We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
England
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 29 November 2008

Country-style hotel but located very close to a motorway junction so easy to get to. There is lots of parking but it gets busy when there is a conference on. Rooms are OK but nothing special - good 3 star rather than 4 star. Breakfast is expensive so check before you book. A 25 minute walk to the Accrington Stanley football ground if you're interested.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — cost of breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    458
    292
    145
    113
See reviews for
286
461
52
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

lovely from outside and grounds look nice! Problem is the rooms,....very dated and need serious investment! Just cold, old fashioned and in desperate need of refurbishment!! Shame really as it could be so nice!

  • Liked — easy motorway access
  • Disliked — room was terrible cold and bathroom awful!!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IJW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I think this is the first time in all my years of putting hotel reviews on Tripadvisor that I've ever given just a 1/5.

It clearly depends on whether you get to stay in the rambling and damp 'original' building, or in the newer annexe. I was in the 'original' building.

My room was in the roof space, judging by the irregular corridor shapes and tiny door to the room, reached by navigating a maze of old corridors with damp patches and up and down stairs, with heavy bags and no lift, this was no easy task.

Once in the room, it had the feel of a cheap Blackpool B&B (to quote a previous review on this site), old worn out furniture, badly stained headboard, dusty and dirty. I think you get the picture. Hence the reason for my title about having to go back outside the hotel to read the classification 'stars'.

Nice bar/restaurant. Pleasant and helpful staff.

Overall quality though was a big dissapointment.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Poor quality
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clayton-le-Moors hotels

kent, England
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Not a Hotel to arrive at if your tired or hungry. Long drawn out check in, I lost count of the times i had to give them my credit card for a one night stay. No dinner available as we arrived at 9.15 although plenty of tables. Managed to get bar snack took forever and was cold. Room had a hole in the wall and the bed was like concrete.Had to leave early so had breakfast in room, I was told to tick everything from the coninental breakfast,I couldnt have hot food at 7.30 on sunday morning... when it arrived all they had given me was two soggy slices of toast and a mini Babybel!!! I guess nobody from the hotel had ever seen a continental breakfast. Checked out had to show credit card again!!! Just could not be bothered to complain I was losing the will to live at this stage. Awful...

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The concrete bed
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank horsearound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

This is a lovely hotel, in a not very salubrious area, so you will likely want to stay within its environs. The hotel, rooms and all facilities were first class, and the vast majority of staff could not do enough for us- they were lovely. However, it only takes one bad apple as they say, and first impressions do count, so pray you don't encounter the receptionist we encountered on arrival. First, we had the temerity to arrive before official check in time- we had had a five hour journey, so it was difficult to arrive exactly on time(.".sigh.....well the rooms aren't ready etc etc" )We went to the bar for lunch and returned later. Same receptionist ("You'll have to pay for the room now" )Had been told we'd already paid on booking("No you haven;t") OK, we'll check that later- here's my debit card(we don't allow credit facilities with a debit card) What does that mean("It means I;ll have to restrict your account and you'll have to pay cash for anything you use or purchase in the hotel)" I don't think so- my cash is usually good enough for hotels considerably better than this- exactly how difficult can you make it for your customers- we could go elsewhere, particularly as you say we haven't paid. (."..sigh...we will want a credit card") Well, you can't have one- its a debit card or nothing, and I expect to be able to charge items against it or we won't be staying.(."..sigh.......oh very well"-said with VERY bad grace) This gave a most unfortunate start to a stay that would otherwise have been most pleasant. Fortunately ALL the other staff, without exception were lovely.
MORAL FOR MANAGEMENT- for a four star hotel, don't employ two star staff.

  • Liked — Spa and room comfort
  • Disliked — The first receptionist- might mean we don't re-book on our next trip to the area-we are regular visitors
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sisgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Its a long time since I stayed in a UK hotel, but I have to say I found this quite good. I assume as its French owned that the staff are better trained, as they where very helpful and polite.
Rooms are good, food is good, gym etc is OK to Good, grounds are nice.
No complaints.

  • Liked — Most of it, in fact perhaps all of it.
  • Disliked — Very little, not woth mentioning.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Earby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2008

I stayed at the Dunkenhalgh at the end of July for a work diiner.

I was over 1 hour late arriving at the Hotel, sue to be being delayed at Wigan Train Station for over 45 Minutes.

'When I arrived at the Hotel I was told I wasn't booked in! But this was quickly resovled & a room was found for me.

Check In was quick & easy. No problems there, except I wasn't offered luggage assistance, & I was a lone female traveller who was running late! Would of been nice to be showed to my room.

I was told at Check In that the Drinks Reception started at 6.30PM & I arrived at 6.10PM!!! They didn't offer to warn the group I was with that I was running late and I would down once I had showered & changed! Luckly I made it down in time!

When I checked in, I was told about how the lights worked, but the fob on my keys wasn't large enough. So the lights stayed on, itf I stood the held the fob in place! Not very practical!!!

Dinner its self was lovely. I don't eat fish & the starter was Crab, the Hotel were very accomadtiong & changed my starter to a Melon Salad. This was very nice, just what I needed after a hard day working & travelling in the heat!

After Dinner, before heading back to mt room, I spoke to Recepption about my lights & they got me a bigger fob, which did stay in place.

After I had got back to my room, I discovered there was no Room-Service Breakfast Card. So, I had to walk all the way back down to Reception to get one, as there was no obvious way of ringing Reception!

Breakfast was lovely, if delivered a little early. Asked for between 8.30AM & 8.45AM. Arrived at 8.25. Luckly I was awake!

Check Out was very quick & simple. Reception even managed to ring the taxi company & they got them to come earlier than booked for.

All in all, a good stay & would definately stay there again, when not on business & can make use of the Spa & the gorunds. It must be a lovely Wedding venue, shame I live 3 1/2hrs away...by train!!!

  • Liked — The Dinner & where we had our Drinks Reception
  • Disliked — The Lights not working, no Luggage Assistance & no Room Service Breakfast card
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
230 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.4 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
3.6 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton-Le-Moors, Lancashire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing