We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel majority of staff excellent let down by one stroppy front of house girl”
Review of The Shireburn Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shireburn Arms
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Attended a 50th
Lovely function room food ok
Staff all the way through lovely and friendly and nothing too much trouble
Unfortunately it all went wrong seconds before leaving
I wished to pay cash and the very friendly lady on reception presented us with a bill for over £216 includiding TWO nights b@b and lots of bar activity
We only stopped one night and there was no bar activity as i pay as you go with cash
I had noticed the day before people putting drinks on room accounts with no signing for or production of keys
The friendly and helpful lady apologised and went to get someone else
Enter Miss Mardy Stropp who, in fairness said take all the items off the bill but became agitated when the poor lady, clearly embarrassed admitted she didnt know how to do this
Mardy then took the cash and cameback ages latter and thrust a crumpled £5 note in my hand
I enquired about a receipt and was told she couldnt produce one
I stated given the fact that i was paying by cash and a bill for £216 v £95 was produced i would require something and a debate took place on the merits of a receipt
Afte much discussion Mardy said oh i will do you a receipt ! Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Mardy produced the same receipt with all ancilliary extras scrubbed outand paid written on but no name as to who Mardy is so i still have no reliable receipt
Refuse room 5 unless you desire looking out onto the delights of os a flat roof, extractor housing and a brick wall, still charged same price as countryside views though

Room Tip: Refuse room 5 unless you desire looking out onto the delights of os a flat roof, extractor housing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We held our wedding at the Shireburn Arms in March 2014. We had visited the Shireburn Arms previously and it is a wonderful charming coaching inn with fabulous views. The bar area is a relaxed place to drink and eat and the function room is a bright, airy, contemporary room with fab views and everything you could wish for in a function room. Our party occupied all the bedrooms, each being furnished to a high standard, clean and very comfortable.
The staff could not have been more helpful, particularly Nichola and Susanne. The food was amazing and delivered to all the wedding guests like clockwork.
All our guests commented on what an amazing venue and we could not have wished for anything better for our special day. Thank you Shireburn soooo much!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misty7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had Sunday lunch here this week, just me and my better half......very cosy place, lovely staff. The whole place was alive and very busy...we were told that they had a Christening party for 70 in a restaurant at the back and a birthday group in another area so were surprised they were as attentive as they were even though extremely busy. A good sense of humour from our waiter who was efficient and we didn't wait long for food to arrive. I had Goosnargh chicken breast with a Hunter's sauce, creamy mash and seasonal veg ( carrots, green beans, cauli ) glass white wine, my partner had a bowland pie with puff pastry crust, seasonal veg and chunky chips with a pint of lemonade with lime. We usually don't have a starter or dessert as we are full with a main course......reasonable price at £32 for the lot...can't complain at that eh? Good, no frills food in lovely surroundings and stunning countryside scenery. Yet another eatery worth a visit in Lancashire.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandieH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I visited to attend a three day course, set in one if the function rooms of the venue.

The setting was ideal for our small group and I would certainly recommend it to anyone in need of such a venue.

The room was a reasonable size and nicely set out. The bed was extremely comfortable, although the pillows were much to soft for my liking. The en suite included a bath with shower over and had been done out very nicely. The breakfast included was a good size and cooked to order, to a very high quality.

I ate at the venue on one evening. While a touch on the pricey side, it was in line with what I expected of this type of establishment and was very nice, both in presentation and taste. The cask ale was also extremely nice.

I found the service to be exceptional. All of the staff were friendly and could not do enough for you. Definitely top marks there!

Due to the nature of my stay, I unfortunately didn't get out to see any of the surroundings, although some of the views from the venue were quite stunning.

Altogether, a very nice venue in a beautiful setting, with good accommodation, great food and fantastic staff. Definitely to be recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SNL1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My partner and I stopper her for our wedding tasting. We picked dishes we liked the sound of and they where brought out to us accompanied with a selection of wines for us also to choose from. The food was fantastic. and the service top notch. After our meals we sat besides the log fire and talked to some of the other people staying there who all agreed that the place is fantastic. Our room was to a very high standard and the temperaturn of the room was perfect. We slept like logs. The breakfast in the morning, accompanied with the views was exceptional and I would highly recommend anybody to stop there or even pop in to sample their fine food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Can't fault the food since the arrival of the new chef, but the place still is not inviting when you go in.
It may have been sunny outside but cold inside.
Fires laid but would have benefited from being lit, which the friendly barman offered to do.
Also, get rid of the handwritten A board outside offering cheap accommodation. It detracts from the place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prisoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

It can be difficult to find quality accommodation that will cater for couples/families and their pet pooch. Well what a gem we found at the Shireburn. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and upon arrival we went for a long walk around the surrounding countryside which has lots of public footpath's clearly marked.

We returned for lite bite as we wanted to leave some room for our evening meal. We had a lovely sandwich each and the staff kindly brought out treats and a bowl of water for our dog.

Check in was very pleasant (thank you Nicola) and we were delighted to find a well appointed room with free standing bath, ensuite and a beautiful outlook across the fields at the rear of the property.

For dinner we could choose from either the standard or specials menu. The bar and waiting staff were nice and friendly. They advised us that a large party had just ordered and there may be a delay with our order. Whilst we were quite happy to wait we needn't have been too concerned as our food came reasonably quickly. We had a great three course meal and the quality of the food and portion sizes were just about right (after loosening belt anyway!). Breakfast the next morning was just as good and as check out was not until 12 we had time for another walk before we left.

We will definitely be returning and special praise in particular to Susanne, Nicola and all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable. See you soon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank prpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
4.4 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clitheroe
221 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
2.6 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
2.3 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shireburn Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shireburn Arms

Address: Whalley Road, Hurst Green, Clitheroe BB7 9QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
Price Range: £63 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shireburn Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Expedia so you can book your The Shireburn Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shireburn Arms Hotel Clitheroe
Shireburn Arms Clitheroe
The Shireburn Arms Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing