We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Midsummer Barn”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Midsummer Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The rear of Midsummer Barn The lounge, with feature full-height window giving rise to stunning long-distance views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The rear of Midsummer Barn
The lounge, with feature full-height window giving rise to stunning long-distance views
The lounge, with feature staircase
The feature staircase
The kitchen, featuring a large dual-fuel range cooker
The farmhouse kitchen, with large dual-fuel range cooker
The master bedroom
The family bedroom: double bunk on the bottom, single bunk on the top, plus a cot
The twin-bedded room
The bathroom with shower, bath, basin and toilet
The front access to Midsummer Barn
The view from the back windows, over the garden to the fields beyond
Stunning views from Midsummer Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Darwen, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul V
1 review
“Midsummer Barn”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very clean and tidy house in a quiet location. Owner gave very detailed directions to property and on arrival heating was on and fresh eggs and wine on kitchen table. Definitely stay in this house again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. We always try to provide our homemade wine for guests to try - supply of eggs is dependent on our chickens and tends to go down significantly in the winter months!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing View”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Comfortable, well-equipped barn with scenic views. Pet and Child friendly. We used as a base to visit Bolton Octagon theatre and to explore the surrounding area. The Dog Inn in Belthorn village is a wonderful friendly place for the whole family inc. dogs! Food superb. We had an all-round nice time.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay - and also our local, Community-owned Pub - The Dog Inn!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
Thanks for your lovely comments - and we look forward to welcoming you back to Midsummer Barn when you are next in the UK
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bubbles90
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy, with fantastic views!”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely few days at Midsummer Barn. The cottage was comfortable and very well equipped. The owner, Yvonne was on hand next door and ensured that our every need was fulfilled. There are some lovely places to visit around the area and a great way to end the day is to visit the local Community run pub, The Dog Inn. A great selection of local beers and a friendly atmosphere. We are looking forward to returning here again and to try out the restaurant which is currently being refurbished. My only disappointment is that there was no barbeque in the garden which would have been lovely to be able to cook and eat outside taking in the amazing views (weather permitting). Looking forward to returning again in the future, thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and our local Community-owned pub. Getting a barbeque for the back garden is a great idea - so hopefully we will have one for your next visit - although I won't be able to guarantee such fab weather next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thanks for your comments: we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The lane might be a bit steep, but it helps to get the feeling of being "away from it all" when at the cottage. Sorry about the noisy floor upstairs - I will look into that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BeeHappyb...
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideally situated, cosy, comfortable and clean”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My two brothers and I rented the cottage for a family holiday near other family members. Easy access from the motorway an ideal quiet location. Very well equipped with real thought to detail, including a torch for the walk back from The Dog Inn where we found a very warm welcome. Lots of local information is provided which we enjoyed reading. Lovely garden with stunning views as far as Blackpool tower. Good parking. All in all, a great find, we hope to return.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also pleased that enjoyed the Dog Inn - Lancashire's first Community -owned pub - hopefully it will be serving food by the time you visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairdealH...
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, stunning views”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Visited here as party of 4adults/4 children as close to wedding venue Beeston Manor. Comfortable and well equipped, all as stated in advert. Access is down a very steep narrow road/track to the Barn and good parking shared with the farmhouse and another dwelling. The children enjoyed the garden and watching the animals. The owner invited them to see some lambs being bottle fed which we all loved. With clear skies you can see all the way to the coast and Blackpool Tower from the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seeing the children with the animals
Liked least: The open staircase
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that the children enjoyed seeing the animals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing