We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" I felt like a lady "”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I wanted to treat 101yr old Grandma to a cup of tea on my Birthday. I approached The Pines hotel on Friday29th Aug, who were most unhelpful ( see my review) I telephoned Shaw Hill at 2pm & we arrived for afternoon tea at 3pm. The afternoon tea was very enjoyable Grandma later told one of her carers that she had been waited on like a lady ! I enquired about future visits & was told we could pop in any time for tea & cake. Thank you Shaw Hill for an excellent afternoon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Although I thought the staff were so friendly and from the outside the place looked great, I was so disappointed with the standard of rooms. The room we were given was like a cheap B&B. Small cold and very depressing. The food also didn't live up to my expectations. The first breakfast was with poached haddock and full English. The second day was a rather poor buffet without any luxury at all. As for the bar food it was not nice at all. I ordered a curry with was more like a very poor sweet and sour, and was obviously just microwaved. For such a nice looking place I expected far more than we got. Especially as it wasn't that cheap either.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were invited to an evening wedding reception here and it looked quite promising upon arrival. We initially passed through a room with a bar so naturally assumed that was our option for purchasing drinks. It was very crowded and it seemed to be a free for all with other non wedding people. We wandered outside with our drinks onto the terrace which was very pleasant, then we joined some friends in a sort of ante room. Someone had not paid attention to the cobwebs on the ceiling in here. We were then informed that the main reception area was ready and as we followed others into this room we passed another bar which was obviously intended for the use of wedding guests. Why had no one told us ie the barman in the first room? It would have saved us being jostled about by a group of blokes who I think had booked a meal in the restaurant.
Bacon and sausage barmcakes with chips were served later in the evening and I have to say that although I have no problem with the idea,they were not the best I've ever had.The chips were lukewarm too. I enjoyed the party but Shaw Hill need to up their game.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank hellothereitsmehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having spent the weekend at Shaw Hill, I would highly recommend the hotel. Excellent food, excellent service and every member of staff was polite and always eager to help.
Just 2 ways that could areas that could be improved-a plug socket near to a mirror and if there is to be some investment, upgrade the doors to a card system.
We were guests at a wedding and the arrangements were faultless, and the food and service was fantastic so well done Shaw Hill

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We happened upon Shaw Hill when we were unable to find a room in The Travel Lodges along the M6 --so glad they were fully booked ! Really lovely hotel if you are prepared to venture a few miles off the motorway .The room we had was huge and slept 5 (Turnberry Suite) and overlooked the golf course and grounds .The food was lovely and great value .Significant added attraction is the attached Spa with a great swimming pool .By the time you have factored in buying breakfast with a travel lodge or similar our room midweek was not that much more and included a full English Breakfast in the hotels lovely dining room The hotel staff were friendly and efficient .So good we have already booked in again for our next trip down the M6

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

shaw hill is a lovely place to have a meal good food and a lovely place relaxing and the service is always good the food is fresh and attention to detail is also very good
we tend to go for lunch and just sit in the lounge area and have coffee afterwards which is relaxing lovely décor
want good food the place to go
thank you

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tripadviser1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in The St Andrews Suite for my birthday, it was lovely, with views over the golf course! The staff were friendly and very helpful, afternoon tea was delicious as was our evening meal, I cannot fault the stay, it was a lovely present from my husband, and a much needed break.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Deb50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.1 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
7.1 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#2 of 4 in Darwen
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range: £74 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel Country
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Chorley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing