We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Mangiamo

Mangiamo
Ranked #5 of 80 Restaurants in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

First time visit,we were in a large party booking and were a bit squashed but restaurant managed to sit us all together in what is really quite a small space. Food excellent value for money,plenty of choice on 9.95 menu. Large portions and once we were seated service quick. Wine menu overpriced but they have to make a profit somewhere! Will definitely go back,probably for one of the tribute nights.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljwea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    71
    40
    18
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great meal, friendly staff, good value.”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

There was an excellent range of food - we'd expected Italian but we also noticed some of our Greek favourites. I can thoroughly recommend the meatballs starter and the Mangiamo Pasta. The restaurant was an excellent find, after being unable to dine in our hotel, Astley Bank.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Violet006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASHIRE
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Visited on Friday before Christmas with 11 friends from work. Fabulous night - great entertainment - Neil Diamond tribute act. Great food, lots of choice (garlic bread is fantastic) and very efficient service. We have been here previously to a tribute night where the food was buffet style and was very mediocre. Well done Mangiamos!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LancashireTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“birthday”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

wife 41st birthday with friends,there was a elvis act on as well,very good night,resonable price night,would go again for a party night

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“busy night”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I went for the first time recently which in fairness was a busy night however a few issues to feedback,firstly no one greeting there about 25 people crammed into the bar entrance and we waited there for about 20 mins before being seated,a suggestion would be someone greeting to welcome guests and explain delay and keep customers informed,no one uttered a word and pretty much everyone commented on why they were waiting. When we were seated our taken promptly however a chap then appeared and put a garlic bread on table and disappeared my daughter took a slice (she is5) he then returned and dramatically put two more on the table and let him know we did not order any bread and he abruptly snapped why did we eat a slice and then went off in a strop! Starters came prawns/....tasted ok but presentation lacked care and detail. Main course fillet steak covered in a sauce that lacked care again ,would also question quality of fillet I normally buy from aldi for a fiver and this was know where as good.kids had pizza which was a big one cut in half it was soggy....not what I we would expect from an Italian....very lazy why can't make two individual ones and bake it properly. Puddings were best part waffles....ice cream.....spent £125 quid.....my suggestion focus on food it has to be the most important thing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beerbeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangiamo also viewed

 

Been to Mangiamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing