We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wood End Farm
Nearby Hotels
Clerk Laithe Lodge(Newton-in-Bowland)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Pump Inn(Bashall Eaves)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Middle Flass Lodge(Bolton by Bowland)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calf's Head(Worston)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waddington Arms(Clitheroe)
US$84
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan & Royal(Clitheroe)(Great Value!)
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
21
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdunsop bridgemarmaladebase to explorehome madeshort drivepoached eggstrough of bowlandb and bfollowing morningcooked breakfastfull english breakfastcomfortable beddoreenbeamsforestensuitehosts
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We had business in nearby Clitheroe (9 miles as the Grouse flies) so elected to have a few days in Bowland. We picked this place from the Lancashire Guide and feel ourselves so lucky in the choice. From the initial phone call to the sad goodbye everythng was just as we had hoped.
We had the "Rose Room" overlooking the front Garden which was a dream. Window seat and two chairs for sitting in if we don't choose the shared Lounge after returing from our journies.
Everything worked well. Well we don't know about the TV as we never switched it on. Who needs a TV on holiday? The window was more entertaining.
Breakfasts? Well yes. Excellent in every way. After the first morning's splurge of nostalgia we reduced the intake to Poached Eggs on the last two mornings. Well turned out on lovely bread.
More fresh bread in good old Lancashire 'doorsteps' with homemade Marmalade or Curd to finish with.
The weather was not perfect but Doreen was all the sunshine we really needed. We are coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband and I have just got back from a weekend of cycling in the Forest of Bowland. We stayed at Wood End Farm which is situated on the right hand side after the bend, just as you come into Dunsop Bridge from the Newton-In-Bowland direction.

I couldn’t have asked for a better location or venue for an overnight stay. Our room was a double, ensuite, which overlooked the small garden and road at the front of the house. The house is a traditional farm house with lots of features you would expect from a building of this type – wooden ceiling beams, quaint little windows, a beautiful dressing table and mirror. There was a fab little window cushioned seat in our room that meant you could sit with a book and a cup of tea and listen to the birds and the trickling water feature in the garden below. Please note that this runs continuously so if you are a light sleeper you may want to either close the windows at night (not practical in summer) or take earplugs.

There is also a stair lift up to the bedrooms for those who may be less mobile.

We ordered porridge the night before ready for breakfast in the morning and I have to say it was some of the best I had ever tasted. Doreen cooked it slowly in the Aga overnight and so it was creamy and soft, a bit like rice pudding – amazing.

Breakfast started with half a grapefruit, followed by toast and homemade lemon curd and marmalade. Then the porridge. Then came the full cooked breakfast – perfect for a day tackling the fells of the Trough of Bowland.

There was plenty of parking and Doreen let us lock our bikes and bike rack in one of the farm buildings to keep is secure during the night.

We walked the 2.5 miles up the road to the Parkers Arms in Newton-In-Bowland for our evening meal on the Saturday and then walked it off afterwards. A torch is a must if you do this as there is no street lighting and a few cars, although not many. There are a couple of other well-known eateries in the area but all require a car to get there from Wood End Farm – not sure what it would be like for taxis out there as it is a bit out of the way.

We didn’t go into Dunsop Bridge village, which is just around the corner from Wood End farm but we did drive through on the way to Chipping on the Sunday and it looked delightful. Not much in the way of shops so bring with you anything you consider to be essential.

Doreen was a lovely hostess, chatty and happy to share her knowledge of the area. I don’t think this will be the last time we stay at Wood End Farm – loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R4chyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

If you are looking for a perfect place to say in this beautiful part of the country look no further than Wood End Farm at Dunsop Bridge www.visitwoodendfarm.co.uk. Doreen gives great and friendly service and she sets a high standard in all that she offers in her lovely farmhouse accommodation. The guest rooms are immaculate, very cosy with nice decor and the dining room is a lovely room to enjoy a superb traditional breakfast of the highest quality ingredients. Wood End Farm is ideally situated to explore the Trough of Bowland, Pendle and the surrounding Ribble Valley area. The Hark to Bounty pub at Slaidburn is only a short drive away and offers an excellent and good value Sunday lunch and other homemade food and high quality real ales. The Parkers Arms pub/restaurant in Newton-in-Bowland also offers high quality food at reasonable prices and high quality local beers. As well as Dunsop Bridge village, there are many picturesque villages in this area to visit such as Waddington, Whalley, Downham, Bolton-in-Bowland, Chipping and lots of nice walks. I also went to the fascinating Queen Street Mill Cotton Museum in Burnley which is ideal for a rainy day (or a fine weather day). I cant wait to come back to this area again for another short break and stay at Wood End Farm.

Room Tip: Stay at Wood End Farm!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAETANO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

My husband and I had an overnight at Wood End Farm whilst attending a wedding at a local pub/hotel. Doreen was an excellent hostess and she couldn't have done more for us. We were late back from the wedding in the evening and that wasn't a problem. The room had all the usual things and was immaculate. Doreen even gives fresh milk for the refreshment tray in the room - so much better than 'fake' milk. There was a great choice for breakfast and there was no set time, which was ideal given our late night the night before! I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

This has to be the most unique little B&B in the UK. Doreen is the perfect host and with home made bread and marmalade, fresh laid eggs for breakfast you are in for a treat. The twin and double rooms have traditional decor and beams and lots of character. Ensuite and tea/coffee making facilities. Car parking. But my no means least the breathtaking Ribble Valley on your doorstep. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McGaffigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews