We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding venue”
Review of Whalley Abbey

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clitheroe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whalley Abbey
Ranked #6 of 23 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding venue”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We have just had our wedding here and it was absolutely amazing,the staff,the venue, the food all perfect.Every person commented on how friendly and relaxed everything felt which we believe was down to the way the staff run the place and take all your worries away to let you have a wonderful day.The food was amazing and served out to our 50 guest in super quick time and excellent large servings of every thing,brilliant. To sum the place up if you are considering any type of celebration speak to the staff and put your trust in them and you will have a amazing time,AMAZING !!!!!
thank you from Andrew and Charlotte

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank primastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    21
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
18
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My 11 year old daughter and I spent the weekend at Whalley Abbey for a friends wedding. The hotel is truly beautiful, the architecture of the building and the stain glass windows are stunning,it is well worth taking a look around the rooms to see all their wonderful features. The grounds and ruins are just breathtaking, take time to explore all the amazing quirky nooks and crannies.Our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean, with views of the beautiful grounds from every window. Breakfast was delicious with much of the food purchased locally.The staff were lovely, incredibly helpful and friendly, which made not only our stay so pleasurable, but ensured that my friends wedding was such a memorable occasion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This place is most definitely a hidden gem!!! The staff are all friendly and ever so helpful. The venue is amazing .
The bedrooms are gorgeous, clean, modern and so comfortable. Every detail in the rooms has been thought out including welcome pack which was lovely. They have not left anything out. Food was fresh and perfect. Wedding itself was amazing and went without any problems throughout. I really cannot fault the place in any way at all.
The grounds are well maintained and glorious to view. Very calming environment. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Taken there by our friends, we were not expecting such a lovely hidden gem. The receptionist was very helpful. we ate a picnic in the grounds and soaked in the atmosphere. The guide is very informative and allows you to have information on all of the ruins as you progress around the site. It has an evocative atmosphere.and one can imagine life as a monk there prior to the dissolution of the monasteries. well worth a visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Reynard999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Whalley Abbey is a charming place to stay. It is in a beautiful setting with splendid grounds.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good.
The staff are helpful and charming. Whalley has plenty of places to eat and is a 5 minute walk.
Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Tell the staff your particular needs when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L90MAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We held our daughters wedding at whalley abbey and it was a perfect day. The building itself was very impressive to ourselves and our guests. We could not of picked a better venue. The location was breath taking. The grounds were excellent for the photographer and the guests as they were able to take beautiful photographs. The building itself was stunning and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were very clean fresh and comfortable. All in all the abbey did us proud and we had a fantastic time. This venue will be one that my guests won't forget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised when we first saw the Abbey; it looks very grand and is in a beautiful setting. This contrasts starkly with the room we were given, which was very small, cheaply furnished with very tired decor. I had to ask for a bedside lamp as there was only one in the room, and there was no hairdryer. The shower cubicle was literally half the size of a standard shower, which unfortunately was necessary given the tiny size of the bathroom. The quality of the toiletries was poor and the towels were old and thin. The room was very hot but no fan was available. There were biscuits on the tea-making tray when we arrived but these weren't replenished, and the milk was sour. Because the Abbey is in a nice quiet setting we at least expected a good nights sleep, but in the early hours of the morning a number of people (apparently from the local nighclub) came racing around the car-park in their cars and then proceed to party in the grounds and I believe this was not an isolated occurrence. Fortunately the breakfast was of good quality, but this did little to soften the blow that we had paid £96 per night for a such low quality accommodation. Whalley itself is lovely and the area is worth visiting, but I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
projector, Manager at Whalley Abbey, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, we truly value the opinions of our visitors and apologise that we didnt meet your expectations on this occasion.
Due to the age, history and nature of the building we have a grade 1 listed building status which hinders our limits when it comes to decor however,we feel that our rooms offer a good standard of cleanliness and comfort which we provide at a very competitive rate as we are set in the heart of the Ribble Valley. We are sorry that you felt that the toiletires were of a poor standard , we endeavour to play our part in the caring for the envirnoment and therefore all of our toiletry baskets contain Eco friendly products of a high standard.
Again I can only apologise after the event for your comments about the towels being thin and worn as we replace them every 6 months and launder them on site - I will ensure that our housekeeping staff are aware of your comments and take any necessary action.
I can confirm that I am aware of the incident you mention with the cars entering the grounds, to my knowledge this was an isolated occasion and the police were informed.
Again I thank you for taking the time to express your point of view and I can assure you that I have noted your comments for consideration going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
1.1 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
1.7 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
4.9 mi away
The Red Pump Inn
The Red Pump Inn
#1 of 1 in Bashall Eaves
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalley Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalley Abbey

Property: Whalley Abbey
Address: Whalley Abbey | just off the A59, Clitheroe BB7 9SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalley Abbey 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Whalley Abbey Hotel Clitheroe
Whalley Abbey Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing