We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Brook House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brook House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have visited the brook house hotel this year twice to attend party's. I find the staff to be pleasant, however that is all that's good about this place, the food is basic and not enough of it. The place itself is very dated especially the main function room. For a small party this place is fit for purpose if u are on a budget but defiantly nothing spectacular. The place is clean and is easy to find very close by to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed overnight to attend a wedding. I rang in advance to see if we could have an early check-in to get ready for the wedding - it was no problem (which was appreciated). Our room no.3 was a large room facing the front and the main road on the first floor (no lift). It was clean and adequate with a comfortable bed and pillows. The en-suite was modern with shower.
The breakfast consisted of a selection of cereals, cooked sausage, bacon, egg, a tomato and beans and a choice of white or brown toast with jams or marmalade. Pots of tea and/or coffee.
(I have had worse). The staff were all very pleasant and the car park was large and felt secure.
Costing £50 for the two of us - all in all it fitted the bill.

Room Tip: Number 3 was large on the first floor - but overlooked the front entrance, car park and main road. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WirralMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We booked on line and can only say how pleased we were with the welcome we received. £35.00 a night for 2 is great value for money.The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Evening meal was well presented and well cooked without a long wait for service! Serving staff were clean and smart and very helpful. Even though catering for a large evening "do" the service we received was good. Despite other reviewers complaining about the TV in the Bistro, we were actually asked what programme we'd like on whilst having a drink. Bedroom was clean and spacious. Lovely clean white bed linen and bed very comfortable - other reviewers could have turned room radiator down if too hot - not rocket science! Overall very pleasant stay and excellent value for money.
We'd requested a smoking room and got one. Despite allowing smoking the bedroom did not smell of stale smoke - bliss!

Room Tip: Ask politely and if it is at all possible the staff here will willingly help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to attend a family wedding. The room was filthy, smelly and it was extremely hot inside. The breakfast is a con...for £7.50 you get a salty value sausage, a tinned tomato, a spoon of beans, two salty fatty pieces of bacon, some toast, and a poorly cooked egg! Overall you can do much better locally and the staff seem to be more concerned about getting ready for the next wedding part than bothering to look after the guests that are already staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GPS_Baz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked this online for £35 - and its fair to say that we got what we paid for. Travelling through to Blackpool we wanted a cheap stop off not far from Blackpool itself - this ticked that box. We found it easily enough, on a main road which actually seemed quite quiet and very leafy. The car park is big - but as we pulled up about 7:30pm on a Friday night it was empty - not a good sign?!
Check in was straightforward and we stayed in room 15. It was spacious, clean and suitable for what we needed - a one night stay. The bathroom could of been scrubbed a bit harder but all in all it was acceptable. The TV was about the size of match box though which made watching anything very hard - also we didn't have BBC1 or 2 ?! But not to worry, it was only one evening.
Upon checking in the lady on the desk suggested we might dine in the Bistro in the Hotel itself as it was £5 a meal on special offer. It was late and we were hungry and a bit weary so we decided to take her up on this.
The Bistro itself is bright, airy and well decorated. The menu wasn't extensive but it was acceptable. The waitress was helpful but very abrupt - I think this was just her Northern way. When I asked what came with the chicken I got told 'chips' - nothing more than that. So we ordered Chilli Chicken and Fish n Chips. The meals were perfectly ok - they could however be improved with a bit of side salad or a few peas though.
What let the meal down was the ambience - it was like dining in a sports bar - Sky Sports was on showing a Friday night match and there were two blokes who seemed to know the waitress having their tea, a drink and generally putting their feet up and jeering along with the footy. Now we didn't mind that much, but I don't think this is the sort of atmosphere most people want when having an evening meal - perhaps that explains why it was so quiet?
We had a good nights sleep and a decent enough shower in the morning. We didn't opt for Breakfast and i'm glad we didn't - the Breakfast room looked very 1970s and I can't imagine it would of been all that enjoyable.
To sum it up, this is place that needs some tweaks - get rid of the blokes who want to watch tv from the restaurant, a good scrub, some better TVs and a little more charm from the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KittyandWol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

stayed here last night and wished I had gone home instead. Will use as few words as possible. Filthy toilets and mouldy taps as well as the toilet actually breaking. Mirror not close to plug socket making it impossible to see to dry my hair. Clanking plumbing pipes throughout night as well as an attractive lipstick stain covering the towels. Best thing of all was the shocking breakfast- Not told where to be seated when I came downstairs. Waitress shuffled out with hands in pockets and approached the table saying 'what ya want?'. No breakfast menu and she didn't tell us what was on offer until we actively asked. Glasses were unclean and looked unwashed from the previous night- had to ask for clean ones. Had to ask for coffee- basically offered nothing. When checking out, we brought our complaints to their attention and she replied there was nothing she could do, as she only worked there as a cleaner. AN ABOMINATION OF A SO CALLED HOTEL!!

Room Tip: ermmm, go to another place?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank foodfan295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

this is not the place to visit if you want a good nights sleep
the noise made by the plumbing would make a grown man weep
room 18 the toilet was broken, room 3 was offered instead
but there was no bath they were having a laugh
so room 15 was our third choice of bed.
as the bath GROWLED out water i just thought we ought to
pack up and leave whilst we could
then a noise came so chilling it sounded like drilling
as the tank pumped ou water like blood.
My smartphone was bigger than the telly which couldnt be seen from the bed
with no BBC on a didgi box for free i'll watch the laptop on wifi instead.
but no what a folly of thought, as the wifi would not reach our room
as we lay ther in vain to exhausted to complain AGAIN
id have been happier awake in a tomb

Room Tip: Go somwhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton-le-Woods
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Preston Chorley
Travelodge Preston Chorley
#1 of 2 in Clayton-le-Woods
215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
5.8 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
7.1 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook House Hotel

Address: 662 Preston Road, Clayton-le-Woods PR6 7EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton-le-Woods
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Clayton-le-Woods
Price Range: £39 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brook House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Brook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook House Hotel Clayton-Le-Woods, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing