We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed with a terrific coach holiday company, Eclipse Breaks, and can honestly say this hotel was a delight to stay in. Set in beautiful surroundings, with large bedrooms and extremely comfortable beds too. The food was great from evening meal to breakfast next day, and the staff were so attentive and very hard working indeed. Very impressed, and hope to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank angie27052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for ptroviding feedback. Your comments are appreciated and I hope to welcome you back in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

This magnificent hotel has a nice long driveway but the wrong satnav location; turn left instead of right at the junction. It was quite a long walk to the restaurant from the room, but along the way there is plenty to see from the panelling to the furnishings and the views of the gardens. It was a great pleasure to make that journey each time. On arrival: Greeted appropriately and felt welcomed. The room: Really pleasant and comfortable, but the door on the verandah downstairs kept going thud each time a customer walked through it. The shower was powerful, not quite enough to stick you to the wall, but almost. The toilet seat was loose; my pet hate for borrowed toilets. The food: Was poncy and too small, but there is a fine Chinese takeaway about 15 minutes walk into Rishton. Would I stay again: Most definitely yes. Spa and stuff: This bit would have cost extra but work had tired me beyond using it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. I am pleased that you had a positive experience. I will follow up your commetns in regards to the toilet seat and the food with the relevant personnel. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here 3 times now and always treated in a nice friendly way. Rooms are nice and spacious and are not hot and stuffy like most modern hotels. As such I always get a good nights sleep. The food in the restaurant is very good, although I eat in the bar on this occasion which was a bit bland. All in all though a good hotel

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Ringo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. Your comments are appreciated and I will share them with the team. I hope that you will join us again in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This venue looks beautiful from the brochures and on first arrival, but beware - it is a wedding 'factory'.
We attended what should have been a fantastic day, but it was marred by the fact that there were three weddings occuring simultaneously on the same day. Possibly a different experience if you secure the setting at the front of the hotel, but our party was relegated to a 'courtyard' at the back of the hotel.
The wedding was 'scheduled' by a rude wedding manager who seemed determined that our party was corralled in this area, lest we wander and disturb the other weddings. Perhaps this was why he was so rude - having to manage three weddings at once?
The message is simple: do not consider booking your wedding here! Choose a venue where you have exclusivity, there are so many better options than this awful place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pardelote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Much of this review is completely inaccurate and not a true reflection of the events. The feedback we receive from our weddings is very good. The review is factually incorrect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel Thursday to Sunday

Allocated an executive room Room spacious , Bathroom first class

Used the hotel dinning room for Breakfast and Dinner all the meals were first class, good service busier on Saturday but that was to be expected

Used Swimming pool Friday afternoon quiet and nice welcome ,clean facilities .

Staff throughout the stay very friendly

Would stay again without hesitation and would recommend the hotel

Room Tip: Executive room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acornsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for ptoviding feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Driving to the hotel you are anticipating a good night's accommodation, there is a coat of arms above your head as you walk through to reception on the red carpet. You are warmly and professionally welcomed check-in is painless and quick.

The rooms are well maintained and clean, my colleague even had a dear outside his room in the morning. Food in the restaurant was good and despite being extremely busy the service was excellent and friendly.

The gym is well equipped and the ground are immaculate.

Special mention for Andrew in reception and Donna who served us so well both for dinner and breakfast you were exceptional, keep up the good work.

If I need to stay in the area again I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback. I will share your comments with Andrew and Donna in particular. I hope to welcome you back in the near future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

i have stayed here before on business and never rated the food.
This hotel was a mile from where we lived but as we have now uprooted to Morecambe and we were back for a family do we decided to stay here for the night.
I asked prior about the size of beds as my husband has a disability with his shoulder a double bed is not big enough. We have a super king at home. How anyone gets a good nights sleep in an ordinary double I don't know.
We were informed that we had been put in a room with a larger bed.
On arrival we were told that the hotel had no larger beds and they were not sure why we had been told that.
The end result was that we were in a room with 2 singles together. No problem but one had a topper and was higher than the other and the quilt was a exact fit across the bed. When two people were in it it would have been totally inadequate. i rang reception and someone came round he went away to find a solution. We decided between us if he brought 2 single quilts we would manage. They did this and it was solved !!!
Everyone we encountered staff wise offered a very friendly and helpful service.
We did not eat there as we were attending a family do. We did have breakfast and it was good buffet style and again friendly service.
There is a spa that we did not use and there are lovely grounds around the hotel.
Drinks are very expensive and I know from attending other functions here in the past that you will be in for an expensive night if you like a drink.
The ribble valley, Accrington, Blackburn (though why you would want to go there) are all on the doorstep as is the m65.
Rishton its self has 3 to 4 pubs Indian and french restaurant.
All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our room 55 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing feedback. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
240 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range: £55 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton-Le-Moors, Lancashire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing