be downstairs.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 491helenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawHill, Front Office Manager at Shaw Hill Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Please could you email me on joanne@shaw-hill.co.uk, with the date you stayed and room number so that I can fully investigate. I will also be in a better position to understand and rectify this for future guests. Many thanks and I await your email.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I booked the Penina Suite at Shaw Hill for a surprise 60th birthday party for my husband on 16th March. Guy, the Events Planner, was very helpful with all the arrangements prior to the party and on the actual day, everything was wonderful. Staff had done an excellent job with table, bar area and putting cake and balloons out. We had a 3 course Sunday lunch and the food was delicious and well presented. All 50 guests praised the food and facilities. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saraje34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews