We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Celebrations Hotel Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Had a room in the annex (208) which was large modern and with a new bathroom. All you would expect from a 4 star function/conference hotel.

ROOM:
Zip locked Twin/Double Bed.
Large TV with main freeview channels and other language channels.
Iron and Ironing Board in Room + Trouser Press.
Kettle and quality drinks and cookies.
Toiletries provided.
Wifi - No signal picked up in room so could not use my ipad

The hotel is geared up for Weddings and celebrations which they do very well. There is also a Spa and well being center which offers all the usual treatments and a decent indoor pool.

Restaurant offers a small menu of mostly "old skool " style food such as battered Haddock, mushy peas and chips. Three course evening meals start from about £22. Breakfast is quality with a good selection of full English and assorted cold items.

All in all a pleasant hotel that lives up to the 4 star rating. The building is lovely as are the grounds. Staff were very pleasant, service was friendly without being too intrusive. Would stay again. Priced as expected for a double for single use neither expensive nor best value, about right though. I paid £75 per night room only.

Room Tip: Ask for an room in the modern annex building, rooms in the main hall are a bit date with creaky floo...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments in regards your recent stay at the hotel. I was pleased to hear that we had given a good level of service and that things met with your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,487)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Had a lovely spa day here with family. Facilities are excellent, staff are friendly, attentive and helpful, food was delicious and treatments carefully tailored to each of us. Would heartily recommend it to others. We booked via an Internet promotion and it was a great bargain too. Would happily have spent double what it cost.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asharah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Many thanks for your kind words. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed here for two nights while in the area on business.

Very well appointed hotel. Had a warm welcome and efficient check-in.

I had booked a standard room which was up a flight of stairs which was no fun if you have a lot of lugage to truck with you as well as briefcase, laptop etc. They do ask if you want help, however, it is still a bit of a pest.

Standard room was very well appointed with a nice sitting area and recently refitted bathroom. However, wifi is charged as an extra and NOT CHEAP: in this day and age that is a disgrace really, however, when I went down to buy internet access I was told the room couldn't be conected and I was given the option to upgrade at a supplement to an Executive Room. I was given help to pack and move. It is a really long trek through a few corridors and outside to the Executive Wing (there is a lift in this part of the building) and then a long walk around the corridors to the Executive Rooms.

A very well appointed room and wifi is pretty efficient there.

I had room service most of the time over my few days stay as it suited my work pattern. Service was exceptional and a very good room menu available. Food arrived fairly promptly and hot.

Nice grounds and ample parking.

Check-out was also very efficient and helpful and very pleasant well trained staff who genuinely seemed interested that I had enjoyed my stay and had everything I needed.

Very clean, well serviced rooms and helpful professional staff. Good standards overall.

Room Tip: Very good hotel, let down a little by lack of wifi coverage (which is VERY expensive if you can conn...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRGTRAVEL2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent visit to the hotel. It is pleasing to hear that you were looked after very well by the team. The internet is something that we are currently looking at to improve, but are awaiting our contractor coming back to us before we can proceed.

I will share your comments with the team and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Had an absolutely incredible weekend. Lovely room beautiful setting, food superb couldn't fault it. Only minor grouse young blonde haired receptionist had an abrasive attitude and was rude on two ocassions with myself and another member of our party. All in all would highly recommend. Thank you for the perfect break in addition your waiting on staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa. I will follow up your comments with the team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

myself and my husband have just spent 2 nights here, room 96 very big room lovely bathroom but very hot had to open the windows, we ate 1 night for tea throught it was over priced had rib eye 9 chips 1 mushroom 1 tomatoe 20 pound steak was raw when asked not to be best was the breakfasts staff very friendly would stay again but would go elsr where for our teas .

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback in regards to your recent stay. It is a pleasure to hear that the team provided service that met with your expectations. I will certainly share your comments with them.

Yours sincerely

Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed for one night in an exec room. A long way from reception but a lovely view and an enormous room 503.
Good points Big comfortable room good view very quiet nice large bathroom
Weak points no fridge as per most uk mercures average toiletries as per mercure.
Spa looked good but did not use it

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodAndArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am pleased that you had a nice stay and hope that you will give us the opportunity to look after you again in the future.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a leisure trip. Good points - magnificent building, good facilities, beautiful grounds, friendly staff; bad points - room was unbelievably hot - my guess is around 26C - with no air-con and only the ability to open a tiny window, walls paper-thin and we were kept up till 3 by the wedding party and woken at 7 by people in the next room showering, room was tiny (around 10 feet square for a double room), expensive hotel bar (£8.80 for a dbl gin and tonic), breakfast buffet was good quality but stone cold. I would not stay here again which is a shame because it is a beautiful building in a beautiful setting but 4 hours sleep in an uncomfortable room is not what I'm looking for from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get a room upstairs - they are tiny and boiling hot with no ability to control the temperatur...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent visit. I am sorry that you did not have a very good night's sleep. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies. We do try to look after the needs of every guest, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we will take the appropriate action in order to rectify the issues raised. Thank you for you taking the time to provide the review.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
239 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.4 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range: £52 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton-Le-Moors, Lancashire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing