We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day”

The Crown and Thistle
Ranked #11 of 78 Restaurants in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mother's Day”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went here this evening for a Mother's Day meal, as we expected it was busy. We booked a table a week in advance and also double checked the booking, unfortunately there was some mix up and it took ten minutes to be seated. However, the waitress was extremely apologetic about this and it was all fine. We all had a 2 course Sunday deal, really reasonable price. We all opted to have a main and a dessert. After ordering our mains we waited over half an hour for our meals and grew rather impatient. We understand that it was busy but I think half an hour is pushing it a bit, and we didn't receive any apology when our meals eventually did come.

My folks both had the braised lamb and said it was delicious, fell beautifully off the bone. My brother had the beef with giant yorkshire pudding and all the trimmings - he loved it and even ate all of his veggies! I opted for the red snapper with thai noodles and oh my god, that fish was delicious. None of the portions were skimpy, more than enough for any hungry diner. We all had knickerbocker glory for dessert, the homemade icecream is delicious and we all felt like children again!

My parents have been once before for steak and have really enjoyed it. I would definitely go again. Great value for money. nice setting but the only thing that let it down was the service. The service was slow and we had 3 different members of waiting staff throughout the meal - sometimes it just feels smoother having one. Nevertheless, I will come back - just perhaps on a quieter day!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krystiekrystie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    72
    18
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Huge gammon steaks”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner on Saturday evening. The bar area is very rustic with wood burning fireplace. The food selection is typical pub food.
I opted for the gammon steak with fried egg. The gammon is huge with really thick cut chips which were excellent.
The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed and is suitable for children and couples alike.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf_miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, well cooked and plenty of it!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have been a couple of times recently having not been for about a year+ and the place looks really nice now with the new tables and décor. The food we had, on both occasions, was really good and there was more than enough for the hungriest diner. The staff were friendly and helpful. We will certainly be going again, especially for the meal deals they do each weekday including Saturday. I do have to agree that the prices are a bit high if you order from the Al a Carte menu, but the deals can't be faulted.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good but a bit Pricey”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Really good and friendly service, god food well made. We used a local voucher and because the prices are just a shade too much ( £7 for starter is too much ) we would come back but only with a discount or voucher .

Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, BUT Check your bill!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked for a party of eight and were seated straight away. Our order was taken in good time and the menu was quite varied with a good choice but it was quite expensive (£19.50 for mixed grill). Some of us had starters but no one had a sweet or coffee and we paid for all drinks at the bar. After a tasty meal, we ordered a taxi and it was only when the taxi was outside that we had to ask the land lady for the bill that had not been done. One of our party said check the bill as last time she came, she was charged for sweets she hadn't had and didn't realise until she got home. This was 12 months before. Low and behold there were 4 sweets on the bill that we hadn't had! We told the land lady and she instantly refunded the difference. Maybe just a coincidence, maybe not! Check your bill any way.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieF776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown and Thistle also viewed

 
Darwen, Lancashire
Darwen, Lancashire
 

Been to The Crown and Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing