We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Building Great Location Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Building Great Location Great Staff”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Driving to the hotel you are anticipating a good night's accommodation, there is a coat of arms above your head as you walk through to reception on the red carpet. You are warmly and professionally welcomed check-in is painless and quick.

The rooms are well maintained and clean, my colleague even had a dear outside his room in the morning. Food in the restaurant was good and despite being extremely busy the service was excellent and friendly.

The gym is well equipped and the ground are immaculate.

Special mention for Andrew in reception and Donna who served us so well both for dinner and breakfast you were exceptional, keep up the good work.

If I need to stay in the area again I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback. I will share your comments with Andrew and Donna in particular. I hope to welcome you back in the near future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    457
    292
    145
    113
See reviews for
285
460
52
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

i have stayed here before on business and never rated the food.
This hotel was a mile from where we lived but as we have now uprooted to Morecambe and we were back for a family do we decided to stay here for the night.
I asked prior about the size of beds as my husband has a disability with his shoulder a double bed is not big enough. We have a super king at home. How anyone gets a good nights sleep in an ordinary double I don't know.
We were informed that we had been put in a room with a larger bed.
On arrival we were told that the hotel had no larger beds and they were not sure why we had been told that.
The end result was that we were in a room with 2 singles together. No problem but one had a topper and was higher than the other and the quilt was a exact fit across the bed. When two people were in it it would have been totally inadequate. i rang reception and someone came round he went away to find a solution. We decided between us if he brought 2 single quilts we would manage. They did this and it was solved !!!
Everyone we encountered staff wise offered a very friendly and helpful service.
We did not eat there as we were attending a family do. We did have breakfast and it was good buffet style and again friendly service.
There is a spa that we did not use and there are lovely grounds around the hotel.
Drinks are very expensive and I know from attending other functions here in the past that you will be in for an expensive night if you like a drink.
The ribble valley, Accrington, Blackburn (though why you would want to go there) are all on the doorstep as is the m65.
Rishton its self has 3 to 4 pubs Indian and french restaurant.
All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our room 55 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing feedback. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Myself and three friends booked a spa break a couple of months ago and were contacted one week before the break to say there was a double booking so they could not accommodate us. We contacted the Dunkenhaigh and they couldn't have been more helpful, we booked in for a two day spa break which included meals, use of the spa facilities and a treatment which was actually cheaper than our original choice. The hotel is lovely, the spa facilities and food excellent. We were in a courtyard room which was quite small but adequate for the time spent in the room. There was a good choice of treatments using decile or products and the therapists were very friendly and knowledgable about the products. All the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and pleasant Ann in the spa area was particularly helpful, remembered our names which made the visit a very personal experience.

Room Tip: We were in the courtyard rooms which could be a problem if raining as it is a short walk to the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I will definately share them with the team and hope that they inspire or dedicated staff to continue to provide service of this nature
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just back after a 2 night stay here, I haven't read all the reviews but a few others would echo my experience... arrive, excellent reception welcome ( somehow walking down a red carpet into the building always puts a smile on my face) ..V quick and a efficient. Room was OK, as others have written, looking a little tired maybe, 3 bed room was actually a sofa bed for the toddler, it "did" - however, I would NOT have been happy to have slept on that myself, the mattress requires replacement, 100%! as she doesn't weigh much, I didn't grumble and she slept fine. In contrast - the mattress on the beds were spot on, very good.

ALL staff we encountered were helpful, polite and professional .. great job.

This hotel is very popular with weddings, location and space is perfect for it... great photo oppo's and the aforementioned staff being among some .. however, for the other guests this can present a bit of a problem, I walked through the middle of two receptions being held during our Fri / Sat night stay, which felt odd! the issue for me was when the staying wedding guests went to bed and woke us all up, more than a few times! ... it's someone's special day, so forgiven ..... but, worthy of a mention.

Restaurant was OK, my Lamb was lovely, well cooked, my wifes steak a little over, the LO Mac n Cheese - Excellent... all very well presented. However, I would say when we sat down (19:15) they were at 15% capacity, we didn't order a starter and had but one desert (3 scoop ice cream) .. we left at 21:00! (with a toddler) .. could have been faster! Breakfast was better.
Though, sorry to grumble here too ..... My wife ordered poached eggs, and she got a pan poached egg ... all on it's own, in the middle of the plate! Surely it should come with something? anything!? No? .. Again, to counter that - the buffet was great, Fresh Pastries, Fruits, Yogurts, Cereals, Breads etc ...Cooked food too, though I couldn't get a fired egg from the "oil bath" it kept slipping off!

We used the pool once, was excellent, lovely greeting, towels provided, pool is as warm as a bath and has a large jacuzzi one end...Nice, would like to have used more facilities.

Food and Restaurant bought my rating down to Very Good (service)

In my opinion, trying very hard to be 4*, some rough edges ...
We'd stay again and probably will!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jud W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. I will follow up your comments with the senior team and take remedial action where necessary
I do hope to welcome you back in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel on Saturday26th April for the above mentioned function. The view on arrival was stunning and booking in was fast and pleasant. Room was ok but looking a little tired.
Bar Service was excellent and the service during and after the meal was top notch. The Meal was quite superb and enjoyed the whole evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel if you are returning to the area
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for business. Food was expensive £38 for room service steak chips and an ice cream with £5 tray charge. Room spacious bath and deprecate shower. Sky sports in room. Spa is excellent numerous saunas and steam room I would recommend using the big sauna. Staff were really friendly even though the cleaning staff broke my iphone charger the hotel replaced. Free wifi available as well. I don't really have any faults with the hotel think it is good but not very good. Would return privately with the family.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deanjohnson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to point out however that the prices stated are inaccurate. Our most expensive steak, is priced at £22.95, which includes your choice of sauce and chunky chips. A selcetion of ice creams or sorbets is priced at £3.95. I do not think these prices are overly excessive. A room charge is standard practice across the industry. If you believe you have been over-charged, please contact me directly and I will look in to it.

I am pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay.

Yours sincerely

Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.6 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,063 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton-Le-Moors, Lancashire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing