We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Bunrley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel!”
Reviewed 15 July 2009

What a beautiful hotel! From when you drive up the driveway the hotel looks stunning-like a castle - our small son asked if we could sleep in the top of the castle!

On arrival at the hotel the reception staff were friendly and really made our children feel at home. We were directed to our room and a lovely old man, Robert I think he was called helped us to our room which was spacious with one double bed and 2 single beds, we had more than enough room for the four of us. We had dinner the first night at the hotel, which was lovely, the children asked if they could have something that actually wasnt on the menu and the restaurant and kitchen team were more than happy to accommodate them. Our meals were well presented and hot when they came out.

The following morning we had breakfast which was great and lots of choice. We spent most of the day in the leisure club and I prebooked a back massage which was so relaxing. It wasnt an issue for us as our children are only young but children are only allowed in the leisure club uptil 7.30pm which seems a bit early if you had teenagers.

I would definatly recommend the hotel and we have already booked to go back with some other family.!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    448
    283
    142
    108
See reviews for
277
445
49
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed at the Dunkenhalgh for a weekend break and all I can say is that we had a most excellent time. the staf were friendly and courtious, and the service was 4 star.
We had room 082, nicely decorated and had all the things you would expect for a hotel. A hairdryer that worked, tea/coffee facilites, and iron/ironing board which you don't normally expect in a room - you usually have to ask for them from reception.
Bar staff were great, coming round and serving us as soon as they saw our glasses were empty. Food in the restaurant was really tasty and the staff very helpful.
Overall a very clean friendly hotel. i would recommend staying here agan.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Ive just read a review by a guest who had poor service from reception. I might just say here i was looking to take my wife away for a night to show her where i stayed whilst working away for periods of last year. Our rooms were booked in advance and a company account set up , so on arrival we did'nt expect to be told that without producing a credit card we would,nt be allowed to stay. Hmmmmm, five burly engineers on an all expenses no limit budget and the receptionist was badgering us for a personal credit card !! They very nearly missed out on £2000 of custom that week and the subsequent three visits. That said, it was so good that we went back. Thing is,would i go back and pay with my own cash? Yes i would.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeccaDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

As a teenager most hotels are acceptable to me, however after finding 2 cockroaches in the room i was staying in, is clearly not acceptable. Poor management transfered me to a low quality room, with peeling wall paper, and an bad quality bathroom. Matters were made worse when I was cold as the window was left open by a member of staff. Luckily I was surrounded by friends and family at a wedding, but this hotel ruined the enjoyment somewhat.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femme_fetale123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clayton-le-Moors hotels

Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I stayed at the hotel for one of my cousin's wedding celebrations. The rooms were excellent, very clean and in general very well decorated. The restaurant the night before we attended the wedding was terrific and really hit the spot. The quality of the meat was particularly impressive.

The wedding itself was tremendous and the staff and venue could not be faulted. They really made our day extra specail

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Arrived to a very unwelcoming reception. We were given room 033 first, which is absolutely disgusting. Stunk of smoke, there were damp stains on the walls, the furniture looked like it had been retreived from a skip, the first ever electrical shower was installed in the bathroom, when flushing the toilet it sounded like a cruise liner was sounding its horn before leaving.

We complained to reception, and didnt get one apology. We were moved to room 103, which was nice, spacious and very clean. On preparing to leave the room for dinner, my better half was drying her hair when the hair dryer blew up. We told reception, again not a single apology, and 20mins later they brought a new hair dryer to the room.

As we intended on a cheap get away, we ate from the bar lounge, food was nice, but they have a stupid system in place, where you have to get up and go the bar everytime you want a drink, and show a idiotic white peice of paper with your signature on if you want to charge it to the room. Service is very "we are doing you a favour attitude" staff didnt seem interested in making you feel treated like you were a customer at a hotel. By the way a large glass of Rose is £6.85.

The pool and spa are very good, and the room we ended up in was nice, but the downer was the lack of customer service from the reception, and certain staff members in the bar lounge. It really put a downer on the whole break, as did the horrible first room. There was only one member of staff who was helpful. I did not catch his name, he is an older gentlemen with a white beard, he cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walshyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Stayed for a weekend with extended family. We are a couple with a young baby. On the first night we had to be moved from our room due to a cockroach. The highchair we were supplied with for our baby was filthy. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone especially those with babies.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B0b35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.6 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton-Le-Moors, Lancashire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing