We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Maple Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sparth House Hotel(Clayton-le-Moors)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sefton Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
144
56
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
56
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsselection of dvdsthe main housebusy roadb bfamily partythe leeds liverpool canallight sleeperroom was cleanfull english breakfastcar parkcomfortable staywarm welcomestayed here for one nightfantastic breakfastfour poster bedsmall hotelnext morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Well placed & nice homely service. Phil, the owner was very friendly & welcoming. The breakfast was excellent. We did think that the decor & room could do with a bit of updating. Otherwise, we found our stay to be very pleasant & we would most definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootnecksis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip L, Owner at The Maple Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your review. The Maple Lodge is an old building and we have tried not to make it too modern and devoid of character, the lodge building however is newer and more contempory. If you visit the old country again please request a room in the lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Maple Lodge as a friend was getting married at the nearby Mercure hotel (ten mins walk) as we didn't want to pay top rates to stay there we needed a base nearby hence the Maple Lodge.
The lodge has a car park, albeit down a very steep slope which is good as we didn't want to park on the road.
We were met by Phil the owner who was very friendly. Our room was large and spotlessly clean and the bathroom had the largest jacuzzi bath I have ever seen (£3 extra to use)
Breakfast was nice with a selection of cerals, fresh juice, chocolate brioche, cereal bars and then the choice of most of the main full english breakfast staples, it was served a bit early for me but I am never a morning person, if I was to make a suggestion I would ask that hash browns are added to the choice (nom nom)
The only thing we did find a chore was not being able to eat in our room, obviously this is to stop takeaways making a smell / mess but as we arrived quite late we ended up having to eat chips in the car, not ideal.
All in all a good solid choice for a b and b, and at £55 per night a decent alternative to the pricey hotel along the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have recently had an over-night stay at Maple Lodge and we couldn't have wished for a better - reasonably priced accommodation. Our room was very clean and comfortable, with free-view television if needed and tea/coffee-making facilities. Double-glazed to keep out the noise from the main road outside. Breakfast was delicious but could be a bit early if you have a late night the previous evening (07.30-08.30). Owner is very hospitable and has a knowledge of the area, which can be helpful. Ideal if you are passing through the area and need an overnight stay or spending a few days. Car parking facilities are around the back of the building. We stayed in the main building but it does have an annex if you need ground floor accommodation. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Lower floor accommodation available if you cannot climb stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and it was fab lovely friendly people. Nothing was to much trouble for them great breakfast and you can also eat in the evening highly recomended you will not be disapointed at all with the lodge or the main hotel. Secure parking tv and wifi and nice lounge with a bar home from home

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G7byg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Maple Lodge is on a busy road but there is parking around the back and the windows are double-glazed so the rooms are quiet. The hosts are very hospitable and welcoming, and the rooms are immaculately clean. The breakfast is generous and there is a general feeling of welcome about the place. I will definitely return - this is a good, clean, welcoming place to stay, where you feel as if you are with friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip L, Owner at The Maple Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews