We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Posthouse Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We saw this hotel online last year but it was fully booked on the dates we required...no wonder! What a smashing place this is, friendly check-in, great room, lovely clean bathroom, very central location but best of all was the breakfast...fresh local produce and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon was just delicious...very very impressed and would definitely recommend...we'll be back!! :-D

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gillmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We just had one night in Clitheroe after a very long flight. Old Post has a traditional facade but is modern and bright inside. Warm welcome, cosy, spacious room up a few flights of stairs and comfortable bedding. Perfect after hours of flying to reach Manchester. Restaurant downstairs shares with the bar - bright tablecloths, cosy. Breakfast is served in the same room. Plenty of choice including full cooked. Good value food and good service. We enjoyed our first night in England and recommend Old Post Hotel for value, service and friendliness. Clitheroe is a pretty village with castle ruins on the hill.

Room Tip: Had room on top floor (2nd), at back so no noise from street or bar. Bar was quiet the night we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Recently stayed at The Old Post House for our son's wedding, our whole family plus many relatives also stayed here. We all found Wayne and his staff to be very welcoming, polite and friendly.
The hotel itself is extremely comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean and all needs were met, hot drinks and biscuits available, iron/ironing board, extra bedding etc.
The food, including breakfast and evening meal, were excellent. There was an abundance of food to suit all tastes and we enjoy the fact that much of it is locally sourced.
We left feeling that we would happily make a return visit in the future. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

First impressions were not encouraging. After driving all day, never been to Clitheroe, we found the place but there's a double yellow line along the front of the hotel. That means no stopping. How are you supposed to check-in and unload? Anyway, we did stop and a local directed us to the hotel park at the back, down a narrow lane. Things picked up from there, except for some young female yelling at the top of her voice and swearing at her boyfriend at 2:00am as they walked down the back lane. Not the hotel's fault. As others have reported, breakfast and dinner are excellent and service is good. I was surprised that local berries were available so early in the season, delicious. And full marks for sourcing lots of fresh, local food. We enjoyed our two-night stay and judged that it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shandie354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stopped here many times while working over here and although it has changed ownership recently is still an oasis of comfort, good food and friendliness. I look forward to my next visit to this excellent hostelry!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Having lived in Clitheroe, I know the place quite well. But this was my first stay. It's privately run and is superb.... the meals are wholesome and great value and the breakfast is the best I've ever had (proper local ingredients). The wifi is free and perfect plus my room is very clean and comfortable. Even with nice little touches such as quality drink making facilities and nice toiletries.

It's bang in the centre of town next to the train station and buses.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank paulsmith6020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Having stayed recently in a number of budget hotel chains this independent traditional hotel was a refreshing change.Check in was functional rather than welcoming and our room was on the top floor.No assistance with baggage was offered.The manager was pleasant although he did not introduce himself but did accommodate my daughter at short notice.There is a small free car park behind the hotel which was a bonus.The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk across from the railway station and main shopping areas including the Market and Booths supermarket.The room was traditionally decorated and slightly dated with a tiny flat screen TV.Wifi was good and free.The hospitality tray contained ground coffee and a cafetiere and lovely Denby mugs.The bathroom was clean and bright with bath and over bath shower with adequate hot water.Quality toiletries were available.Breakfast was excellent , my daughter was particularly impressed by the fresh fruit bowls and local market condiments.The cooked breakfast was made to order with lightly scrambled eggs and tasty bacon.The coffee was weak.Check out time was early -10am but I was allowed to leave my car in the car park for the rest of the day.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank traveldoc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
4.4 mi away
The Shireburn Arms
The Shireburn Arms
#2 of 4 in Clitheroe
308 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
4.6 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
792 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
4.5 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Posthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Posthouse Hotel

Address: 44-48 King Street, Clitheroe BB7 2EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
Price Range: £95 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Posthouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Posthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Post Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing