We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely & Friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Maple Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Homely & Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst on business as i had a meeting next morning in the area. Area is a residential area with rows of terrace houses to the rear and front. Its very homely and friendly place. It's really an old house that has been converted into a small Hotel. Met by Robert who was very friendly and accommodating. Showed me to my en-suite room and explained details on breakfast etc. Room was reasonable size with a shower/toliet room. Although not very modern the furniture was adequate, bed comfy and the place was reasonably clean. Wi-fi signal was good and the Breakfast next morning was very good. There is a small car park at the rear. It's not the Ritz but perfectly acceptable and reasonable when travelling. Well done!

Room Tip: If traffic noise is an issue, ask for a room to the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmaghArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    50
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
45
28
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel in late October, first impressions were of a dated hotel but overall we booked it for a bed for the night as we were going to a party about 10 mins from where the hotel was,on a positive note very friendly people rooms could do with a bit of modernisation but overall it was a pleasant stay and the breakfast was second to none,no problems with any of the stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip L, Owner at The Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and are glad that overall you were satisfied. The main house is 300 years old and we have tried to keep character in it. The Lodge is decorated in a contempory style as it was only built a few years ago. If you would like one of these rooms on your next visit please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We Stayed for two nights as visiting family.
lovely place.
warm welcome.
room ok. and breakfast good. excellent value. will stay whenever visiting next time. Phil and Sandra excellent hosts and a good place to stay.
Would recommend as a nice place to stay

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beaumont142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip L, Owner at The Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review and its positve comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Well placed & nice homely service. Phil, the owner was very friendly & welcoming. The breakfast was excellent. We did think that the decor & room could do with a bit of updating. Otherwise, we found our stay to be very pleasant & we would most definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootnecksis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip L, Owner at The Maple Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review. The Maple Lodge is an old building and we have tried not to make it too modern and devoid of character, the lodge building however is newer and more contempory. If you visit the old country again please request a room in the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
214 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Maple Lodge as a friend was getting married at the nearby Mercure hotel (ten mins walk) as we didn't want to pay top rates to stay there we needed a base nearby hence the Maple Lodge.
The lodge has a car park, albeit down a very steep slope which is good as we didn't want to park on the road.
We were met by Phil the owner who was very friendly. Our room was large and spotlessly clean and the bathroom had the largest jacuzzi bath I have ever seen (£3 extra to use)
Breakfast was nice with a selection of cerals, fresh juice, chocolate brioche, cereal bars and then the choice of most of the main full english breakfast staples, it was served a bit early for me but I am never a morning person, if I was to make a suggestion I would ask that hash browns are added to the choice (nom nom)
The only thing we did find a chore was not being able to eat in our room, obviously this is to stop takeaways making a smell / mess but as we arrived quite late we ended up having to eat chips in the car, not ideal.
All in all a good solid choice for a b and b, and at £55 per night a decent alternative to the pricey hotel along the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have recently had an over-night stay at Maple Lodge and we couldn't have wished for a better - reasonably priced accommodation. Our room was very clean and comfortable, with free-view television if needed and tea/coffee-making facilities. Double-glazed to keep out the noise from the main road outside. Breakfast was delicious but could be a bit early if you have a late night the previous evening (07.30-08.30). Owner is very hospitable and has a knowledge of the area, which can be helpful. Ideal if you are passing through the area and need an overnight stay or spending a few days. Car parking facilities are around the back of the building. We stayed in the main building but it does have an annex if you need ground floor accommodation. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Lower floor accommodation available if you cannot climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and it was fab lovely friendly people. Nothing was to much trouble for them great breakfast and you can also eat in the evening highly recomended you will not be disapointed at all with the lodge or the main hotel. Secure parking tv and wifi and nice lounge with a bar home from home

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G7byg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Moors
0.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton-le-Moors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
3.7 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maple Lodge

Property: The Maple Lodge
Address: 70 Blackburn Road | Clayton-le-Moors, Clayton-le-Moors BB5 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Moors
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clayton-le-Moors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maple Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Q BOOK PARTNERS AND VAT registered.The 4* Guest House accommodation, friendly atmosphere and personal service will make your stay one to be remembered. We offer Bed and Breakfast services seven days a week. The house was built in the early 1700's and retains many of the original features. There are 8 en-suite bedrooms, a breakfast/dinning room, reception, and a wood panelled residents lounge with a licensed bar providing the perfect environment in which to relax after a busy day. At the rear of The Maple Lodge is our private car park with 24 hour cctv coverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hotel Clayton Le Moors
The Maple Lodge Clayton-Le-Moors, Lancashire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing