We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Posthouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence
Lancs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed for one night. Hotel and staff excellent. Our room was very clean, well furnished with lovely large bathroom. We were able to check in ahead of time which was very useful. Good free ttown centre parking. Hotel and room was warm and cosy. Breakfast was excellent with superb choice. Only drawback was the shower which was difficult and ineffective. Friends in another room had the same experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyaLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    56
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
44
90
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We chose this hotel to get away from our busy lives in Manchester and it's located in the heart of the Clitheroe town centre with it's quaint shops and open fronted restaurants. From walking through the door until we left our hosts couldn't do enough for the Mrs. and myself. The owners had great local knowledge of places for my better half to shop and helpful ideas to make our stay with them as full as possible taking in the local sights.

The hotel restaurant serves impeccable and varied cuisine to suit even the most choosy of pallets and the kitchen were happy to accommodate a hearty freshly cooked meal regardless of the time which I found incredible. (Oh and all their ingredients are locally sourced, I only know this as I made a point of complimenting their chef on his cooking ability and creativity... as well as to apologize for requesting food at a silly time) I've eaten at a fair few michelin star restaurants in my time and I have to confess, their dishes were something quite special, but like anything seeing is believing so check them out is my advice.

Room wise, ours was very clean, spacious and the bathroom had a freestanding bath which the the Mrs. swooned at. The bed was extremely comfy and we both had a great sleep each night we were there, so double bonus! (Downside to that is the Mrs. has ordered me to buy us a new mattress... so thanks!)

In summary, we'll definitely recommend the Old Post House to all our friends as the hotel and the area are literally a breath of fresh air. We'll be back :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We booked one of the family rooms, which was actually very nice. The staff, when we eventually managed to find someone,was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good and there was something to please everyone. However, the main reason for paying for a hotel room is to have somewhere to sleep...and sleep we did not. When there wasn't loud noise coming from the road ( entertainment that night included a very annoying and persistent drunk right outside shouting down his phone for what felt like hours, car horns, more drunks...), then our neighbours in the room above kept us awake. Very noisy floorboards, pipes and we could hear EVERYTHING they got up to in their room during the night. Earplugs would help, but don't like wearing them as I want to be able to hear if my kids wake up in the night. Probably still would stay here again though if we ever return to Clitheroe, but next time with earplugs!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwishiwascanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

we have just returned form a weekend break, and i can honestly say, we will be returning.

On arrival we were greeted by the manager (Ron) who was very welcoming, showed us to our room, and even carried our bags for us (a service we didn't even receive in a recent visit to a 5* hotel)

we visited the bar/lounge for a quick drink before going out to explore. The service and the chat with Ron was very pleasant. he made us feel like it was home from home.

later that evening, we decided to eat in the hotel restauran. The food and service (even whilst every table was occupied) was second to none. We had no complaints in that department.

The hotel room was decorated to an high standard with a very comfortable bed.

the breakfast both mornings was an absolute treat, with such a varied menu to choose from.

we have stayed in the area before but at a different hotel, and i can honestly say, we will always use this hotel whenever we are in the area.

Once again, thank you for making our stay a very enjoyable one, and look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieFromBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We only spent one night here and I am glad that is all we stayed!
On arrival the parking spaces were all occupied, however the owner (I think) who met us was very helpful in his guidance. He also carried our bags for us to the room on the top floor, before showing us around.
Our initial feelings were of disappointment as we payed £140 for the room, a room (and the hotel in general) which was very shabby, dated and mismatched in decor.
The room was very cold but we were pleased to see that there were electric fan heaters.... that is until we discovered that neither of them worked.
The room was generally clean, though I did find short, curly hairs on the pillow!!!
The final nail in the coffin for us, was the awful breakfast. One of us ordered the full English breakfast and was disappointed to receive one very poor quality, 'cheap' sausage, a teaspoon of beans, a tiny amount of rubbery scrambled egg, a greasy hash brown and a slice of bacon, The smoked bacon was actually quite nice I might add.
I ordered the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and was also disappointed with my tiny amount of rubbery scrambled egg topped with an equally tiny amount of poor quality smoked salmon served with one slice of cold white bread toast served separately on the toast rack.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

After many years of dining here we decided to carry on dining under new management
We booked christmas lunch which looked a great menu.
How wrong we were
Soup was like water. Main meal Salmon with piquant tomato sauce turned out to be chopped tinned tomatoes the Salmon was returned to kitchen because there was a sour taste it was replaced only to find it was not fully cooked. Turkey can only be described as being from a packet from supermarket . Vegetables seem like they were wRmed up from day before defiantly not fresh.
Christmas pudding was not home made. Coffee for 3 persons we received a cafeteria which only filled two & half cups
Service was very poor. Little response from management.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betws Garmon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Attending a family function, one could not help but make a comment or two regarding the quality of the Old Post House. There web site is fantastic, makes it look the very best hotel in the Ribble Valley. However in reality its not quick what its made out to be. Various things in our party, lack of hot water, poor service, rude management, need one go on. Perhaps its time for the management take a step back and have a long hard look at the business. I would suggest getting the "Hotel inspector" in. Tired, old fashioned, lack of customer service. For the price and the area, it wasn't any more than average. In need of some maintenance also, ill fitting windows and other odd things, didn't add to the character. My only comment about the breakfast is that one would have thought they would use local produce being set in the middle of the most beautiful area of the northwest, surrounded by farm shops and organic producers. The sausage was terrible, cheap supermarket brand no doubt. As for the tired worn out plumbing, well it must be prehistoric. I wont go on. But I wont be going back.

Room Tip: Yes Book Across the Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancs1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
4.6 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
230 reviews
5.0 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,063 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
5.8 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
760 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fifty One and a Half Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Posthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Posthouse Hotel

Property: The Old Posthouse Hotel
Address: 44-48 King Street, Clitheroe BB7 2EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Posthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Posthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Post Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing