We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Maple Lodge(Clayton-le-Moors)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sparth House Hotel(Clayton-le-Moors)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sefton Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,591)
Filter reviews
1,591 results
Traveller rating
498
495
317
156
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
495
317
156
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomthe main hotelthermal suiteprivilege roomleisure facilitiescourtyard roomevening mealfollowing morningmy partnerwedding venuebar pricesenjoyable staytwo night stayfood was lovelycouldn't faultlast weekendgood nights sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
910 - 915 of 1,591 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The staff at this hotel really are brilliant ! From Andrew at reception to Edwena and Donna on the restaurant and sara on the bar all of them went far beyond expectations ! Andrew and Krishna in the restaurant were also exceptional and Made our stay more enjoyable ! The hotel needs a fair bit of TLC and a little love! The pool and spa were also very nice But again need a little TLC ! Once again the staff made our long stay special not the quality of hotel !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thanks for the feedback. I will share it with the team. I hope the hotel will meet with expectations should you return
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights 13/14th June. The first night in room 41. The hot water pipes that supply the other rooms with hot water run through this room and are hot all day and night and you can not turn them off.. so as the weather was warm too this room was far to hot. After a very uncomfortable first night I asked to be moved and the staff did there best to find another room for me.

Room Tip: Room 41 very warm
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobcat795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It is pleasing to hear that the staff were able to resolve your issue once the problem was brought to their attention. Our maintenance engineer was asked to look at the problem with the pipes. This should not have been a problem on the day you stayed. We have looked at the issue and now resolved. Thank you for raising it. I am pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My original review read as follows -
"The rooms are lovely and the staff are really helpful. The food is nice, maybe a little pricey, but the menu is quite limited and hasn't changed since my last visit. The breakfast buffet does have a good selection. Car parking can be a little tight if there is a large function on at the same time."

Dunkenhalgh staff responded to this post and mentioned that the menu was being updated during our stay and that this update was a little later than originally planned. We did try the new menu and my comments about price and the limitations still stand. If you are staying for more than 1 night then my recommendation would be for you not to prebook the evening meals in the restaurant. Ok to eat in for 1 night, but not worth paying for more.

Room Tip: Although the hotel is close to the M65 there is very little traffic noise. The executive rooms are further away from the function rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest
I am sorry to hear that the menu does not fully meet with your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated. There are a number of menu options available. Those on a dinner inclusive package can either eat off our seasonal menu or receive an allowance from the main menu. We are able to adapt to any special requests and diets, and if there is something that you want in particular, our kitchen team are able to react to and satisfy guest demands.

I will share your comments with our team that devise the menu concepts

Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Recently organised a surprise for my sisters birthday with the overnight spa package for 4 and spa day for 9 of her friends. We had an excellent time, staff very helpful and accommodating, great facilities and delicious 3 course evening meal. Would highly recommend and would return without question. An excellent, relaxing day/evening/morning had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xNatkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I was delighted to hear that your stay met with expectations. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

No wifi in standard rooms. Room 48 hot & stuffy, no air con & small windows. Door handle fell off too. Staff good, very helpful. Good breakfast, lots of choice. Hotel looks in need of a bit of TLC in places.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I will follow up your comments with our team and make imrovements where necessary. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews