We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swan & Royal
Nearby Hotels
US$147
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall(Langho)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$142
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sparth House Hotel(Clayton-le-Moors)
US$116
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eaves Hall(Clitheroe)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
43
33
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
33
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed herethe pubmushroom pot pieselection of beers and winesfriday and saturdaywould stay againsteaktown centrebreakfast was excellentgood nights sleeplovely mealgood sizecomfy bedterrydiscowhittlefrank
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked in for a Saturday night stay, to attend a wedding celebration nearby. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Good selection of real ales on the bar. The menu looked good, although I only had the breakfast. This was well presented, tasty and filling.
The room had en-suite, basic but cosy, with a free-view TV. The hotel is in desperate need of some TLC and redecoration.
Don't book in on a Saturday if you want an early night. They hold a disco in the bar and the loud music plays until 1am. Not conducive to sleep. However, if you like to boogie the night away, the DJ kept them up on the dance-floor.

Room Tip: All rooms are up at least on flight of stairs
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were also their that Thursday. The staff were helpful and friendly. A good pub atmosphere with a mixture of visitors and locals.
The food was good honest pub grub...my sizzling steak was tasty and cooked just how I like it and my husband was more than happy with his water buffalo.
Would we recommend....of course abd we already have.
We also had a groupon voucher and we're pleased that there wasn't any restrictions as to what you could choose like some places we have been.
All I will say to our fellow unhappy diner, tell somebody you are not happy whilst you are there give them a chance to rectify what you are not happy with don't slate people in the comfort of your own home... As for stating sickness...that's liable tut

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

we visited here last thursday evening on the group on voucher which stated the value of the 3 course meal would be just under £60 if i remember correctly.
we had duck spring rolls - were okay, not much filling but tasted alright.
garlic bread with cheese and chill - this was described on the menu as on french bread, i expected a couple of slices of french stick with garlic cheese and chilli on. we got the full baguette! suppose that is value for money but cant say ive seen this done before. but that was ok, abit bland but edible.
on to the mains, we both had the mixed grill. this was not good. half a black pudding, small piece of chicken, gammon, steak, onion rings, tomato, peas, chips (which were good home made chips, the best part of the meal probably), egg and two sausages. the meats werent very good but were edible, the sausages looked aneamic and you could tell they had just been dropped in the fryer, could have done with abit of colour on though. you did get plenty of food but i would never have paid the £14+ which they charge on the menu for this low quality meal.
After we had finished with our mains, it took about 20-25 minutes for the staff to come and clear our plates which was quite awhile.
we ordered desserts next, we ordered something called chocolate puddle pudding, and the tirimisu. to be hoenst apart from the chocolate pudding the other desserts looked the same on the menu with the faded pictures, all triangle shaped just different flavours..definatley frozen!
they arrived, neither were good. we ate what we could and left almost immediatley.
the lady who seemed to be running the place was lovely, she had two really young girls working with her who really could do with some training, although both were very polite.
i dont think we were the only table who were unimpressed as i saw other tables glances and pulling faces at different things. we left with full tummys but would never return. If this was the end of it, i would have given it a tripadvisor rating of 'not good',
but....
the worst was yet to come, upon arriving home over an hour later, one of us nearly passed out, and was very very ill through the night and some of the next day...we are pretty certain that it was something in this pub/restaurant that caused this as she had only previously eaten toast that day! This is the reason for the 'terrible' rating.
also, the website could do with being updated, as the menu online is not the same as the menu in the pub!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Robertop2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joytez, Owner at Swan & Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Re your review of our hotel. To get a review so scathing as this is very upsetting not only for us but for our staff also. We do all try to give a good service and basically look after all our customers whilst providing good home cooked food at a reasonable price. However I will try and address the issues in your review as best as I can.
Having studied the CCTV footage of your visit I cannot agree with with your recollection of the times you were kept waiting, but to refresh your memory and this is from the CCTV footage it went like this.
You booked your table for 5.30 but arrived a bit earlier which was not a problem.
5.40 you finished your starters ( you did eat all your starters even the garlic bread you are commenting about.)
5.44 The plates were cleared
5.53 the mains were served.
6.05 The waitress asked you if everything was OK with your meal to which you replied fine.
6.12 You finished your mains.
6.19 The supervisor asked if everything was OK with your meal to which once more you replied fine.
6.20 The plates were cleared ( this is 8 minutes after you finished your meal not 20-25 as you stated in your review)
6.29 The sweet orders were taken.
6.35 The sweets were served.
If you do not agree with these timings you are more than welcome to come and view the CCTV footage for yourself.
As for the food apart from the odd complaint ( which we always rectify) which everyone in this industry gets from time to time we only get compliments and the reviews we get for the food etc speak for themselves.
Regarding your comment about the other diners puilling their faces at various things, I have corresponded with as many as possible and and everyone seems more than happy with the food and service on the night.
Going on to your alleged illness, you have no proof what so ever that your alleged illness was a result of your visit to our establishment. Did you seel medical attention ? did you contact your local EHO ? somehow I rather doubt it.
As regarsd to our web site needing updating I do not see what this as to do with your review however if you consider the menu on the web site does not correspond with the one in the hotel then I suggest youy go to your local branch of spec savers.
I have also received a phone call from the lady who posted a review in our defence after she saw your review and she tells me that she received a private message of you through trip advisor in which you called her nasty names and informed her that she did not know what she was talking about. So shall we take it that you are to be the only person entitled to an opinion ?
Bur at the end of the day you were asked not once but twice if everyhing was Ok and twice you replied fine. If you was not satisfied instead of being a Key Board Warrior you should of informed us when asked and we would of endevoured to settle the matter to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is excellently placed in middle of the town with easy access to shops and castle.
There are plenty of interesting shops to visit.
Rooms are very nice and the food we had was extremely good, we started with prawn cocktail and then we had the steak and sizzling pork. Well cooked and good portion size.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Egypt1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I was not to sure when I booked this place for a meal but OMG it was lovely the staff were lovely and the food was perfect more than enough would go back tomorrow WELL DONE !!!!!! We was not rushed meal was lovely proper chips GREAT!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dbarnes0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews