We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brook House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brook House Hotel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We needed somewhere fairly economical at short notice to stay a couple of nights while attending an event locally. Snag being we needed to bring our 2 small dogs. We struck gold!

As we were running late my wife called to see if they could offer any suggestions to eat locally as the kitchen would have closed by the time we arrived. No problem - let us know when you're nearly here and chef will knock something up for you! 2 very presentable main meals on arrival.

Room spacious, only downsides being a lingering tobacco smell in a non smoking room and a dated bathroom but for the money we aren't complaining!

Fantastic welcome and can't do enough to help. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rutland1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    23
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
30
16
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

What can I say about a place as friendly as Brook House? Ok so in places the paint need a touch up, but not in the places that really counts like to the friendliness of all the people there or their desire to get things right for the guests.

Very much a nothern honest value and service place, they welcome weary travellers and can send you to warm and clean bed with a full belly and glass of beer and you feel that you are amongst friends that really care.

I have used their function room during the day for large gatherings and they can put on a terrfic spread with home made pies and trifle.

You busines people should stop using national chains and save a bit of money and offer your teams something just a bit special. Keep it local and give either Pete or Claire a ring to see if they can meet your business needs. I do.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Big big thank you to Claire and all the team, for making my sons 21st a great night..Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were all very helpful.A few of the guests stayed over, our room was lovely ..spotlessly clean, lovely and warm, and my evening meal which they kindly provided was brought up to my room (at my request) and was delicious. Bar staff fantastic very attentive.
So we will recommend and if we have another family party we will be back !!! Thanks again you guys, You were brill !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilacstar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our family New Years Eve celebrations at The Brook House Hotel, we enjoyed a 4 course dinner, food and service excellent, staff very attentive, Our party of 6 was amongst a room of approx 80 people, we were all supplied with crackers, party hats and party poppers, so there was a great party atmosphere from start to finish, The party night started at 7.00 pm, we were seated and dinner served immediately, The D.J. introduced himself and started playing party songs approx halfway through dinner, the male vocalist did an hours spot of singing older type songs, he was an excellent singer and had a good rapport with the audience and young and old alike were joining in, then the D.J. took over and played songs till 1.0 am working his way through the decades from 60's till present day, the timing of countdown to midnight was spot on, we all enjoyed the party poppers. We thought this evening was excellent value for money at £37.50 per adult and £20 per child, we were delighted to be able to include our 9yr old son in our celebrations at this venue, we felt it was a safe environment for him, he felt comfortable and relaxed with all the people and staff. We had the added bonus of booking two family rooms including breakfast, the cost of these were very reasonable and although we are quite local and could have booked a taxi home, it just made the whole event that bit more special. We arrived at 4.00 pm and enjoyed getting ready/chilling/drinking in the hotel before everything started, breakfast was 9.30am and checkout 10.30am which was all fine for us. Would highly recommend and will definitely be visiting again very soon for one of thier renowned tribute nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stay here for the one night following our wedding (June 2012). Could not have been better. Many thanks to all staff, Claire, Pete etc, at the hotel who saw everything right in every way. Nothing too much trouble. A big thank you. Wish we could do it all again, we wouldn't change a thing. PS Fiver Friday to be highly recommended!! Ask Pete for his special recipe meals!! He can cook anything yum yum!! C & K, see you soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

I had a really pleasant stay the staff were really friendly and could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable.Food was very good . My room was comfortable and spotlessly clean.I would definitly stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 18 which was a very large room very quiet.Lovely comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie_clarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

i have stayed here on many occasions the rooms are dated but very clean and of an excellent size the staff are most helpful the food is very good the functions that we have attended have all been as good and better than some other establishments that have cost a great deal more and i would not hesitate to recommend the brook house to any one

Room Tip: if you smoke ask for a smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Woods
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Preston South (Craven Drive) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
2.0 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House Hotel

Property: Brook House Hotel
Address: 662 Preston Road, Clayton-le-Woods PR6 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Woods
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clayton-le-Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Brook House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook House Hotel Clayton-Le-Woods, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing