We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food spoiled by poor atmosphere”
Review of The Black Bull - CLOSED

The Black Bull
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food spoiled by poor atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Food was excellent and resataurant service spot on. Visit marred by poor atmosphere when entering the bar. Not made welcome but this soon changed in restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    11
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty meals, long journey, quick service”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Having read the reviews on here, we were a bit worried about the meal but figured for £29 for three courses (Travelzoo deal) we couldn't expect too much. The trip there seemed very long and going along a dark country lane for ever with no lights anywhere, but we were very relieved to get there - thank goodness for Sat Nav! It is dated and needs a lick of paint, inside and out but it was warm, quite busy and fine. The meal was GORGEOUS! We had the flat mushroom and the mussels fir starters, no complaints. Immediately our plates were cleared, the main courses arrived - whoa! A bit too quickly, but you can't really complain about that, can you? We thought, God, we are going to be out of here in three quarters of an hour! Anyway, the meals (lamb and sea bass) were hot and tasty, and I couldn't eat all that lamb. The sweets were equally as good. The waitresses were keen, looking to clear your plates before you've finished, but very pleasant. The lady at the end of the bar was quiet, not speaking unless spoken to, not your welcoming host you expect and I am surprised she can't sit behind the bar or keep busy a bit more. We were out in about 50 minutes which was a surprise and we could have lingered over coffee but chose to get going on our hour's trip home. The drinks were quite expensive but I suppose they have to make their money somehow. Enjoyable but not encouraging us to go again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Went on a Travelzoo voucher. Travelled some way to visit this restaurant, and can only say it was well worth the journey. The food was excellent, the service spot on, the waitress very pleasant. There was only 3 couples whilst we were there, so little atmosphere. Could do with a little updating, however the food made up for that. We were glad the chef was in the bar when we left, so we were able to congratulate him on the standard of his food. Would visit again if we lived closer, or if in the area would book again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“unwelcoming”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Walked to village Gisburn from our lodge lovely sunny night stopped off for a drink at the local pub .The two guys serving behind the bar were more interested in there phones than serving customers .Very drab place not very welcoming and quite dirty .Would not go there again .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very tasty food in country pub, perfect location.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Took my partner for his birthday. It's a rare moment when I get my purse out, ha ha. Very pleased with the service. The waitress was very helpful. The food was brilliant. Compliments to the chef. Very good value for money. The only slight improvement I would make if anything is to possibly dim the lights which would ad to the ambience. Wish we lived in the village to go more often. Thank you :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Bull also viewed

 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Waddington, Clitheroe
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing