We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Inn at the Station

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at the Station
Ranked #9 of 24 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Liverpool
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Cannot rate highly enough. I certainly liked Clitheroe but the accommodation at the Inn at the Station made it outstanding. From a very warm welcome on a cold day to being shown a superb and spotlessly clean and well furnished room all set this place up excellently. Breakfast from 8:30 to 9:30 was a bit early but certainly worth while - I love my cooked breakfast and the Inn's was a great addition to the higher charts of cooked breakies around the UK (abroad doesn't count - they never do Black Pudding ;-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John_Whelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    66
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
72
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Nice location Pleasant staff and looked like ideal place for weekend break. . lovely room but now I have to lie awake listening to music banging away in the bar . !
Ok so kids don't go to sleep till afterid midnight but some people do .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The best thing about the Inn is the staff...very friendly and helpful.
We were three couples, the two rooms at the front were large and airy, the third, at the side, much smaller but charged at the same rate. All the rooms were nicely refurbished and the beds comfortable, but the lighting was very gloomy, not just because various bulbs were missing!
Our room was freezing on arrival as the heating was off, and it took a long time to warm up.
During the night it was wet and windy, and the window frame rattled loudly so our sleep was disturbed.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and enjoyable.
I felt the hotel was overpriced compared with other local options.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Booked this at short notice. Getting the down-side out of the way, I rang on the day of arrival to say I'd not be arriving in Clitheroe until 10.15pm. Bearing in mind this is a pub, I assumed this would be of relatively little inconvenience. Problem is, that particular pub, not being on the normal 'drinking circuit' in the town, shuts at 9.30pm on Sunday and Monday !

Nonetheless, the manager was there to meet me at the appointed time and saw me to my room. Great nights sleep and excellent breakfast. For £50 you'd struggle to better it. I'd be pleased to stay there again, but with the pub as elegant as it is, I'll get there earlier next time to enjoy the ambience !
Great value

Room Tip: Be aware of the closing times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the newly refurbished Inn for a friend's wedding at the Tithe Barn at Brownsholme Hall. We wanted somewhere clean, simple and centrally located and the Inn ticked all those boxes for us.

We'd asked for a late check out (you know what weddings are like) and the lovely staff seemed almost apologetic they could only offer an hour extension - we were grateful for anything! As others have said the staff were all exceptionally nice, professional and willing to go the extra mile to ensure your stay is a happy one.

When we struggled to get into the carpark the staff immediately offered to move their cars - there was no need in the end but a nice gesture. The breakfast was very nice, good choices and although we overstayed the sitting no-one hassled us leave.

The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was clean if a little small - the extractor fan was a bit loud!

To be honest I'm splitting hairs as I would definitely recommend this hotel to people coming to Clitheroe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Even though our first trip to Inn at the Station was a mishap with lights being knocked out by telephone firm working outside, Oct 2012, we knew we would be back as rooms very clean and staff friendly and helpful, food was lovely. So we called to see family, so staid again over night on July 2013 at the hotel and again every thing was excellent. We got Edinburgh room witch we had a giggle about as we are from Scotland, hope to be back again in October this year when seeing our family who stay in Clitheroe. Jim and Meg Scotland.

Room Tip: Sorry did nt use these, fitness centre or swimming pool but everything else was excellent. Been in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretannemacmclea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for a wedding at The Inn at Whitewell and I'd highly recommend it. Beautiful building and room, delicious breakfast and an ideal location if you're arriving into Clitheroe on the train. I loved it. Like someone else on here has said, it was the staff who made it a 5 star place. Every one of them was just so lovely, made me feel a welcome and valued customer and really happy to help. Genuine friendliness really counts for everything!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
0.0 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clitheroe
212 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Shireburn Arms
The Shireburn Arms
#2 of 4 in Clitheroe
290 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fifty One and a Half Boutique B&B
3.0 mi away
The Red Pump Inn
The Red Pump Inn
#1 of 1 in Bashall Eaves
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Station

Property: Inn at the Station
Address: King Street, Clitheroe BB7 2EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Station 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Victorian building located in the centre of the lovely market town of Clitheroe. Now restored into a smart and stylish modern British Inn. We have seven lovely en-suite guest rooms located on our first and second floors. Individually furnished – we can accommodate families, couples and single guests – catering for business clients and tourists. We serve simple, fresh food in our bar/restaurant – all our meals are homemade, cooked fresh to order and many of our ingredients are sourced from local suppliers. We offer a Children’s menu with healthy, freshly made choices. Our bar is vibrant and well-stocked with a large choice of cask ales and international beers and lagers – awarded Cask Marque status. Our wines are well chosen and our freshly ground coffee is always available with a piece of cake! We have highchairs, baby change and disabled facilities and a small car park is available for our guests. Eat, Sleep, Drink and Meet – you will always be assured of a real warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn at the Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Station Hotel Clitheroe
Inn At The Station Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing