We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Oswaldtwistle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We visited last weekend (09.10.2014) as a last night away to relax before my boyfriend leaves to go abroad for a couple of months! The guy on reception (Andrew?) couldn't do anything more to make sure everything was okay for us we had emailed to request a courtyard room but unfortunately were already booked up, he put us in a room in the main hotel which had character! The room was really big compared to previous visit, and the bed was the comfiest i've ever slept in - best nights sleep ever! We went down for breakfast at about 9:30am there was still plenty of food and were constantly refilling the sections the food was brilliant! We aren't disappointed and will be back :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LishaLibberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    443
    279
    140
    105
See reviews for
276
440
49
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Went to the Dunkenhalgh for a spa weekend, as we had been before to weddings etc, we thought this would be the perfect relaxing weekend.

Check in is at 2pm, got there 12.30 as we had been told that there maybe availability to check in early and they said we we could use the spa from 9am so we thought why not. When we got there they couldn't check in as apparently there were late check outs - told to come back at 2pm. Decided to have lunch in the bar area, gave our order in - was a nice lunch and then when tried to pay found that there was no one in the bar area to do this. We waited for ages until someone who worked there came in. Went back to the reception and it was mayhem, had to wait around until other people had been checked in. when we eventually got seen by (i think her name was Amy) reception we told them that we had massages booked for 2.30 and as it was now 2.15 and we still hadn't got our room could we reschedule? To be fair she has a loud voice anyway (maybe not best for reception). Its like she was shouting at us. Turns out we couldn't get another time that suited us so we had to have that slot. So as we were walking to our room with the manager, we complained about Amy - he said he would give us free drinks vouchers and would leave them at the spa reception which he did and was very nice of him to do that.

Our hotel room was big, but it was very tired and dated. The carpet looked worn in places and had been well used. The dressing table draws were warped and you couldn't even close them. The toilet seat had been fixed on in a piculiar way - it didn't move but was not straight either. It was a triple room so there were 2 single beds joined together and a single one next to it - I slept like a log!

We went to the spa for our massages and got shown the facilities. We were given a robe, towel and slippers. When i eventually put mine on i it was torn. When i later requested a new one i was told that i would have to come back and get one the next day. Good job i had brought adequate clothing to the spa with me! If you are in a wheelchair i wouldn't even bother going to the spa as its all steps inside. You can go round the outside to the spa reception and then on to the swimming pool but what is the point especially if it rains. My mum is disabled and uses a stick to walk with, when we eventually got to the pool there were no chairs available for her to sit on - there weren't many anyway near the pool, I think it was about 7 or 8 and they were all occupied with towels (Think people thought it was like Spain) The only way she could get to sit down near the pool was if she went into the water and sat in the jacuzzi or ventured into another of the rooms like the sauna etc. Swimming pool was nice and relaxing and the water was really warm.

Dinner was very nice except for the chef sending me burnt onion rings twice. Got some more free drinks. Staff were lovely as well.

O my god i ate a mountain at breakfast. Could have burst if i hadn't stopped eating. Food was lovely. Service was a bit slow though.

The main part of the hotel is very posh and modern in some places and then you go to our room which wasn't and after you had been in there for a while you did start noticing things that needed fixing

We did the revival weekend which was i think £99 pp. very good value for money as room,dinner, breakfast 1 free treatment and use of spa are all included in price. Well worth it i think other than the bad bits we experienced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I will share your thoughts with our team and look to improve where necessary. I was pleased to hear that there were a lot of positive aspects of your stay. I am sorry that there were a couple of problems experienced, but hope this did not detract from your overall enjoyment.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I love this hotel and its staff.

I stayed there for my wedding in July, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean and have everything you need for an overnight stay. The pool and spa area are superb and are a great way to unwind after a hard day or night. The breakfast is better than those in a higher graded properties.
All in all the property is set in beautiful grounds and the building itself resembles a castle.
If you are ever thinking of getting married this venue is excellent I just like to say many thanks to Emma and Anita who made my stay and day the very best possible . Thank you x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetwind1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. I was delighted to hear that all went well with your wedding celebrations. I will share your comments with the team. I hope that you will return in the future.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

From the moment we checked in and were greeted by the lovely Sarah Jefferson at reception we had a thoroughly fantastic stay. Our room was in the courtyard which was beautiful, the food we had in the restaurant in the evening was delicious. The spa facilities were great the staff again were lovely in particular Nikki on reception and we each had two treatments which were wonderful, so relaxing. We enjoyed it so much we have already booked to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. Your comments are very much appreciated. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel is lovely and clean, food and drink is a little expensive although was very nice. On arrival our room wasn't ready and was offered a free drink in the bar as compensation. Only had to wait 20 minutes and retrieved our case back from the store room and shown to an executive suite room. The whole room was well sized and functional. Bed was lovely fresh and very comfortable, the towels are huge! The view was fantastic looking out over fields (room 511) wifi worked throughout the building. All of the staff had a note that we had gone to celebrate our anniversary and congratulated us, including glass of sparkling something! Breakfast was very good and although we didnt like the table choice we had been first given, it was no issue to ask and moved to a different one (first table was close to an open door and was cold). In the restaurant we enjoyed a starter and main, with a bottle of wine and the bill was £97. Although expensive it was lush and enjoyed the lot! Two weddings on a Friday night and another one Saturday did mean that the hotel its self was fully booked and extremely busy, but all of the staff didnt rush you and gave us the time and attention you needed. Thank you Dunkenhalgh, we will be back.. If I was to suggest improving anything it would be to have soft close room doors rather than toilet seats! Lol, been awoken by most people going for breakfast along the corridors when their room doors walloped shut! Friday 08/08/14.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel itself was good. Welcoming reception, room more than adequate, and breakfast was filing. Bar prices for draught products are about 30% above pub prices which for a hotel is acceptable. However single 25ml of vodka at £3.90 (approx. double pub prices) I thought was a rip-off.

If the occasion arose I would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are appreciated. We are constantly reviewing both our quality of service and the value for money offered. I will bear your comments in mind when we next look at the bar tariff. I am pleased that you would return to the hotel in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend of the 26th July. The room itself was very nice but the furthest it could be from the actual hotel (it was in with the business suites in a new bit of the building). Friends who were also staying here but had booked up much later had a room in the house, although this was apparently a very hot room.

The biggest problem was the number of events being held throughout the weekend. It felt that we were always traipsing through someone else's party, which was quite embarrassing (these events are held in the middle of the hotel and the only way of avoiding them is to go around the outside of the building which I don't think is acceptable for the amount of money we were paying (I am sure that these functions bring in money too but it is not good to feel like a second class citizen in a hotel that cost you £250 for the weekend).

The worst part though was that on Saturday night a wedding went on to 1am and on Sunday some record company/music thing went on to 2am! The bass and general noise from these events could easily be heard in the rooms making it difficult to sleep. Considering I had a long drive both to and from the hotel to get home, this was not what I really needed. This was not the relaxing get away that you expect from a spa hotel. Overall I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I was disappointed to hear that you had not fully enjoyed your stay. The hotel is a busy hotel with events and conferences going on througout the week. The Spa facilities are away from the main function areas. Your room should have been allocated a little bit closer to the Spa to avoid the functions that were taking place. I am sorry that you were not fully able to relax during your stay.
If you would like to discuss in further detail, please contact me personally at the hotel
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clayton-le-Moors hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.6 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton-Le-Moors, Lancashire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing