We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Whitehall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitehall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My new Wife and I got married at the whitehall on 25/07/14 we were planning this wilth Dave at the hotel for Months and the staff couldnt have been more helpful and what you can imagine was an important day for us Both.
The room looked fantastic both for the ceremony and the Wedding Breakfast and then at night where the resident Dj and a Band we have asked to play worked really well together and there was plenty of space.
We will definatly be going back to stay and eat there as the food was fantastic especially considering there were so many of us to cater for.
Our room was so nice and very clean (even though the bridesmaids got ready in there)
lastly the Staff - they were all soo nice and they did everything we asked for and much more, my wife and i diddnt get anything from the buffet but went up to our room after the night was over to find some plated up for us which trust me was needed. couldnt have asked for a better day or Venue.

Room Tip: upstairsa rooms are nice and for couples and Family rooms are downstairs - get 1 with a jacuzzi :-)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall1, General Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Ash B

Thank you for taking time to review The Whitehall.

It was a pleasure to help you arrange the day and host your guests, I am delighted that your guests enjoyed the day.

We hope to see you both again in the future.

Dave Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Whitehall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Beautiful hotel set in a lovely quiet location. Staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. Food at breakfast was excellent. The family room was very spacious and well decorated. I would certainly recommend to anyone who is staying in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall1, General Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Sarah R

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Whitehall Hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our family rooms and hope that you will visit The Whitehall Hotel on your next family catch up.

Regards

David Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night 25/5/14 ,the room could best be described as a shoddy 80's bedsit(see pictures) and nothing like the 'executive room' advertised on the website.We were offered an alternative room which begs the question- if you had a better room available why were we stuck in this room in the first place? (first impressions count). This room was not fit to sell to customers in our opinion.
Additionally,we discovered that the hotel has an 11pm curfew so if you're not back by 11pm you are locked out and have to phone and wait for a manager to let you in - very bizarre...
Upon leaving, we voiced our complaints to the manager who was very supportive and understanding and our bill was reduced which was fair enough. We understand that the hotel is apparently due to be refurbished, however this is not the standard expected from a £90 a night room nor should it be sold as one. Very disappointing...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulTM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall1, General Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear PaulTM66

I am very disappointed that you didnt enjoy your stay at The Whitehall Hotel recently.

I am surprised that you have compared the hotel to a "shoddy 80's bedsit", our executive rooms are currently being decorated to correct any minor blemishes that have to be expected over time, given the frequency in which they are occupied, I also find it very surprising that you refused an option to move rooms or to view an alternative when offered given that you feel the room was unfit for customers.

The hotel does have a security policy in place which includes the front door being locked at 11pm, this however is not a curfew and guests are welcome to come and go as they please.

I am glad that our Assistant Manager Peter dealt with the issues for you with understanding when you checked out the following morning.

Regards

David Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely hotel, all the staff were friendly,very helpful and professional . The hotel is in a lovely location,quiet and calm environment .the food was excellent good for dinner and breakfast. the service also excellent , overall very good value. I stayed as a woman alone on business and felt very welcome and comfortable. I will be re booking and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneliese981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall1, General Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Anneliese981

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us at The Whitehall Hotel.

I am delighted that you found our staff to be friendly, helpful and proffesional - we pride ourselves on a proffesional but unobtusive service to guests.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards

David Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I attended a Ladies Who Lunch charity fundraiser at The Whitehall hotel last Sunday. The staff are wonderful, so kind, helpful and courteous. It is great to see young people function so brilliantly at an event like this. They must be well trained. The room was beautiful and the food amazing especially for so many and there was even seconds of a delicious sticky toffee pudding!! Each table was looked over by a member of staff plus another member of staff who took the drinks orders-it really couldn't have been any better. The whole day was so enjoyable and a fantastic amount of money was raised for Head and neck cancer charity. I would recommend the hotel as a venue for an event like this. Thank you all for a lovely day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanieBlackburnLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall1, General Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Jeanie Blackburn

Thank you for taking to time to review your recent visit to The Whitehall Hotel.

I am very pleased that you had a wonderful time and that a large amount was raised for a very worthy cause. It is always great to hear that our staff looked after you so well, I will pass your comments onto them. I will also inform our Chef that his Sticky Toffee Pudding is getting rave reviews.

We hope to see you again soon at The Whitehall Hotel.

Regards

David Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We've used this hotel several times over the years and most recently were there for a reunion afternoon tea for my mother, who used to live in Darwen. The manager and staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We'll definitely be going back tree again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter_S_Hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall1, General Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Peter S Hunt

Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit to The Whitehall Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and will pass your kind comments onto Leigh who was the manager who looked after you during your stay. It is always pleasing to hear that guests are being well looked after.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards

David Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We chose the Whitehall from the Web as it was close enough for shopping in Blackburn but still rural and away from the main roads.
We were the only guests staying after a busy Easter yet we were made to feel very special and were able to upgrade to a beautiful 4 poster room with a jacuzzi bath suite FOC.
The breakfast was delightful and we were served promptly at our chosen time having had a relaxing lie in!
The staff were all so friendly and we were shown around the hotel and it's conference and wedding rooms which were all elegant yet tastefully decorated. We would definitely stay here again - Thank-you.

Room Tip: Book early to get a lovely choice of rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall1, General Manager at Whitehall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Glenn C

Thank you for taking time to review The Whitehall Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and that the jaacuzzi and four poster where particular highlights for yourself.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future - maybe next time you will have chance to venture up to Darwen Tower (the monument on the hill).

Regards

David Harvey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwen
0.3 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel
4.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehall Hotel

Address: Ross Street | Park Road, Blackburn, BB3, Darwen BB3 2JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Darwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Price Range: £67 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitehall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Darwen, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing