We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy food excellent service”
Review of Duke of York

Duke of York
Ranked #31 of 135 Restaurants in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“yummy food excellent service”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Food and service excellent. Recommend to everyone. I had the pork belly with black pudding mash. Was delicious. My partner had the steak and was cooked to oerfection. Will definiteky be visiting again

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    51
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lancs
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Lovely small quiet country restaurant. Our table ordered from both the 3 course and the a la carte.The 3 course was excellent value for money. Both the cod and plaice with mussel broth divine. Ice creams scrumptious especially the salty caramel.Yum! I found the scallops and black pudding slightly dry this time if I was to be picky, I preferred it with apple but that's just a personal choice.Staff efficient and courteous.A couple of problems speedily dealt with and no quibbles.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lexy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Visited Duke of York tonight and had the best meal I've had in ages . All 3 courses were well cooked and beautifully presented . My friend had a different meal which she enjoyed just as much . Service was excellent - we were shown to our table, offered water with our meal and visited with each course to check everything was to our liking . The price isn't cheap but well worth it if you want an above average meal for a special occasion or just to treat yourself . Lovely warm, cosy atmosphere, good quality decor . We will definitely be going again.

Helpful?
Thank Jae55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Been a few times now, always find the food and service very good. This time for a birthday meal was another treat. Had both the set price menu and a la carte, with a bottle of malbec and soft drinks. Scollops and black pudding really good, soup of the day delightful. Fish mains was very tasty and light batter, the suet pudding always excellent, had a great evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have visited the Duke of York several times for both Sunday lunch and evening meals. Each time the food has been delicious and the staff are always friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this gastro pub and we will be returning again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank LauraE11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke of York also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Waddington, Clitheroe
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Duke of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing