We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday driver golf break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The good and not so good of this hotel & golf complex.
The good;
A) Golf course, well maintained and a challenging course.
B) Hotel clean & tidy.
C) In general polite & obliging.
The not so good;
A) Room 16:- mattress like rock, mixer shower totally a mind of its own.
B) Food, extremely average.
C) In general the hotel needs a much needed makeover.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lowe ground floor which are noisy and in need of refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked a spa day with overnight for myself and three friends as one of our friends is pregnant and not getting out much accept to work. Very reasonable and hotel was lovely however a Spa it is not, hotel with leisure facilities, if u do decide to book don't let them con you into the upgrade of the shaw suite, it has never been a suite. The afternoon tea and breakfast was lovely and staff very nice polite and helpful, it's great if your a golfer and would of been better if it hadn't rained the whole two days. It was a long way to go for an overnight stay. If you do go and fancy a bite to eat go to Dantes on the main road but book as it gets very busy, food is excellent.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank nicola d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay for the one night with golf on arrival evening meal full breakfast and a second game of golf in the morning with full use of the spa etc. The food was fantastic and the staff were very well trained and very helpful. Only a couple of things need attention. The snooker table had a large tear on the cloth and one cue was split with the other one being a bit bent. The single bed in room 8 was very noisy and the floor boards creaked when you walked across the floor. I never used the swimming pool or spa but some of my friends in my party did and said they were very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trev1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here with my daughter . Booked in for living social deal of afternoon tea and decided to extend the visit . Was told as we were already coming for afternoon tea the room would be a lot cheaper than we initially thought. On the recommendation of a trip advisor review we asked for a room overlooking the golf course. WOW we were not disappointed. A lovely triple aspect twin room. Jan on the desk was really nice and very helpful as were all the staff we came across. Afternoon tea lovely but had to ask to change the prawns for ham. Early bird meal at night delicious and great value for money. Definitely returning with my husband very soon. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkyandPerky2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Tonight my family and I dined at Shaw Hill Vardons restaurant and had a lovely evening. The food as usual was excellent and the service was very good too. For the last fifteen years we have eaten in the restaurant and have never been disappointed. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank marilyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I recently went here for a weekend break with my boyfriend. It was a lovely experience and we would love to come again.

Great facilities, great food, great staff, great rooms! Very reasonably priced and a lovely area for a relaxing break.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We've been twice here for lunch and both times have had a really good meal at a good price. The food is well presented and cooked and the service is very good too. The dining room is a bit chintzy but we believe they do a lot of weddings there so maybe that's what people want.

Room Tip: Choose the set menu lunch...there's a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank matilda50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.1 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
6.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
11.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
22.0 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range: £73 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel Country
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Chorley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing