We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - shame about the noise”
Review of Swan & Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan & Royal
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clitheroe
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - shame about the noise”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Stayed on a Fri & Sat night. Room was great. Nice and big and all full size beds. Location excellent, right in the town centre. Breakfast was good and staff were very helpful and polite. Our room was directly above the bar and with the disco on it felt as if we were sat on the dancefloor. Incredibly loud booming through the floor til the early hours (1-2 am). Sat night had a party and again loud music til early in the morning. It would be ok if you are taking part in it all but unfortutely we weren't so would not recommend if you are after a good nights sleep unless you know the entertainment will be quiet. One other minor point is tv had low signal so had very few channels although I'm sure this could havebeen rectified had it been a real concern to us. Shame. Really nice place and people but the noise was just too much. Despite that, we would stay again if it was different circumstances and we were in the bar taking part in all the fun.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twelvepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    29
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
32
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stumbled on the Swan and Royal quite by chance and what a lucky find it was for us. It has been beautifully rebuilt and restored since a disastrous fire 18 months ago. It's so well done that it looks as if everything is the original building! We had a lovely big room and a delicious Lancashire breakfast. It is right in the centre of this delightful town and is very reasonably priced.

Hosts Carol and Terry are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. All in all, we'd highly recommend the Swan and Royal.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

I often stay in the area with business I believe that this is the best B&B i have stayed in around the Clitheroe/Whalley area. The B&B has recently reopened and the rooms have been tastefully restored and with impressive period features. Most B&B's I stay in have either tiny tv's or very old larger ones however the TV here was a brand new 32 inch flat screen.

Please note that this hotel is on the high street and therefore can be a little noisy in the morning although it didn't bother me. The rooms are also directly above the pub but as I stayed here during the week the pub was not that busy and there was no noise in my room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLACKPOOL, LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Just had a weekend at this wonderful hotel/pub set in the heart of the high street in Clitheroe. The staff are amazing and will do anything at all to help you. I booked this weekend break for my boyfriend and I and would have no hesitation to recommend it to anyone who wanted a fun weekend or a romantic get away. We had the four poster room which was immaculately clean. The bathroom is pristine, mini soaps and fresh white towels are provided, the sheets were crisp and white and on the whole there was nothing, not one thing that I could fault. Shampoo, conditioner and bubble bath are provided in the bathroom, the water was hot all day long, flat screen television, hospitality tray and beautiful views from the window of Clitheroe Castle. The breakfast was beautiful and we were allowed to have this in bed as we were rather worse for wear from our night out in Clitheroe. The food was freshly cooked and nothing out of a packet or frozen. Very impressive. We had a late checkout (1.30p.m.) at no extra cost which we welcomed. The hotel itself is a pub and has a disco on until 1.00 a..m for residents and non residents. If you are not into loud music until this time then I dont recommend it but if you are, then you will have a great time. To reiterate all the staff are amazing and will do anything to assist you to have a great stay. For £65.00 for the best room in the house, the wonderful breakfast, an immaculate room, all the facilities available around, you simply cannot go wrong. Honest !

Cheryl - Blackpool.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHERYL-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
0.1 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clitheroe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
4.6 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Station
Inn at the Station
#8 of 23 in Clitheroe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan & Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan & Royal

Property: Swan & Royal
Address: 26 Castle Street, Clitheroe BB7 2BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel reopened in September after a serious fire. The hotel is set in the centre of the historic market town of Clitheroe. The Swan & Royal a former coaching Inn dating back to the 1830's. In its early years as a hostelry, it boast guests both famous and some say infamous, in the local area and throughout the country. You can stay in rooms named after a selection of the most interesting of these people. During the day it is the ideal place to rest tired legs after walking round the market or the wide range of individual shops Clitheroe has to offer. At night it is a little more lively being in the centre of the town and it is also the centre of socialising. Weekends do get particularly lively with a disco till 1am of a Friday and Saturday evening. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swan & Royal Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing