We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bank Holiday Weekend Buffet”

Akash Indian Brasserie
Ranked #7 of 76 Restaurants in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Weekend Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Visited the Akash on Easter Sunday. Arrived just in time for the buffet, in fact by the time we were seated it was past the buffet end time, but we were still able to order it. The restaurant was as usual very busy, full in fact, and we had about a 15 minute wait. When the food came it was a starter of mixed kebab, three main dishes of a korma, balti and a bhuna, Bombay potatoes, 2 x pilau rice, chips and 2 naan breads, between four of us, and we were all full by the time it was polished off! We do visit the restaurant regularly and have never really had a bad meal there. Would recommend, and will visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    63
    17
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The service was very good and waiters showed interest. The food was delicious and very tasteful. You'll see me there again and I'd definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank D12GWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had to check it out - was not disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had a wonderful meal here on a wet Wednesday evening in March. The atmosphere was vibrant, but not too busy. The service was friendly and helpful, and food was well prepared and presented. This is a deceptively large place, and from its exterior, doesn't stand out from its local competitors, but I can certainly say from my visit that the food and service were very good. I was not disappointed!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lokie2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Curry House in Darwen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I've lived in Darwen for 8 years now and sampled nearly all of the many curry houses in this town. Recently I revisited Akash and started to realise that if is head a shoulders better than the others. Prices are good and comparable, buts it's the food that is knockout. Service is good too

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level Contributor
155 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Spur of the moment decision to go for curry on a busy Saturday night. Brief wait for a table but service like clockwork. As usual we ordered far too much but left overs all packed up for supper on Sunday.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akash Indian Brasserie also viewed

 
Darwen, Lancashire
Darwen, Lancashire
 

Been to Akash Indian Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing