We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights over BH weekend, our initial impression of the hotel was not so good as we were given a single room to get ready which was dated, dark and the head board stained! The outlook was very poor onto rubbish. Thankfully, Just as we were about to get changed reception rang to say our room was ready. Our room was lovely, in the main staff were helpful and friendly, the spa very relaxing and a real treat with a variety of hot and cold experiences!
There were a number of weddings over the weekend but we were not disturbed at all and service remained good.

Room Tip: If you can avoid a single room and book in the executive wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. Your comments are appreciated. You were given a single room as a dressing room due to early arrival. I am pleased that when we did get you to your allocated room, you were fully satisfied with your experience
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have just returned from this Hotel, after a 4 night stay. We were very satisfied with every aspect of the Hotel.
The food was good, with a good choice every evening & presented nicely. There was wi fi freely available which was good & a full strength signal.
The Spa facilities were free to all guests. We did not use the pool or facilities, but looking around it was a very good layout.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. Your comments are appreciated and will serve as great encouragement to the team. I hope that you will return in the future.
KInd regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My daughter and I visited just to use the lesiure facillities, a little steep £20 each however we had a lovely afternoon, always relaxing and lovely pleasant staff. We stay over occasionally, rooms lovely and clean and the food is always very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jan9mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. Your commens are really appreciated. I hope your next visit will be a pleasant one
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A friend and I stayed here for 4 nights from 14-17th August as part of a coach holiday and cannot praise this hotel too highly. The staff made us welcome from the very start, were friendly, professional and definitely went the extra mile especially the receptionist who printed out the history of the hotel for us and allowed us into the Oak Room to take photos just before a meeting was due to take place!
Our room, which was in the courtyard annexe, was a little old-fashioned but beautifully clean, the beds and pillows made for the comfiest nights sleep ever, and the shower was hot with very powerful jets and easy to use (always a bonus!).
Because we were on a coach holiday our meals were taken in a separate room (which is often the case) but the food served was really high quality with 3 choices for each course and we were not made to feel like 2nd class citizens just because we were on a coach tour (which is also sometimes the case!).
The swimming pool was beautifully clean as were the changing areas etc and the water was wonderfully warm.
The one fly in the ointment was the lack of public lounges; there are only 2 chairs in the reception area and 4 in the main restaurant around a small table. This made it slightly less than comfortable when waiting for others of our party to arrive when going out on trips, especially as many were quite elderly with mobility problems. Other than that we would highly recommend this hotel and would return if in the area again.

Room Tip: An upstairs room in the courtyard area makes for a very quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for providing feedback. I hope that you will return again in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from Wednesday 13th to Friday 15th August. On arrival was greeted by Andrew on reception. He was very attentive and helpful in checking us in. He even gave us information on the history of the hotel. We were allocated room 112 on the ground floor which was brilliant for me given that I have knee problems. The room was very large and the bathroom was also of a large size. Queen size bed and sitting area with modern tv. Large size wardrobes with ironing facilities. Food in the restaurant was exceptional. Well worth the price. We ate there the first night and had 3 courses and a bottle of rose wine. The bill came to just over £80. Breakfasts was also of a very high standard with local produce. I was disappointed that on the first morning the black pudding ran out and was not available on the second due to the delivery being delayed! We ate in the bar area the second night and the food was also delicious. We took advantage of the pool and the spa. The facilities are very good and the small cafe there offered complimentary beverages following your swim or therapies. Few areas in need of upgrading in my opinion. 1) Better quality toilet rolls in bathrooms and more than 1 roll. 2) more than 1 packet of biscuits in complimentary refreshments tray in rooms. 3) hotel should consider replacing the old fashioned hairdryers in the dressing table draws. Apart from that we would definitely stay at this hotel and spa again. Thankyou for a lovely couple of days!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gillibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I will follow up your observations with the team and make improvements where possible. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had a fantastic day As soon as you enter you are greeted by the doorman and shown to reception. Then we had a porter show us the way to the venue suite which was just big enough for 50 people but doors open out on to a huge garden with a nice white spiral fire escape. The room we had the wedding breakfast in was fairly big and well maintained and the staff were nice and friendly. And I have to say Great food Tomato and Basil soup for starters Chicken for main with seasonal veg and a chocolate cheese cake for desert that was just a touch too rich for me Coffee and tea came with mint chocolates and I have to say everyone's food was piping hot as was the plates and we were all severed in the space of 5 mins. All in all the venue was lovely. Garden settings for photos were well looked after. Our room was spacious and had a very comfortable bed. Two big arm chairs and table built in wardrobes and a dressing tabla. Bathroom very modern and clean . I don't think I can find any think negative to say about the Dunkenhalgh only excellent A big thank you to Anita and her team for the smooth running of the event (wedding) Apart from the drinks being over priced it was £4.95 for a single vodka and £4.10 a pint of Guinness apart from that a fantastic day

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. Your comments are appreciated.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We visited last weekend (09.10.2014) as a last night away to relax before my boyfriend leaves to go abroad for a couple of months! The guy on reception (Andrew?) couldn't do anything more to make sure everything was okay for us we had emailed to request a courtyard room but unfortunately were already booked up, he put us in a room in the main hotel which had character! The room was really big compared to previous visit, and the bed was the comfiest i've ever slept in - best nights sleep ever! We went down for breakfast at about 9:30am there was still plenty of food and were constantly refilling the sections the food was brilliant! We aren't disappointed and will be back :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LishaLibberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
1 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
267 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range: £53 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton-Le-Moors, Lancashire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing