We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last visit!”
Review of The Shireburn Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shireburn Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Having raved about the food and the place just after it had a revamp over a year ago i went again expecting good things but I was very disappointed. Went with friends who had never been before. Saturday evening with a wedding do in progress! Our friends had arrived before us and had sat at a table within the bar area. In fairness we were asked if we wanted to move to a huge table in a back room but decided to stay put as the other table and room seemed characterless. Big mistake! The noise from the wedding was tremendous! The music was extremely loud (we had gone for what we thought would be a quiet meal). It didnt help that the two doors out of the wedding room were constantly opening and at at some stages being left open increasing the noise! Guests were in and out and seated in the bar area with some of them shouting and swearing! There is a bar within the function room ! There appeared to be only three toilets available for all the wedding and the rest of the pub and there appeared to be no check on these throughout the night. By 10.30pm they were in a terrible state! No toilet paper in any of them. People were then using the paper towels and these were all over the floor and the wash basins and the floors in the toilets were wet through. In the toilet i went in to there were lemons on the floor! I informed the young man behind the bar as to the state of them but surely someone should be monitoring these! And so to the food! I had soup which was lovely and I then had the plaice from the Specials board off the bone as did my husband. The plaice was fine but this was served with four new potatoes and just over a teaspoon of spinach. Very poor! Come on! My husband was still hungry and so was I ! Veg costs nothing in the overall scheme of things and this was a poor show.. ! I finished with a tea which came in a huge teapot and is obviously used for breakfasts.. No chocolate.. nothing!! Again no attention to detail!! The price of this meagre dish was £14.50! I note that Andrew who was I think the bar manager has returned to The Waddington Arms! Could this be why things have gone downhill! I would have difficulty recommending this place again now after our experience especially with so many other excellent restaurants within the area! We paid nearly £100 for his and would think twice about returning..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Kat868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

A few weeks ago on a Sunday evening nothing on offer on the home front food wise. So donned my Grey Armani suit and motored down to the Shireburn Arms reccomended by the Lancashire Evening post.The boy busy so dining on my own.Good job really no Burger on the menu.
Beautiful location and interior warm and welcoming.Wandered round for 5 minutes eventually i collared a Waiter who advised take any table that is free. I picked a spot next to the roaring log fire. Studied the specials blackboard and suitably impressed returned to my table.
Only six people dining so i expectd a quick service.
Well i waited and waited. 30 minutes later no sign of the waiter ,no sign of anyone.
Well a Horse needs to fed and watered and this old Nag was ravenous and dying for a pint.
So i saddled up and ventured for pastures new.
Pity really but service terrible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Wheretonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed 12/2/13 We were recommended to the Shireburn by my mum who had previously stayed with a walking group and could not praise the staff and food enough. We were upgraded to a suite for no extra charge as they were not busy. This was the Tolkien, Fourposter, great views and very warm. Shown to our room by very friendly guy. We were on DBB and bubbly package which was excellent value for money, anything we wanted off the menu. Food was imaginative and absolutely delicious. Great service. We ate in the bar by the fire which was lovely on a cold winters night, though we were given a choice of bar or restaurant. Breakfast again was great. Overall fab stay, this is a lovely country pub, imagine log fires, good company, great food wine and service. Also loved the wallpaper in the library! Can't wait to return

Room Tip: Room 17, fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

There's potential at The Shireburn that much is true, but the rooms need work. Much work and soon! Our bedroom had no central heating and the bathroom had no hot water! Heating was two freestanding electric heaters and the hot water never materialised. Our room was switched for the second night to a slightly more modern one, thankfully with heating and hot water, but with a blocked bath plug, three blown lightbulbs and a phone that refused to work! On the positive side the staff were truly wonderful, very helpful, and unfailingly polite and cheerful. We ate for two nights in the bar and the food was great. Tasty, inventive and plentiful we enjoyed good steaks and lamb, and two imaginative vegetarian options (mushroom lasagne and cauliflower cheese pie). Top marks for food and the staff, nil points for the rooms.

Room Tip: Definitely don't stay in Room 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevonVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed on on the BDB& B special on 2/01/2013 for my birthday. It was lovely night away in the Trough of Bowland. Very peaceful, relaxing place with stunning scenery despite the rain that day.
We had a suite (Ribchester) and whilst I understand the rooms are under refurbishment I was more than happy with our suite. It has a small seating area at the front seperated by a bathroom and then the bedroom area. Bathroom wasn't massive but more than ample for us and had bath with shower over. Nice toiletries.(Loo paper could be better but I'm being picky)
Bedroom was nice and quite a large area. Good wardrobes (strange smell in them though) and furniture and dressing table. Mattress and pilllows could again be better but may be being picky.
Good housekeeping tray but no glasses or water and could do with extra milk. No tissues in bedroom. The curtains kept the light out and we had a fantastic nights sleep and they had been kind enough to put an extra heater in the room in case we were cold.
Food and drink is amazing- we loved it and great value for such good produce. The inn is lovely downstairs and very comfortable. loved the restuarant/ function room area.
If the rooms look as good as downstairs when complete it will be fabulous.
We will be back as its such as lovely, friendly place too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winnki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

What a great hotel and even better customer service. There were 6 couples staying over for our annual Christmas get together and the location and choice couldn't have been better. The hotel is situated in the most idillic location with fantastic walks around and about. Having done the 5 miles walk we all returned to a roaring log fire and a few refreshements from the bar. Then back to our rooms, change and then back to the bar for a few pre dinner drinks. Then into the beautifully decorated function room for a lovely 3 course meal and a disco. The night couldn't have gone better. The only very slight critisism would be that the rooms were a little tired, however that is soon to be resolved as the hotel are doing a refurb on the rooms. Breakfast was lovely too. All in all, a perfect night away with staff that couldn't do enough for you. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle2236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed here for one night after a wedding at Mitton Hall. Lovely old world country pub in a fabulous position with beautiful views. For some reason we were given a family room (not so beautiful views !) although we have no family. They did only charge for a double room after we mentioned it. We had their full English breakfast which was very nice. However, I know we are living in times of austerity, but, half a mushroom and half a slice of black pudding is probably taking it to the extreme. Still, we did enjoy our stay and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyfluzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
4.4 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clitheroe
221 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
2.6 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
2.3 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shireburn Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shireburn Arms

Address: Whalley Road, Hurst Green, Clitheroe BB7 9QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
Price Range: £63 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shireburn Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Shireburn Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shireburn Arms Hotel Clitheroe
Shireburn Arms Clitheroe
The Shireburn Arms Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing