We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service”
Review of Maxwell's

Maxwell's
Ranked #43 of 136 Restaurants in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

So we entered the restaurant and it was fairly busy, not overly though.
We had a table for 4 and 1 child. We found a table and our drinks order was taken quickly. We then had to prompt staff to take our food order, and had to wait close to an age for our food.

Food looks and tastes great.. Just go really early and order food incase you feel like you may be hungry within the next 3 hours...

Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    94
    59
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good drinks”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very nice cocktails. Opening times stated the venue closed at 11pm, but bar stopped serving at 10pm and staff had their coats by 10:15pm rushing remaining customers out. But town was quiet so I suppose they just wanted to go home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graciedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here a couple of times now for lunch and have not been disappointed. The posh fish finger sandwich was yummy. Staff are friendly and pleasant and the atmosphere is welcoming.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have lunched at Maxwells every now and then since it opened. The place can't usually be faulted but at lunch today we were very disappointed.
It was a Saturday and busy but we had to wait 50 minutes for our 'light bites' of Louisiana chicken and Chicken wings. When we enquiried we were told that ours was next out, yet 2 tables were served with food before we enquiried again and the food arrived.
When we were then given the now obligatory 'is everything alright with your food' (before you have chance to taste it) I said that I was disappointed with the excessive delay and was told that this seems to happen every Saturday. We'll excuse me but wouldn't that be expected and if the delays are long then people should be warned before ordering.
Insult to injury - chicken wings were a bit over cooked! Wetherspoons do them better.
Luckily by rushing our food we just made it back to the pay and display before our time ran out. We'll need a two hour slot for a snack next time we visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kalamaki-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Lunch time treat”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just had lunch at Maxwells, I had booked the table because there was five of us, the table was ready when we arrived and it was quite busy for lunch time. the service was very good and the food was just as good I can certainly recommend the Steak Pudding chips and mushy peas.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dewhurst121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maxwell's also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Maxwell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing